06
Oct
10

#230 – “Dead Mines Tell No Tale”



So, Vanessa VanCleef. It took me quite awhile to figure out where I could possibly put her, or if I even wanted to reference her at all. I found her really frustrating to work with because by the time I got started with Edwin.. he wasn’t a father, it wasn’t by any means part of his characterization or identity. It’s fair to say that if I’d known he’d be one when I started planning him.. I would’ve taken a different approach to him, because something like that is a really big thing.

So she’s not important to Edwin save in retrospect, there’s no body for her to run up to because I meant for the group to bring it with them and I couldn’t have her simply swear vengeance because that means I’d be obligated to deal with her later, and presently I really don’t feel like I’d want to. So, the only space left I could think of was to have her a part of Cookie’s own epilogue – our journey through the Deadmines end with the two of them.

25 Responses to “#230 – “Dead Mines Tell No Tale””


  1. 1 Skyll K. Chagorantis
    October 6, 2010 at 23:00

    E.T.-warning on the last panel :)

  2. 2 Nirene Feathersong
    October 6, 2010 at 23:26

    Poor Vanessa – if this were her actual storyline in the official World of Warcraft trilogy, it’d be a shame if she turned into the same bad person as her father was.

    Oh well, Blizzard has a mindset of their own regarding their personal work. It’s just sad that she’s going to walk in her father’s footsteps in Cataclysm, considering the circumstances of their actions aren’t exactly the same, even though it’s based on revenge.

  3. 4 Eduvudd
    October 7, 2010 at 00:34

    I’d be pretty upset too if I saw someone battle my father to the death then drag his body away x.x
    Its awesome that you put her in also!

  4. 5 Germ
    October 7, 2010 at 04:52

    I’m sure when you do a time skip you’ll find some way to put her back in the game.

  5. 6 LolDrood
    October 7, 2010 at 05:41

    Cookie is totally my favorite Deadmines boss now XD.

    I must say, I’m one of the few people who couldn’t care less about VVC, but I really liked how you did this page. Little foreshadowing aside/epilogue. :D

    Also, Cookie is awesome. And you can’t stop me from pretending that s/he and Areen are going to be pen pals. :p

  6. October 7, 2010 at 09:43

    I really liked how you did Cookie here, it’s a nice and totally un-expected epilogue!
    Seriously dudette, kudos.

  7. 8 Ripwarrior
    October 7, 2010 at 11:16

    I just have to say it, and I think(hope) everyone agrees…
    Cookie, is the best murloc ever <3 Awesome page, totally unexpected :o

  8. 9 Moltrazahn
    October 7, 2010 at 12:00

    Love the way you twist things into something awesome…

    1: Not only you “spare” van cliff, but drag him back? XD

    2: And… Dawwwwwwh! so cute.

    Your story-telling is great Nhani, thumbs up, truly.

    … ill go hug my Lurky now.

  9. 10 Tankesenior
    October 7, 2010 at 12:47

    Aww I love cookie and his cat :D <3. And now the cat gets a little sister :)

  10. 12 Timber Wolf
    October 7, 2010 at 19:48

    Suddenly, I feel remorse for all the times I downed VC… And I’m over it.

  11. 13 Frostsaben
    October 7, 2010 at 20:17

    Loving Cookie’s face in second panel, when he says “Bllgrrrhhhllll” Can we have a full shot of him? Or maybe a voting picture? Please? :)

  12. 18 Elnória
    October 7, 2010 at 20:57

    So adorable! I’m honestly deeply touched by this, and I think I’m almost glad that we don’t get quite as beautiful characterisations handed to us in the actual game; it’d make softies like me weep every time they’d have to advance by killing something. Which is the way WoW rolls, more often than not, so it’d undoubtedly be inconvenient.

    You seem to have converted a lot of us into murloc—or at least Cookie—lovers with this chapter, Nhani, and I think that’s worth some cheer and a salute or two, since it’s not something that I’d imagine as being entirely simple!

    Keep up the good work!

  13. 19 griffindor
    October 7, 2010 at 21:16

    know cookie can cook for some one! :D

  14. 21 griffindor
    October 7, 2010 at 21:20

    *now my spelling is awfull laterly

  15. 22 Arafor
    October 8, 2010 at 12:17

    I knew it! You can’t trust fish! He’s plotting something!

  16. 24 Moneta
    October 9, 2010 at 10:20

    Last panel reminds me of the one where Hani is daydreaming about how she is rescued by Tyrande when she was a little girl. Almost the same happening here :-)
    Great page!

  17. 25 Skarlette
    October 11, 2010 at 02:07

    *standing ovation* Loved every bit of the Deadmines sequence!

    I was already a murloc fan so you didn’t have to do much convincing to make me like Cookie, but AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW! Best. Murloc. EVER.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

