16
Nov
08

#64b – “Filler of DOOM”

 



Doom is an inherently funny word. Ahem.

Yes, filler page. As much as I’d love to have a completely valid and sympathy-inspiring reason for it, let’s be honest: This is about the release of Wrath of the Lich King. The fact that the release also decided to coincide with my finally getting the university-provided laptop we’re to use as dev environments that also totally blows my own stationary PC away has not helped. I’ve spent saturday marvelling at how beautiful World of WarCraft can be at 1920×1200 resolution with full shadows on (and still having a higher framerate than my stationary!)

On a plus note, this particular filler was made on said laptop and proved quite aptly that it makes for a much better rendering platform than my stationary – posing actually wasn’t sluggish in the least, which’s quite grand. So with luck, I might actually spend free time on site at the University (breaks and such) getting things done for a change.

Final up, one of my fellow students was rather distinctly disapproving of the blurring effect I’ve put to use, and since he’s the one studying graphics and I’m not, I decided to try to tone it down in this particular example. Still thinking of how to best make use of it, but I’d imagine it’ll be evolving as we go. Do tell if it’s better or not.

I’ll try to get back to regular schedules on thursday. Want to hit level 75 today – gief Mind Sear! ;)

4 Responses to “#64b – “Filler of DOOM””


  1. 1 Moltrazahn
    November 16, 2008 at 22:47

    Hahaha you know, i fully papprove of the filler of doom, i liked how the two circles matches up with teh centre imagde which fills me with the expectation that the climate of the forest is… nah im kidding, its a filler of doom. I was even supprised that you even posted anything XD so cheers! But im neck high in wrath aswell, so ill gladly say make all the fillers you want thill your ready for the comic again, its been without disapointmed sofar, and you wont hear me complain should i have to wait for you to enjoy wrath aswell as the other 10,999,999 are doing.

    Enjoy Wrath!
    Will look forward to next filler ;P

  2. 2 Kai
    November 17, 2008 at 20:14

    I must say it does look better with out so much blur to it. Though the blur added a soft touch, it was almost to the point that would make you feel if your own eyes were blured or the page. (I catch myself running my eyes a few times) ^^;

  3. 3 Deih
    November 17, 2008 at 20:15

    I love the strap for the sword!
    Fillers can be good ^^

  4. 4 Roberto
    January 7, 2010 at 22:29

    Filler shouldn’t be doom, it should be artistic. This is a chance to show a new terrain, town or very large groups of people in one area. No, it doesn’t HAVE to have text but it should at least present something new. I was hoping to see Ashenvale from a cliff top or some phenomenon like twinling stars. Or maybe an old temple, something panaoramic.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

