19
Nov
09

#157 – “Descent”



I know it skips a bit towards the end – it seemed a whole lot more fluid in my head, which unfortunately doesn’t always mean it works out perfectly. I couldn’t quite put my finger on how to fix it however, so I ran with it – I liked some of the camera angles it offered, still. I’m hoping to rely a little less on filler dialogue and more on filler actions/events as we progress through the mines – there’s a whole lot that has yet to happen, and much of it will simply have to come of its own.

22 Responses to “#157 – “Descent””


  1. 1 Synchronizor
    November 19, 2009 at 21:24

    And more on Night Elf ears! :)

    My Night Elf main perpetually wonders how Humans, Dwarves, and Gnomes can hear anything with those ridiculous little ears, and brings it up occasionally in groups.

  2. 2 Maira
    November 19, 2009 at 22:17

    How are they going to get past all the miners? Will they kill them? Free them? Or will the workers be mysteriously missing? *eyebrow wiggle*

  3. 3 Ragefury
    November 20, 2009 at 13:44

    At first I didn’t know what Hani meant with that odd look a the fourth pane, but then I read Synchronizor’s comment and thought “Ah yes, Night Elves are not more unlike mammals, and they tend to have good hearing” ^^

    I so hope they won’t jump down that shaft, but take the stairway instead. Poor Areen would never make it, unless she finds a rope and wire herself down. ;)

    • 4 Synchronizor
      November 20, 2009 at 14:45

      This image comes to mind…

    • 5 Nhani
      November 20, 2009 at 15:18

      I think it’s more than just hearing per se mind you – more like a combination of a whole lot of impressions.. sounds, glimpses, shadows moving.. spatial awareness.. alone each impression really doesn’t mean that much, but subconsciously assembled it becomes a tangible – if unspecific – feeling that there is something there.

      Her instincts don’t always just cause trouble, in other words ;)

      • 6 Synchronizor
        November 20, 2009 at 18:58

        I figured that Hani’s hearing was indicated as the reason she knew since her ear was prominent in the background of the pane where Tiny asked her “stupid question”.

        Though now that I think about it, Hani’s ear isn’t exactly an uncommon sight in a Tiny-centric pane…

        • 7 Nhani
          November 21, 2009 at 03:45

          I think for Hani, that kind of awareness just comes naturally – she’s got the senses, the instincts and the training for it; I’d say she finds it somewhat strange how the rest of the group aren’t noticing – a bit like hearing a high-pitched noise that’s too high frequency for everyone else around you to hear.

          But then there are her reactions to unfamiliar crowds..

  4. 8 Udûn-Khadgar
    November 20, 2009 at 19:27

    still a great psge, soon they just have to face the Dafias Brotherhood. Poor big ogre and Smite =P. I always loved Smite, killing him while helping a friend, so he died while the first stun was active, or even before… Still, the big beef was more useful when dead.

    Keep it up, I feel something great coming up!

  5. 9 Udûn-Khadgar
    November 20, 2009 at 19:27

    4th word should be ‘page’

    • 10 Synchronizor
      November 20, 2009 at 20:05

      Yeah, an edit feature would be nice.

      I recently switched to the new Google Chrome web browser. One of the things I really like about it is that it has an integrated spell-checker. it evaluates any text you type, and if it doesn’t recognize a word, it’ll give it a red wavy underline, MS Word-style. You can then right-click the word and select the correct spelling, or add it to Chrome’s dictionary. It’s nifty.

      • 11 Nhani
        November 20, 2009 at 20:15

        I can edit comments, of course, but only through the admin interface – it might be a theme issue, but it sooner seems that WordPress simply doesn’t support editing comments from a client perspective, regardless of privileges. Figure that if it supported that, it’d also have a change history for each comment too (which, as far as I know, it doesn’t)

        I stick with Opera myself – it added spell-checking in version 10, and well.. I tried Chrome, but the whole argument for why it was invented and why it’s supposed to be better.. isn’t really there – at least not yet: It isn’t faster, and didn’t even strike me as being more stable. I might change my mind eventually, but neither Firefox nor Chrome has really managed to upstage Opera for me.

        • 12 Synchronizor
          November 20, 2009 at 22:28

          I’ve only ever used IE, so I don’t have much to compare it to, but I’m pretty happy with Chrome. It’s pretty lean, which I like (as does my memory-starved laptop) and I expect more features (hopefully non-fattening ones) to become available for it in the near future.

          • 13 Nhani
            November 21, 2009 at 00:58

            I never ever really used IE much – I started off with Netscape 4 actually, and Internet Explorer really wasn’t all that back in those days; my opinion of it hasn’t been helped by the many major security vulnerabilities the browser has had over the years, or how ActiveX controls (something only IE has) has on several occasions basically been like one gigantic security hole straight into your PC.

            Microsoft has cleaned it up a great deal over the last few years, mind you, but I still only ever use IE when I absolutely have to – as far as I’m concerned, it’s simply not worth the risk with casual browsing.

            • 14 Gordrake Thunderhoof
              November 21, 2009 at 03:04

              Firefox here, and have been for several years. IE just sucks when it comes to PNG images – which I’m surprised at because every other browser seems to get on with them while IE doesn’t even display them.

              I used to be on DeviantArt. Go figure. Think I still am, just got no clue what my name is there anymore. xD Kinda abandoned it a while ago.

            • 15 Nhani
              November 21, 2009 at 03:20

              It does nowadays – can’t recall when they introduced it but I think it was in the last major overhaul they did – IE hang stagnant around version 5 or 6 or so for years until they got around starting to update it for more current times (adding tabbed browsing and the like which’d ended up standard pretty much everywhere else).

              The current IE 8 isn’t actually all that bad; it’s scarcely perfect, and I still wouldn’t use it for anywhere I deem remotely unsafe due to it being.. well.. IE, but it actually work, has tabs and everything, so it isn’t terrible or fundamentally broken by any stretch.

              It’s actually kind of hilarious how I mainly use IE as a “compatibility” thing for some pages where Opera is too nonstandard by not having quite the same user base, considering how Opera generally passes the Acid3 test and IE.. does not.. <.<

  6. 16 Beardruid
    November 20, 2009 at 22:44

    A classic moment that would lead to “BEAR FROM ABOVE!” if I was there.

    Which is something I’ve done numerous times in the past.

    I need to run another druid.

  7. 17 saila aka wester
    November 21, 2009 at 00:01

    you know there is this senne some have and that is the snake sense the one whit feeling the vibration on the ground but i dont think Hani got that and BTW Firefox and one plug in and i got as many dictionary as i want and an word translator in my tool bar and in this comment box.
    really i tried Crome earlier today and in my opinion it wasn’t better then Firefox okey i got some Plug in but there was really nothing special about it except looking more vista and the look and how it worked wasn’t that mush to my taste. and i dont think Crome will have Flash game support for an good *** time. yes it got Flash support but it simple dont support Flash game that mush.

    • 18 Nhani
      November 21, 2009 at 00:35

      The thing about flash is that it’s not inherently executed by any browser but rather is done via plugins, formerly of Macromedia, now of Adobe – this is true no matter which browser you use. Now part of what’s supposed to make Chrome special is that it’s multi-threaded – each tab gets its own thread which technically makes it much more optimal for multi-tabbed browsing, especially when elements such as Javascript and Flash are involved since they run within the thread of that tab, rather than within the thread of the browser.

      So theoretically, Chrome is vastly superior to any other web browser out there when it comes to webpages using Flash or Javascript extensively, in the least when it comes to performance usage and stability. In practice.. I haven’t really noticed any difference to speak of.

      I love the idea behind it – making a web browser that’s really adapted to the multi-core/processor environment of computers today and utilizing that for both performance and security, and I do like they’re really trying to avoid bloat (unlike, say, Mozilla..) but.. it simply doesn’t do it for me. I’m too comfortable in Operas feature set at this point.

      • 19 Synchronizor
        November 21, 2009 at 03:11

        Having only used IE before, I really like the tabs in Chrome. The drag and drop method to combine or pull apart windows and tabs had me using them almost immediately, while I had them disabled in IE.

        I know a lot of people who use Firefox and love it. I’ve had almost no experience with it, but the very few times I did use it, it felt “heavy” in a way.

        • 20 Nhani
          November 21, 2009 at 03:31

          Tabs was the thing that drew me to Opera in the first place, since I tend to have a lot of browser windows open continuously, and hated how both IE and Netscape 4 (and Netscape 5/Mozilla) would forget all the windows it had open upon crashing, which was common. Opera, not only being among the first browsers to have tabs but also auto-saving which tabs you had open so you could resume immediately between sessions – even if the browser crashed – fit me perfectly, and I’ve strayed very little since. Ironically, another feature that helped draw me to Opera early on – mouse gestures – is one I barely ever use nowadays.

          I’ve tried both Chrome and Firefox, and I like some of the ideas they have – Chrome for its ideas of using threads and optimization, Firefox having a very extensive plugin system.. but I’ve never stuck with either. The former feeling either a little too minimalistic or too incomplete, and the latter feeling very bloated.

          Which browser one prefers is a very personal thing of course, and has to do with a whole lot more than sheer performance or compatibility. Mind you, if you’re just getting started with Chrome, there’s supposedly some alternate implementations you might find interesting that supposedly adds a few features Google hasn’t yet.

          • 21 Synchronizor
            November 21, 2009 at 04:07

            I’ve talked with some people who know a lot more than I do about browsers, and I figured that if I did go with Firefox, I’d probably just end up shaving it down to the bones anyway. So I like the out-of-the-box minimalism of Chrome.

            Like you said though, it really comes down to personal preference. Everyone should use what they enjoy, whatever the theoretical advantages.

            Same thing I tell people deciding what class to play in WoW…

  8. 22 Shadda
    November 22, 2009 at 09:42

    With Chrome, your address bar is your search bar, and your default search engine is always Google – two big advantages right there, as far as I’m concerned. It does seem to have some issues with PDFs though.
    Awesome page, as usual.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

