22
Jul
10

#210 – “..Twice Awry”



This is one of those pages where dialogue becomes a real bother to try to engineer properly; it doesn’t matter whether Tiny thinks they should stay or not – since she’s always carried around by the rest, they can just start running and ignore her complaints. So instead, it essentially had to turn into some kind of tug-o-war over who gets to tell Hani what to do, leaving a dialogue where both sides need to be both arguing and speaking to Hani at the same time. It’s not ideal – if Beyond the Tree was released multiple pages at once that ran continously, I’d probably do this particular dialogue over two pages to better afford the looks back and forth. As it is.. cutting it halfway felt like it’d completely break the pacing.

30 Responses to “#210 – “..Twice Awry””


  1. 1 Bancduese
    July 22, 2010 at 19:56

    Well, that is one way to get some attention paid…i am guessing the next step after grabbing the torch is to check to see if the cannon is actually loaded?

  2. 2 Eduvudd
    July 22, 2010 at 19:57

    Haha, Woo! Shes gonna use da cannon! ^_^

  3. 4 Noriam
    July 22, 2010 at 20:05

    “Brash, loud and vocal, Rei “Tiny” makes a great deal of noise for one so small.”

    That’d be your own cast page, and I think this particular instalment demonstrates it perfectly.

  4. 5 Nirene Feathersong
    July 22, 2010 at 20:51

    Yeah, you tell’em Rei!

  5. 6 Fokker
    July 22, 2010 at 22:47

    Stuff’s gonna get blown yo.

  6. 7 tgrhwke
    July 22, 2010 at 23:09

    Noticed something I hadn’t really payed attention to until now. Areen always addresses Hani and Te’len by their last names but she addresses Rei by her first name.

    • July 22, 2010 at 23:34

      The reason of this might be because Rei has never revealed her surname to Lightspark. Thus, she will be using the one name she does know. “Rei”.

      • 9 Nhani
        July 23, 2010 at 06:42

        Pretty much; Tiny tends not to introduce herself (I don’t think we’ve ever seen her do so, in fact) which means Te’len will usually do it for her, with the result that it ends up being just “Rei”. (though it’s idly amusing to imagine Areen calling her “Miss Tee”, heh)

  7. July 22, 2010 at 23:33

    I’ve a feeling the cannon might not actually be used. But rather that Rei has a rather firey plan. A sort of an ambush. >_>; And then Nila will use some of her druidic powers. And Lightspark will probably be used as a projectile again. In some sort of freaky way.

  8. 11 Yerdiss
    July 23, 2010 at 00:14

    Of course, Nhani, there’s always the option to post multiple pages at once when you feel you need more space for a scene. Not sure how you would make it ‘extra obvious’ to those checking the pages that they need to use the “Back” button to get to the first page of the multiple installment, but still, it’s a possibilty :P

    • 12 Nhani
      July 23, 2010 at 06:46

      I don’t think posting two pages at once on end would be a good idea since people would need to browse back or miss it, and I’m wary of making a habit out of going beyond my currently established canvas. In hindsight there’s a few things I probably could’ve changed to make it work better and more come across what I wanted, but I didn’t have neither the time nor the energy to do some extensive experimentation beyond the rough idea I had.

  9. 13 Timber Wolf
    July 23, 2010 at 02:55

    Way to assert yourself Tiny!

  10. July 23, 2010 at 05:03

    “Once Smitten…”
    “Twice Awry…”

    On the 11th, I did “Once Smitten, Twice Wry”…

    I wonder if anyone else latched onto yet another variation of this title for a webcomic?

    I love weird coincidences like that – it just seems to make the world all mysterious again :-)

    Loving this progression, Nhani! And she still has Nintendobot’s controller in her lap…hmm…this could prove to be…messy. Hee hee…

    • 15 Nhani
      July 23, 2010 at 05:35

      it was actually really odd – I’ve been picking titles in advance lately, and barely a few days after I decided on this pair, I find out you’ve effectively fielded an identical one! I don’t know how far in advance you plan yours out, but if it was a resonably late spur of the moment thing.. I think we were both tapping the same idea pool somewhere..

      Does this qualify me for holding my head and shouting “Get out of my head, Tokkar!”? ;)

      I considered making a comment about it, or possibly try to figure something else out, but I couldn’t figure out anything good enough in either case so I just ran with it.

      • July 24, 2010 at 02:03

        I normally pick mine as soon as the comic is done and it’s being uploaded, so yeah – this is a “Get out of my head, Tokkar!” moment :-)

        • 17 Nhani
          July 24, 2010 at 07:31

          Hah, well then atleast I won’t have to worry about having accidentally tripped things over inside your skull, eh? xD

          I have a bad tendency of being last minute myself, too; been several cases where I’ve had a finished page and just sat staring at it for a good half hour just trying to think of something suitable or clever enough to title it. Having time to plan out details in advance is nice, but I rarely take that time.

          Still, fun coincidences are fun. I’ll have to remember to reference an Orc afraid of spiders in Arc Two when the group get to the Barrens .. .. which at the current rate could easily be another year. Gah!

  11. July 23, 2010 at 10:42

    Things go boom soon?

  12. 19 J’roin Moongazer
    July 23, 2010 at 20:53

    Hey Hani,

    During previouse posts i noticed you know a lot about the Lore of Warcraft.

    Could you tell me if there was a Night-elf city/fortress (if possible near Feralas) that didn`t fall during the invasion of the burning legion.

    If not, Do you have any idea where i could find this information.

    Greetings,
    J’roin Moongazer

    • 20 LolDrood
      July 24, 2010 at 05:05

      Good question. I assume you mean Olde Tymes invasion, not Third War. I would think Nighthaven was around then, in the Moonglade. Astranaar might have been from back then. Whatever Dire Maul was called back before it was Dire Maul, I believe that fell after the Legion’s invasion.

      It’s weird, Night Elves really haven’t been much defined from a central place as the other races, except maybe the Tauren. I think for the most part, they really kept to small villages spread out over the lands, instead of major city-states. The bulk of the elven ruins in Kalimdore are from ye olde Azshara days.

      I’d start at wowwiki.com meself.

      • 21 Nhani
        July 24, 2010 at 07:15

        Dire Maul was Eldre’thalas back in the olden days, and – supposedly – was largely a city of research, populated mainly by highborne. One notable citizen was one Millicent Serene (Rabine Saturna mentions her) who was a “naturalist” – whether this means she was a mage who influenced nature or that she was a druid before there were druids goes unclarified.

        It was still standing after the Sundering (though it’s been described as being “ravaged” by it), and isolated from the rest of the Night elves, its leader – Prince Tortheldrin – had his followers imprison a demon and drain it for power to maintain both their lives and their hunger for magic. Over time, the power would wane, and one by one the inhabitants would be severed from the connection to preserve energy for the Prince and his closest followers. With the Shen’dralar retreating further and further towards the library, other creatures such as Satyr (and later, Ogres) took over the areas they left behind.

        Otherwise, there aren’t really any cities around that have been noted as existing both pre- and post sundering; no current dwelling shows obvious signs of being of a prior era, regardless of whether some cities should logically have survived the fall. The ruins of Ameth’aran and Bashal’aran are even on the completely opposite side of where the Well of Eternity was and were still noted to have been annihilated with its loss. Ironically, the only Night elven city that looks – both stylistically and by visual signs of age – like it’s been around since pre-sundering is Darnassus, and we all know it can’t be more than a few years old.

        I can’t recall a single record of any kind of town or city referred to both before and after the Sundering, so it seems a resonably safe bet that post sundering, the Night elves simply retreated into the forests around Mount Hyjal and rebuilt there during the Long Vigil.

        While Astranaar could possibly have been a small post (it’s not mentioned) pre-Sundering, Nighthaven would likely have been made post-sundering, seeing its location within a region traditionally associated with Cenarius. In the end, I think whatever the Legion didn’t take was probably pretty badly damaged by the Sundering itself. We are talking an event that effectively split the continents in half (or more, if you consider Northrend and the small islands in the Great Sea) – I think it’s likely to say that few static structures really survived it. Beyond that, I think most Night elves were quite keen to leave any sign of their previous magic-shaped lives behind, seeing what the arcane had ended up causing.

    • 22 Nhani
      July 24, 2010 at 07:21

      Some days, I do note in hindsight that I should probably have given young Foonmall a name more distant from her namesake. Gorvar (and a few others) have a bad tendency of occasionally calling her by Nhani, and now I get refered to as her!

      At times, I guess it ends up seeming fairly obvious why some people mistake her for an author insert rather than a character with her own faults and delusions. Alas, too late to change it now. With the benefit of hindsight, I probably would’ve called her something else, but too late for that now.

      • July 24, 2010 at 10:44

        I feel special now, thank you :D

        Thing is though I know Nhani is your Priestess and Hani is this funky night elf warrior here. My bad if I dropped the ball there, sorry.

        • 24 Nhani
          July 24, 2010 at 14:11

          Yours is an interesting case since I know for a fact that you’re aware Hani Foonmall, Nhani Moonfall and myself are all three separate, and yet on the other hand.. I don’t think I can recall anyone who accidentally ends up refering to Hani as Nhani more often.

          I’m actually not entirely sure what causes it, whether it’s picturing them sounding very similar or what. (Considering I personally tend to think Nhani is one syllable longer to say than Hani)

          At any rate, it’s not so much a problem as something I’m wary over, seeing how there’s been a few people who seem somehow convinced that I always agree with Hani or use her to vent my own personal convictions, which isn’t exactly true. (to be honest, I think I’d actually be more likely to agree with Areen or Te’len than the duo, for one)

          • July 25, 2010 at 23:36

            That’s the thing though if you create a character, at least a main character, try to keep your distance, dont give him/her your own character traits, or at least not to many.
            If you end up making it ‘you’ in that setting, the barriers between rl and fantasy quickly crumble.

            ….

            Yes i have seen Inception.
            Use a totem!

  13. July 23, 2010 at 20:55

    Use your own Email you bloody NElf

  14. 29 jmoongazer
    July 23, 2010 at 21:55

    Sorry Angus,

    I used the general e-mail from our guild-website
    Won`t Happen again.

    Greetings,
    J`roin

  15. September 26, 2011 at 00:54

    So does she have that remote strapped to her? Not holding it in panel 5 and 7.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

