02
May
10

#193 – “Broken Toy”



I think they broke it.

34 Responses to “#193 – “Broken Toy””


  1. 1 Udûn-Khadgar
    May 2, 2010 at 18:25

    That’s a twist I never expected… grateful goblins? Or are they just trying to get a moment to flee… I’m confused… Ah well, we’ll find out soon enough.

    Keep it up!

  2. 2 Ilyara
    May 2, 2010 at 18:38

    xDDDD @ the goblins. Love it so much :’)

    I think you need to pay strong attention to the emphasis and hesitation in their…ah…*sincere gratitude*

    ^_^

  3. 3 Hauptmann
    May 2, 2010 at 19:51

    Lol, makes sense really, when small, build something to make you big. Also what else are the goblins meant to do? the others got killed and their big machine is totalled, so, its either surrender or escape. And who seriously needs goblins alive?

  4. 4 Telaani
    May 2, 2010 at 21:11

    Typical goblins. How can you NOT love them? :3

  5. 5 TheNic
    May 2, 2010 at 21:45

    if I were Hani, I would kill the goblins…because I can and it is fun to kill the bastards.

    An army to charge at Van Cleef maybe? Although…never trust a goblin :P

  6. 6 Wahloh
    May 3, 2010 at 00:53

    Oh my god… Goblins are trollin!

  7. 7 LolDrood
    May 3, 2010 at 05:04

    Kinda remind me of the elves from Futurama.

    Yeah, oh course Tiny wants the shredder. That’s she needs to complete her lifelong dream of being a Bond villain. XD

  8. 8 Frostsaben
    May 3, 2010 at 05:26

    My precious shredder… yes… all mine… we won’t let them take you my precious, we know they all want our precious!

  9. 9 Yerdiss
    May 3, 2010 at 09:34

    Haha, such smart goblins! Even if the ‘intruders’ do not trust them, slaying them now would be outright murder.

  10. 10 Timber Wolf
    May 3, 2010 at 10:19

    “I think they broke it.”

    I have two smartass answers to that.

    1. Kinda sorta a little maybe…
    2. Nah it’s not broke. Just sleaping… or dead.

  11. 11 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    May 3, 2010 at 12:09

    Goblin mindset:
    “Oh sh–! Boss is dead! Machine got totalled by those people! They killed some of ours at the gate! We’re next if we try to get ‘em! Okay…erm…now what gives us the better chance of survivability and money? Hmm…killing them would get us money but likely end up in us dead, since they took out our boss…we can ransack the remains when they leave if we can get them to keep us alive…yeah…that’s what we’ll do, we’ll have them keep us alive, let us be free! We were prisoners! Thank you! Er…better speak up now…”

    As for the comment of “I think they broke it.” I have a gut feeling this is taken from one of those pets or something that you can make that destroys other toys or something like that. Always hear it going off whenever this one guy goes mad on whiskey and comes to the CC…it’s a pain in the ass when I’m trying to RP, at hell-knows hours of the morning, with that thing bouncing off my speakers. But meh…he’s not entirely lore-legal anyway, so hell with him.

    …and Tiny reminds me of the humanised Night Elves, though perhaps she’s adopted the Gnomish personality of loving mechanical jargon? I’m guessing this is all placed in as part of her own history?

    …yeah, I’ll shut up now.

    • 12 Thalis
      May 3, 2010 at 14:27

      It’s a reference to XT-002 Deconstructor in Ulduar and his “I…I think I broke it” childish yell when he kills a player.

      • 13 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        May 4, 2010 at 12:47

        Yeah…those bloody things can be gained as pets, I think…that’s why I keep flaming hearing it in the Command Center every cursed month.

        • 14 Germ
          May 4, 2010 at 19:01

          How can you hate lil’ XT? I wish I hadn’t destroyed my credit so I could get one.

          • 15 Nhani
            May 4, 2010 at 21:15

            He does break the train sets, which scores him points in my book. He is loud, though.

          • 16 Gordrake Thunderhoof
            May 5, 2010 at 10:30

            How can you not? It’s 2am and then that thing goes off: “I THINK I BROKE IIIIIIIIIT!!”

            I start praying to the gods that my mother didn’t hear that otherwise she’d kill me for waking her ass up.

  12. May 3, 2010 at 15:19

    Personally I think Tiny just wants to get in there, help the party in a real fight then being the lock picker or the sapper who blows stuff up when the rest are distracting the enemies.
    However I might be wrong and Tiny just wants to feel big heh.

    Oh yes, Goblins…..i think they’re the funnest guys to write, after all they’re like the Ferengi of Azeroth. Willing to stab their best friend for a gold piece but they do it so jovally.

    • 18 Nhani
      May 4, 2010 at 21:24

      I had a whole lot of fun with these; especially since they’re unexpected – you don’t see that in the instance runs. It’s fun to play with expectations sometimes, that way – pull something that no one expected because that’s not how they normally are, yet still makes perfect sense to have there.

  13. 19 Nirene Feathersong
    May 3, 2010 at 16:21

    They brokes-ded it!

    I really can’t get enough of the Festergut/Rotface quotes. They’re even better than the XT ones.

    Oh, 10/12 in ICC10, Sindragosa and Lich King left *flex* ;P

    Where were we? Oh yes, Tiny should really have been driving that shredder!

  14. 20 Ninerva
    May 3, 2010 at 17:15

    Why didn’t it occur to anyone that Areen could have used the shredder?

  15. 21 wowplayer
    May 3, 2010 at 21:20

    because gnomes hate goblins and vice versa

  16. 23 Germ
    May 4, 2010 at 19:02

    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!!

  17. 26 Frostsaben
    May 4, 2010 at 20:26

    Goblins are goblins, but I shall not comment any longer about them for I risk devolving into killing tehniques for them. Anyway, the comic is great as usual, I even saw some goblins die die, how awesome is that? extremly awesome!
    The one thing I’ll be glad about when Cataclysm comes is that I have 3 night elves to kill goblins with including… Vu’nure Snowleaf.

    Must say I didn’t expect meeting the great Priestess Nhani Moonfall in a Arathi Basin but I did, now what were the chances of that? And you had the same nightsaber I did hehe.

    Anyway, if you have some time, can you explain me why is it better to use a slow weapon when prot-PvP-ing? There was not time in the 2 min at the end and I had to leave the bg so didn’t have time to ask.
    Must say I mostly use my warrior as an interrupter, I interrupt everyone I can then let others finish them while I lock onto my next target. Can’t say it works that well sometimes *cough*

    • 27 Nhani
      May 4, 2010 at 21:08

      I was wondering if it was one of the regulars or not, hah! I do indulge sometimes, when I’m not making noises to express my frustration – prot warrior pvp can actually be quite fun, and hits harder than I think some people expect. (though some classes/specs are just.. ow. But that’s life!)

      Anyhow, the deal with slow weapons is really due to prot mechanics and instant strike mechanics; between Devastate, Deep Wounds (if you have it) and so forth, you actually do a whole lot more damage with a slow weapon. The only reason you’d ever really want to use a fast weapon as a prot warrior (aside from Blizzard only itemizing fast tank weapons) is to bleed rage faster using HS and Cleave, and in my personal experience I do far more threat and damage both with a slow weapon anyhow. Even in situations where you basically have infinite rage.

      Don’t underestimate what prot warriors can do in Pvp, I’d say. Always having a shield means you can always shield block and spell reflect, you’re pretty much always bunkered down in def stance, you have Charge, Intercept and (the snare-removing!) Intervene all available at any situation, you don’t have to stance swap for disarm, and Shield Slam doesn’t only do significant damage but also works as an offensive dispel; not to mention how awesome Shockwave is.

      That’s the gist of it, anyhow; I know we’re digressing quite a bit from the topic at hand so I’ll pause here. Just for fun, though, you might want to try picking up the highest per-strike damage onehander you can get your hands on and see what it does for your overall damage/threat output. If you can spare the def/avoidance, I think you might be pleasantly surprised of the results ;)

      • 28 Frostsaben
        May 4, 2010 at 21:25

        thank you for the info. Thinking about it what you said makes perfect sense, I just never thought of it.
        Using a slow weapon really would give more damage and threat, that could also explain why since when I got Rimefang’s weapon I felt I was loosing aggro faster. Thank you for the advice, I’ll see what weapon I can get instead when I have more time.
        Defense is not a problem for me anyway, have gotten enough over the limit to be spared of missing that was on that sword.
        “HS and Cleave” -> you’re right, I don’t use those that much as to consider a fast weapon so important. I do use them too, but not as much as some of my other skills.

        Also you’re right about underestimating, I do that sometimes when swiching from a class to another. Considering I usually go PvP with my rogue it’s sometimes hard to adapt to the changes. What can I say? I like having alts!

        thank you for the advice again and hope we manage to actually win more battlegrounds… one day.

        • 29 Nhani
          May 4, 2010 at 21:42

          I actually won two not long after so, heh.

          I actually spam the living crap out of Cleave when tanking groups; between the Glyph (+1 target!) and Incite + Deep Wounds, it’s really great to use provided the rage is there. With a slow weapon you don’t burn it as fast either.

          I’ve been using the one-handed Quel’delar (Cunning of the Shadows!) since I got it; some people think I’m crazy for it, but I basically went from low-threat off-tank to crazy threat burst main tank in a single item swap with it.

          • 30 Luklan
            May 6, 2010 at 04:21

            Funny, I actually stumbled upon how fun Prot-spec was in PvP by accident on my warrior. Forgot to switch specs, and then suddenly… I was stun-locking a Rogue!

            And I laughed maniacally.

            I mean, okay, I’m not putting out a lot of damage in my PvE gear (Or taking a lot >.<), but when you can hold down a Rogue for just long enough that teammates arrive and help you slaughter him, it's not too bad.

            And when you can hold off five Hordies at the Stables in the Basin for a good 30 seconds… You gotta admit, things aren't going too badly :D Granted, we lost that Basin round, but I broke 200k damage. In Tank gear. Sub-par, definitely-not-fit-for-raiding Tank Gear.

            I find Rage to be a precious commodity in PvP though, so I'm probably gonna end up wielding a slower weapon just to increase the damage of my instants as well now, because it's often just a waste of rage to throw down cleaves and heroic strikes in PvP.

  18. 31 Moltrazahn
    May 5, 2010 at 07:27

    te’len in a shredder? … lawl :P

    Rei gets a win
    Goblins get a win

    This page has win *nodnod*

  19. 32 Luklan
    May 6, 2010 at 04:14

    See, I wish I, or one of my various characters, had been with the group at that time.

    Areen: “Such a device should not be in the hands of evil”
    Tiny: “I’m not talking about their hands! I’m talking about ours! MINE!”
    Me: “…That’s exactly what Areen means”

    Heh heh.

    Now, someone punt those goblins! To make up for all the time Horde have punted our Gnomish brothers and sisters! :p

  20. April 15, 2014 at 17:28

    Dexterity, spatial thinking and creativity of the child
    are all enhanced. An individual must make sure that the real gadget isn’t really tinted in addition to just about any toxic substance, since this is harmful to a child.

    One of the popular kind of stuffed toy is the teddy
    bear.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

