14
Dec
08

#71 – “..it pours”

 



Yes, dryads are lacking in quality – their standard textures and models aren’t.. well.. all that, so there’s only so much that can be done with them. Hopefully they’re expressive enough, still. Additionally on the graphic front, you may or may not be able to tell that the ways light and shadows interact is slightly different from before – there is a difference but I think it’s fairly minimal unless you look at two examples of the same render right next to eachother. The difference is that I was adviced to switch renderer from the default ScanLine one to mental ray. I actually don’t know what the particular differences are, nor do I think I’d ever actually make the most of it. For now it seems slightly better (and, actually, faster) so I’ll give it a run and hope it might actually seem to avoid some pet peeves I have otherwise.

As for this particular page, it’s been in the planning for some time. I like moments like this when there’s plenty of space for just character, both in dialogue and in expression. Since I obviously don’t have tone of voice as a tool, it’s pretty much entirely up to facial expressions and body language to bridge that gap. It’s a fun tool to play with.

In closing, I’ve idly noted that with recent upgrades to their system, wordpress.com and w.bloggar – the program I use to post updates – aren’t communicating as well as they used to anymore; specifically, so far it seems only to be the categories that’ve broken, but I’ll try to keep an eye out if more things end up going bogus. I’ll probably try to set categories manually in retrospect, but if I forget to, that’d be the reason why.

12 Responses to “#71 – “..it pours””


  1. 1 idrial
    December 14, 2008 at 19:50

    on you subject of dryads, when you do (if you do that is,) go to northrend, there is a funny looking frost dryads thing i’m sure you could do something with :P

    also, keep up the good work :D

  2. 2 Nhani
    December 14, 2008 at 20:33

    Oh I’m aware of them alright. Haven’t checked, but I don’t think they have any form of regular dryad skin however, and as I recall they look distinct enough that it’d be difficult to pass them off as just regular Dryads.

    I’ve actually been thinking of what manner of things I can sneak away from the new Wrath models, but with the Wrath modelviewer being.. Slightly Imperfect(tm) (or downright broken in places), there’s limits to what can be utilized and not.

  3. 3 agarthefreak
    December 14, 2008 at 22:40

    I Just found this site and its cool …. Yea gota tell me how you did it

    Aggar The Freak

  4. 4 Nhani
    December 14, 2008 at 23:15

    Oh a 3D rendering program, an image editor, Wowmodelviewer’s model export functionality and a whole lot of spare time.

  5. 5 ninta
    December 15, 2008 at 13:30

    dryads. irritating as always :S. nicely handled tho XD

  6. 6 Rain
    December 16, 2008 at 11:43

    Ahhh, away for a while and I have so much glorious pages to catch up on. I can’t help but notice how well you do the dryads, like it comes entirely natural too you.

    *grins and checks for hind legs* I can totally agree with our minute purplehaired friend though. That was goooood. *chuckles* The expression at ‘For lunch’ is just perfect.

  7. 7 Nhani
    December 16, 2008 at 19:29

    I admit it didn’t take much thinking to go from first coming up with the idea of a pair of Dryads rhyming to simply saying “okay.. that’s got to be included there!”, though getting the actual dialogue right can take a whole lot more time than it might seem. The above dialogue was peered at, poked at and tweaked right up until the page itself was done, more or less – right down to me locating my main source of suggestions and advice I have only to go “What rhymes on ‘back’? >.<“.

    Some of the dialoge just comes on its own, but equally much – if not more – is often a very iterative process. If it comes across as natural, then that simply means it’s served its purpose ;)

  8. 8 Starling
    December 17, 2008 at 05:02

    Been reading all your stuff in the right order now and:

    LOVELY! I haven’t been reading your own comments,
    I don’t get how you do this, but wow.
    Both funny, enticing and cool :)

    I’ll keep reading!

  9. 9 Moltrazahn
    December 18, 2008 at 02:14

    <3 epic, simple as that :)

  10. 10 lucidream
    June 2, 2009 at 18:24

    lol i liked this one

  11. 11 Thairalumen
    February 5, 2013 at 21:03

    Oh, well DONE, Tee!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

