08
Jul
10

#206 – “Window of Opportunity”



33 Responses to “#206 – “Window of Opportunity””


  1. 1 Skyll K. Chagorantis
    July 8, 2010 at 20:25

    Exquisite

  2. 2 Fyrina
    July 8, 2010 at 20:57

    Aahh, here we go, Van Cleef.

    On another note, what happened to commentaries under pages lately? I liked reading them, it made the comic feel like it had an identity, the pages we read and love each week brought thoughts with them from the author. I do hope it’s just because there’s not too much dialogue on the latest bunch of pages, I dearly hope for the return of commentaries really soon! :P

    • 3 Nhani
      July 8, 2010 at 21:29

      It has much to do with two things, really; first and foremost, some days (like today) I’ll get home and feel I could just collapse and sleep for a week, and the prospect of staring tiredly at the screen for some half hour trying to force out something vaguely interesting doesn’t really sound all that appealing.

      The second and more important thing is that from the get go, I pretty much approached the commentaries much like you might do that of the commentary track of a movie. The problem with that approach is that you should generally see the story without commentaries first, and sometimes – like now – we’re smack middle of a longer chain of events. It gets difficult when over half the things you can come up with saying basically ends up being either potential spoiler or just a plain “ps. This thing there is important, hint hint, nudge nudge, wink PUSH SHOVE.

      There’s actually a fair few things I could probably natter on length about, but several of them feel like potential spoilers, or at least things I’d prefer people get a chance to see before I tell them about them.

  3. 4 Timber Wolf
    July 8, 2010 at 21:19

    epic greenskin pwnage nhani. i applaud your style.

  4. July 8, 2010 at 21:48

    looks like Hani is about to have a fight on her hands.

  5. 6 Ripwarrior
    July 8, 2010 at 21:53

    Van Cleef, you sneaky old bastard…well maybe not old but a bastard anyhow ^^

    I love how he just stands there in his ninja outfit, just pretending to not notice her…at least that how I see it, can’t wait for what will happen, guess something like: SURPRISE, LOL! :D

    Also, good work with the lighting and stuff, really gives a good athmosphere to the whole :)

    • 7 Nhani
      July 9, 2010 at 06:08

      I always was of the impression that he was somewhere in his early to mid fifties.

      Ironically, while that’d make him older than the main cast when relative to maturity, I think for actual years they’re all older than him, Areen being the closest to him with what I’d assume around 60 or so years (seeing how I tend to consider her being in the gnomish equivalent of her early to mid thirties). Hani, being the eldest in pure years of the group, has likely lived some three times as long as he has.

      And yes, I digress.

  6. July 8, 2010 at 23:08

    I think Hani dual skilled as a Rogue.

  7. 10 Eduvudd
    July 9, 2010 at 05:59

    VanCleef looks pretty awesome in that cloak he has too. Took me a sec to actually notice it from all the other darkness :P

  8. 11 Coragon
    July 9, 2010 at 11:40

    It didnt seem like he actually saw her, but he’s probably aware that someone or something is stirring around in the shades. He’s a clever and sinister fellow, so my money’s on that it wont be a simple sneak-and-backstab kill like with the goblin captain.

    And maybe we’ll hear some of his famous warcries.

  9. 12 Germ
    July 9, 2010 at 13:54

    That cloak makes him look very Shredder.

  10. 13 Fenrisu
    July 10, 2010 at 09:00

    I like the cape, actually makes him look more superior, then in the game.
    I hope this turn out to an epic battle, cause we still need to see one that “gets really angry”. :)

  11. 14 Eillas
    July 10, 2010 at 16:27

    Hello first time poster here i love your comic i always check in eachweek on updates as i find its wonderful. WARNING: Cataclysm spoilers

    i just find it such a shame what becomes of one of your charachers next expansion

    • 15 Nhani
      July 10, 2010 at 16:42

      what! :O!

      What secrets doth you speak of!

      • 16 Fokker
        July 10, 2010 at 19:21

        Guess he might be talking about Raene.

      • 17 Thalis
        July 10, 2010 at 20:11

        If i remember correctly, Raene will be fine. Other two characters mentioned in your comic will be not so fortunate (avoiding spoilers for now).

      • 18 Eillas
        July 10, 2010 at 23:23

        Degrenn aand his friend was slain when MEastra post was overrun http://cata.wowhead.com/quest=13626e also Nhani i know about what has been going on with the night elves in beta and i am not in it but i have alot information including one abotu edwin vancleef and i have confirmed that raene is alive the expansion

        • 19 Nhani
          July 11, 2010 at 07:36

          I actually had a friend of mine stalk up all this not long after your first post, to settle what exactly I should be fussing over. While it’s good to know Raene’s safe for now (Hani Foonmall tends to be somewhat more dangerous to upset than Te’len Nila..), I do find it interesting that we’re specifically told Delgren and Feero are both from the Argent Dawn rather than from Stormwind.

      • 20 Eillas
        July 10, 2010 at 23:26

        Spoiler alert

        also a heads up if your gonna do that highborne warlock quest chain ending for a page for this comic i might wanna suggest u do it it now for later as not much is left of him or his towser come cataclysm

        • 21 Nhani
          July 11, 2010 at 07:39

          One of the advantages of Beyond the Tree is that it operates on its own time, rather than directly in the game, and is actually set a few years before Burning Crusade even. So long I preemptively collect all the various screenshots I might need for backdrops, the coming and going of Cataclysm shouldn’t directly affect the story I’m presently telling.

      • 22 Eillas
        July 11, 2010 at 00:03

        Oh yeah i hate to also say this but when you kill and behead Edwin Someone was watching from within the cabin and you learn of this from a cataclysm quest chain

        • 23 Eillas
          July 11, 2010 at 02:14

          im just gonna say this because you might find this interesting The one hiding in the cabin is Edwins Vancleef’s Daughter named Vanessa Vancleef who sees her father getting killed and beheaded

          • 24 Nhani
            July 11, 2010 at 07:45

            Still deciding on what to do with that, whether to drop a hint toward it or not. It’d be interesting to have a nod to it, I suppose, but it’s not something I’ve planned for so I’m not entirely sure where or how exactly I’d put it in.

            • 25 Eillas
              July 11, 2010 at 11:09

              would you like a link to the picture showing how they do it in the game quest?

            • 26 Nhani
              July 11, 2010 at 11:14

              I saw a few pictures of that already, actually, which is what prompts the matter that I can’t solve it the way Blizzard does – events are going to happen somewhat differently on my end. There’s a fair few details to juggle, so we’ll see.

            • 27 Eillas
              July 11, 2010 at 11:20

              I would like to guess your a big night elf lore fan

            • 28 Nhani
              July 11, 2010 at 11:31

              It’s part out of necessity – my main character, situated on a roleplaying server, is an over ten thousand years old Night elven former Sentinel and now Priestess of the Moon; I decided before World of Warcraft even hit retail that there was no way I could even pretend to characterize that without doing my homework, so I poured over novels and sourcebooks alike to make sure I had a solid ground to build her on.

              Over time she’s grown in prominence, so I can’t exactly get away with not knowing current events either – I even forced myself through the Stormrage novel simply so I’d know of those events just in case.

              Of course, I hadn’t played one to begin with if they hadn’t caught my interest in Warcraft 3.

            • 29 Eillas
              July 11, 2010 at 11:35

              ah nice i have a Night elf priest my self normal realm though but would you mind if i say what i found in cataclysm that is from previous lore and what is happening that will make you bit mad at the orcs

            • 30 Nhani
              July 11, 2010 at 11:53

              I do try to keep up to date myself as far as seems prudent, without having everything given away; to be honest, my main concerns for Cataclysm regarding the Night elves isn’t actually the Horde – I know Garrosh is going to be up to a whole lot, and on that end I can’t really do much beyond hope that Blizzard will work up the stones to actually give him his for it; it’d be a great opportunity to shift the balance around on who instigates the world PvP, but it’s too early to say whether Blizzard’ll actually take it, or even consider it an interesting path to take.

              I’m actually more concerned regarding what’ll happen with Tyrande – there’s plenty of circumstance suggesting Blizzard might have her declawed in favor of Malfurion and other elements, and I’m none too pleased with that possibility.

            • 31 Eillas
              July 11, 2010 at 12:02

              i haven’t seen much involvement with her in the expansion only one of her main enemies has shown up but somehow blizzard had missed the mark and made one of her biggest enemy apperance show up to the horde

            • 32 Eillas
              July 11, 2010 at 12:16

              yeah when i heard knaak was making her soft in stormrage i couldnt even read it as i want to remember tyrande from when she kicked ass in warcraft 3

  12. 33 Amoranta
    August 2, 2011 at 10:43

    I love this perspective. Both of them are sneaky rogues with high perception. The way you portrayed that similarity is just awesome. xD;


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

