21
Oct
10

#233 – “An Apple a Day..”



NPC conversations like this are rarely all that interesting to make – often, the characters will be very minor, have very little characterization and generally only exist to flesh out the world or hand out exposition or plot coupons. There’s very little time to establish them, and compared to more important poseable characters their ability of expression will be hampered at best. Still, they’re also necessary because we need that fleshing out, or that exposition, or that plot coupon, to get to the more interesting bits.

Daphne Stilwell should be familiar to any Alliance Paladin out there. Just how she managed to keep a home right next to the Deadmines back exit I’m not entirely sure, but I suppose that’s why they’ve been wanting to drive her out.

43 Responses to “#233 – “An Apple a Day..””


  1. 1 Xalius
    October 21, 2010 at 19:24

    I’m exited to see how this battle will turn out since Hani is wounded. On the other hand however, they might flee when they see VanCleef dead.

  2. 7 Skyll K. Chagorantis
    October 21, 2010 at 19:43

    Love the eyes on the blond defias!!

  3. October 21, 2010 at 21:04

    You can say whatever you like about Azerothian farmers….they are a stubborn lot when it comes to their land.

  4. October 21, 2010 at 21:23

    I would still be worried if I was the defias, Hani is still a force to be feared, even if she is injured. She has shown that she doesn’t think of injuries or pain when in battle. Yet still you may be right, they might run home to mama when they see their grand leader, being dragged around like a rag doll by an injured Night elf. The defias love numbers being in their favor 4 to 1, but with now its 4 to 4 ratio. They might not like that at all.

    My opinion at least.

    Keep up the great work, love the story line so far.

  5. 19 Vionaros
    October 22, 2010 at 04:22

    Is it just the iPad screen being a bit unsuited for this, or did Te’len yell that last line? Or was that Rei?

    • 20 Ninerva
      October 22, 2010 at 05:04

      Actually it was Areen

      • 21 Nhani
        October 22, 2010 at 09:15

        It was Areen, yes; it’s one of those situations where finding a proper location for the speech bubble that didn’t obstruct anything was.. difficult.. and I simply just had to settle for hoping the loosely pointing arrow and facial expressions/body language would convey everything necessary.

  6. 22 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    October 22, 2010 at 08:06

    Heh…yeah, I remember this quest. A flaming struggle to get through too. But I managed it – just. Those four have no idea what they’re in for, I believe…

  7. 25 Cobs
    October 22, 2010 at 15:10

    “Respect mah authoritah!” comes to mind for some inexplicable reason.

    Nevertheless, this is certainly a quest that I’ll be missing. With that in mind, it’s nice to have it immortalised – if you will – through this. \=)

    And, yes, I rike. I rike it a rot.

  8. 26 Kimico
    October 22, 2010 at 21:04

    ooo I do like that Van’Cleef body weapon…. omigosh that would be so cool xD I can imagine Hani doing that. She’s not the most respectful individual if you know what i mean :P

  9. 28 Udûn-Khadgar
    October 23, 2010 at 10:08

    Love the sidetalk of those Defias. ‘Is he really thinking we should get shot…?’ ‘shh–’ Just Brilliant! And also figured out that it was Areen shouting, since Rei didn’t even agree with the plot, plus, it IS a pally quest after all…

    All remains of unexplainable splendour under this fictive sunny sky… keep it up!

  10. October 23, 2010 at 12:53

    Hani doesn’t need a weapon! she’ll just rip Vancleef’s arm off and beat his defias folks to death!
    She’s that core. Word up for the Kaldorei, whooo!

    • 30 Kimico
      October 25, 2010 at 17:47

      hmmm…. I’d love Oxhorn to see that. Then he will finally realize that Night Elves are epic, brutal and bloodthirsty instead of hippy tree huggers! >:D

  11. 31 Slaye
    October 23, 2010 at 13:39

    You know, for being a webcomic writer it’s actually pretty hard to get ahold of you to send you a mail. It doesn’t help that EU and US servers run on entirely different databases so my plans of making a lowbie copy of my main and sending you an ingame mail, suffice to say, completely and utterly failed. :<

    Can't even post on the realm's forums. I tried. D:

    Anyway, the whole reason for doing this(Aside for saying thanks again) was to ask if you've ever thought of doing renders of people's characters. An idea would be it could be commission based and therefore make you money of some sort, or "merit?" based. They send you a story or a request and if it strikes your fancy you do it. Or something

    Just curious. I love the art style and I'd love to have a picture of my nelf to show off to everyone.

    Also, Hani beating Defias to death with VanCleef's body/arm/leg must happen. It's hilarious. :P

    • October 23, 2010 at 16:31

      Hilarious but rather sticky :D

      And /agree with the “for commission” thing.

    • 33 Fokker
      October 24, 2010 at 21:11

      You can easily play on US servers with EU client (and vice-versa) :3

    • 35 Nhani
      October 25, 2010 at 17:12

      I haven’t really felt like there’d be much need to contact me privately – I’m reachable through comments either through here or Thoughts for Food and.. I haven’t really been able to picture that many scenarios where there’d have to be more than that. I might consider putting up a webmail box if there’s enough call for it, but I haven’t really seen the point.

      As for commissions.. that’s a complicated issue. I’ve thought about it, definitely, though making a poseable model is a lot of work – even with knowing what I want and having all the various elements available to me, rigging and adding facial expression morphs to a character will still generally take me a day or two.. and that’s if I’m not busy doing other things at the time; there’s a reason very few NPCs are given a poseable model in Beyond the Tree unless I deem it absolutely necessary.

      Of course, if I have (or come across) a fun idea that I like then I might play with it, too, my Random Render posts on Thoughts for Food tend to showcase that well enough. It hasn’t been something I’ve felt I can guarantee I’ll pull through with though – I’ve had some suggestions by friends which I said I’d look into but.. never really happened for one reason or another. And the issue of money is.. complicated; not only does that feel like I’d have to almost guarantee a certain degree of quality, but however modified and/or updated.. I’m not sure to what extents I’d consider it legally or morally kosher to take money for doing things with other peoples’ art resources.

      Maybe having some sort of random render suggestion thread or something would be something I should consider if I felt there was a large enough basis for a forum, but.. yeah. I haven’t quite felt the fanbase was large enough to really support one, as such.

      • 36 ninta
        October 25, 2010 at 19:30

        it might be larger then you think Nhani :)

        • 37 Nhani
          October 25, 2010 at 19:56

          Well, admittedly, I am aware that Beyond the Tree has on average about 6’000 page views per day, so I do know there’s a notable amount reading it ;)

          That said, people who like to comment or prowl forums or the like tend to be a vocal minority, and I’m not entirely sure whether there’s enough to warrant finding a free forum to link to.

    • 38 Fokker
      October 26, 2010 at 15:17

      It’s a bit of a bad thing for Blizzard, because it somewhere says in the license agreemend thing that you’re not supposed to play around in game’s files.
      And you have to, if you want to change your client type.

      So I don’t really feel like saying it in public.

  12. 39 griffindor
    October 25, 2010 at 11:20

    if rei grew to her normall size n could fight would she be a rogue? just a random out burst (as usuall xD)

  13. 43 LolDrood
    October 28, 2010 at 07:20

    I’ll never understand why human females got such an awesome bow animation, and… THAT for a gun animation. It gets worse with higher level gear; I look at gear in the preview, and a lot of them are bigger then my toon is. Sigh.

    “Daphne Stilwell should be familiar to any Alliance Paladin out there. Just how she managed to keep a home right next to the Deadmines back exit I’m not entirely sure…”

    Normally, all their asses would be dead right now, but they happened to pull this while she’s going through a transitional period in her life.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

