01
Aug
10

#213 – “Preposterous Propositions”



I spent a whole lot of time thinking through how I wanted to characterize Edwin VanCleef, how to portray him, who he should be, what drives him and how. I didn’t want him to just drop his in-game lines and that would be that, with such a long journey, he needed to be more than a few empty lines. The battle didn’t concern me at first – character came first. It was only after I had a character that I could start outlining what the reasoning might be behind any potential battle that might happen.

21 Responses to “#213 – “Preposterous Propositions””


  1. 1 Fokker
    August 1, 2010 at 19:59

    Well, he surely has got some nice wit.
    Awesome, as always.

  2. 2 Dékaie
    August 1, 2010 at 21:23

    hmm.. he seems like quiet the nice guy, that VanCleef.

    ofcourse, after slaughtering his men, he can’t let them walk out just like that.

    but i never knew why those undeads where in the mine, is this, in fact, what happened to them? raised by some necromansers who wanted to join, or contribute, the the Defias? someon from duskwoods? after all there is defias there too.?? anyone knows?

    • 3 Nhani
      August 3, 2010 at 13:21

      I don’t think it’s ever been fully explained what happened to the dwarves – there’s a few different plausible explanations available, and the Defias does have at least one would-be necromancer in their fold with Klaven Mortwake.

      Beyond the Tree supplies its own answer and reasoning as part of its own plot – it won’t necessarily match what Blizzard would say happened, but it should make enough sense of its own. Ultimately, events in Beyond the Tree haven’t happened quite exactly like they did in World of Warcraft, after all.

  3. August 1, 2010 at 21:33

    ‘You see my dear elven friends..i cannot let you life.
    You have broken into my establishment and severely hurt my interests, I fear you will have to die. Now try not to make a huge mess of things, this salt sea air does not mix well with blood as you can smell.’

    Yeh, i’m in a noble lord villain kinda mood.

    • 5 Yerdiss
      August 2, 2010 at 19:47

      Ah, and a noble lord villain simply requires an annoying little sidekick that bugs him about trivial details that his mind cares not for.

      “I cannot let you life”
      “That’s live, sir”.
      *punt sidekick to the floor*
      “I cannot let you… live”

      Yes… I envision this vividly.

  4. 8 Eduvudd
    August 1, 2010 at 22:11

    I’ve gotta say, you’ve shown VanCleef VERY well, we always know hes capable of something like this but we never see it in game. This is amazeing to finialy see him in action :D

  5. 9 UnknownreaderX
    August 2, 2010 at 03:12

    I love these.Im currently rereading all of these.This one suprised me a bit.I was thinking it would be a quick fight, But I love the way you did this one.Specially when I love Vancleef (Even if we do kill him ingame)

  6. 10 Germ
    August 2, 2010 at 06:28

    Disgruntled government worker who put all of his skills into being a ninja, or an honest ninja who took a lot of craftsman feats?

    • 11 Nhani
      August 3, 2010 at 16:46

      He’s a mason, they’re into secret societies and conspiracies and the like by default!

      • 12 Simeon_Halcyon
        August 4, 2010 at 04:30

        I see what you did there! XD

        Before I get off topic, beautiful characterization of VanCleef, Miss Nhani! Made my day when I saw this on the front page. *smile*

        -Simeon

  7. 13 Xelios
    August 2, 2010 at 07:11

    I love what you have done with VanCleef’s Stormshroud Shoulders and made a neckguard out of it. ^_^ Creative and fun! keep at it! ^

  8. 14 Nirene Feathersong
    August 2, 2010 at 09:47

    Those whose name must not be spoken – quite a original way to describe evil – actually, it astounds me they haven’t realised who these so-called “benefactors” might be yet, considering there’s only two opponents who’d be able to raise the dead: the jungle trolls of the Gurubashi Empire and the Scourge, where only the Scourge would be the most possible suspect, as I wouldn’t imagine jungle trolls to make a bargain with humans.

    Anyway, great page, and great dialogue. I see Hani is eager to chop some heads as always – good thing Te’len is there. ;)

  9. 15 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    August 2, 2010 at 12:00

    I do actually love how you characterised VanCleef here. In-game he doesn’t get much of a part, save only for three lines: “Our cause is righteous!” “Lapdogs, all of you!” and some other one that escapes me now. It hints at being something more than that, but unless you truly follow the story you never really get the grasp of things. How you portrayed him here is very much how I would see him otherwise, outside those game-lines, and full respect for actually making him become the central figure in Warcraft that he really is – at least for the respect of dealing with Defias.

    Curiously, on a similar note, I’ve been reading up more on Defias of late, simply because I wanted to play a storyline relating to my Paladin at some point in the future. It should be an interesting one if I can get down all the finer details that I need.

  10. 16 Piastol
    August 2, 2010 at 15:10

    I REALLY like his “An empty promise for each one?” line. It’s just perfect for my image of Mr. Van Cleef

  11. 17 Larsey
    August 2, 2010 at 16:00

    Eventhough he is propably the lowest lvl Instance Boss for Alliance he is one of the most badasses

  12. 18 Tankesenior
    August 2, 2010 at 20:47

    He is so awesome, I’m almost on his side to make them pay for slaughtering his poor men.

    Almost….

    Whew he almost got me there ;)

  13. 19 Fokker
    August 2, 2010 at 21:35

    I hope that he’s not going to be an easy one. As I said before, scars make you look totally badass and Hani deserves to have these.

  14. 20 Eduvudd
    August 3, 2010 at 21:51

    Maybe the defias might have a tie in with Morbent Fel? Since there are Defias Graverobbers in the same area as him, and so far hes the only necromancer thats close enough to the Deadmines to effect them. This is just a shot in the air, but I bet if Vancleef acepted the offer, Fel would have waited for them to attack Stormwind, start raiseing undead, then turn on the Defias when the timeing is right. Then again Morbent Fel is probabally with the Black Riders anyway so who knows?

  15. 21 Timber Wolf
    August 3, 2010 at 23:45

    Epic asskicking in three… two…


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

