02
Dec
10

#240 – “Faster and More Intense”



Look, a thursday update. Yay, amazing, incredible, etcetera. The wonders will never cease, and so forth and so on. Not sure how much it’ll keep as next week is bound to be.. quite busy.. but we’ll see.

And so this page, which I’ve had in mind for awhile. One of the thing with the characterization of young Foonmall is that it can often benefit from weaving the odd feline-ish quirk in here and there; I generally tend to think of her way of reacting to discomfort and injury much like cats do – when injured she’ll generally first defend herself, and once safe would prefer to find a quiet and solitary spot and sleep it off. She doesn’t have to be awake, so she sleeps. It’s practical.

25 Responses to “#240 – “Faster and More Intense””


  1. 1 Ilyara
    December 2, 2010 at 03:47

    Mrowr? =’.^=

    Lovely page: the lighting seems better balanced too. I know you mentioned the recent scenes were a bit troublesome.

    Their horse is earning her sugar lumps! ^_^

  2. 2 Ianaris
    December 2, 2010 at 04:14

    Man… I want THAT horse as my mount zoom zoom! You’d save yourself extra gold for not having to use mages for their teleportation portals. Also I can’t help feel the gnome’s face is abit pulled too far but its no biggy I’m not even I could pull of this level of screen or Model Manips.

  3. 3 LolDrood
    December 2, 2010 at 07:58

    Hani: “Hey, I just thought up a game we can play, it’s called, ‘Rei Gets to Walk Back to Sentinel Hill’. :D ‘

    Well, if Hani is anything like my cats, the next few scenes will involve her scampering to the basement to hide behind the Christmas china and sleeping bags.
    Not that that would be a bad thing.

  4. 5 Synchronizor
    December 2, 2010 at 08:40

    Considering the wind from the speed they’re traveling, the terrain over which they’re rolling, and how light Tiny is, she’s doing a remarkable job of keeping her balance on the edge of the wagon.

    Also, internet points for the page title!

  5. 7 Cobs
    December 2, 2010 at 11:42

    ‘S good. I like. Especially also seeing a horse-pulled cart going faaaast.

    And (as is natural for me) the Hani quirked brow expression. Pure lurve. <3

  6. 8 Billy Bob
    December 2, 2010 at 14:34

    Screaming into an elf’s ear seems like a great way to insure that you’ll wake up with your face full of arrows one day.

  7. 9 Xel
    December 2, 2010 at 19:00

    Actually, it makes sense that Hani would seek rest after her wound. The resting body heals notably faster than an active one. In fact, with the general lack of armor in the Sentinels, I’d imagine that Night Elves are trained to let their bodies rest and recover after a skirmish or taking a wound. Some nice thinking, Nhani, and some great character interaction through the entire cast in just one update, well done!

    • 10 Sereno
      December 5, 2010 at 00:11

      Also, anyone who has ever taken a major wound can tell you that being in pain is tiring. While I have never been stabbed by a sword, I have had accidently stabbed myself in the thigh with a pair of hedge clippers, and as soon as I got used enough to the pain, I was exhauseted. I have to imagine that, even with healing, her shoulder hurts everytime she breaths, or moves anything at all. Beyond that, she was carrying Van Cleef with her wounded arm. That had to hurt like hell. If I where her, I would zonk out at the first opprotunity as well. (Not to mention the crying and blubbering on after having a freaking sword put in me.)

  8. 11 Gawriel
    December 2, 2010 at 19:03

    soldier thinking, sleep whenever u can, u never know when u get to sleep next time…
    Hani is a warrior after all

  9. 12 Timber Wolf
    December 3, 2010 at 19:19

    Damnit Rei, let her sleep!

  10. 13 Slaye
    December 3, 2010 at 23:57

    Hehe. You got a mention by a blue post on MMO. :3

    Movin’ on up.

  11. December 4, 2010 at 15:19

    Hani just one-manned the Deadmines mostly, cut her some slack tiny >.>

  12. 15 Dugeoneeer
    December 4, 2010 at 15:32

    is the gang ever gonna get another? then they can do a five man dungeon… (oops, a five woman dungeon) But it still seems that hani doing the whole thing wasn’t much trouble besides her wound ^.^

  13. December 4, 2010 at 19:56

    Reminded here of Monty Python:

    • 17 Tokkar
      December 5, 2010 at 01:56

      GAH! Linked the wrong one – meant to link the one that has JUST the “You’re no fun anymore” bit. Oh well – you can either move the shuttle toward the end and see what I was on about, or just watch the whole thing for a bit of a chuckle :-)

    • 18 Kimico
      December 5, 2010 at 13:39

      xD Ah well. Always love a bit of Monty Python <3
      And loving the first panel! The lighting, blur and shadows are great!

  14. 19 gryffyn
    December 5, 2010 at 18:38

    Even though Areen is a paladin, I wonder if she has this gnomish urge to pull the cart off the side of the road to tinker with it just to get a few more MPH out of the horses. Rocket boots for the horse?

  15. 20 Fokker
    December 5, 2010 at 21:17

    Hmm, it’s been a while since last intermission. Did you give up on them, Nhani?

    • 21 Nhani
      December 5, 2010 at 22:57

      Honestly, I gave up on intermissions midway through Chapter One – they don’t really exist outside of it aside from one filler page tagged as one early in chapter five and the April Fools page I did in the middle of Deadmines.

  16. 22 Algorithmix
    December 5, 2010 at 22:51

    Is it my memory that is playing tricks on me again, or is the title of the page a reference to Star Wars: A New Hope. If I remember correctly, George Lucas would often tell his actors that they should do the scene again, only this time “faster and more intense”. I seem to also recall that when he lost his voice during filming, Hamill, Ford and Fisher made a sign for him that said those four words. :)

    Or I may be horribly mistaken.

    • 23 Nhani
      December 5, 2010 at 22:54

      That was pretty much the intention, yeah; I have a tendency of watching DVD extra materials and commentator tracks far more than I watch the actual movies, heh. And I do like my obscure references..

      • 24 Algorithmix
        December 5, 2010 at 22:57

        Indeed. Obscure references are the best :)

        What does concern me about is that I think its closer to ten years since I saw that last, and I still remember it……..

        • 25 Nhani
          December 5, 2010 at 23:05

          I have a tendency to sneak in all kinds of stuff in page titles, really – it’s not every single one, but I generally try to come up with either a clever reference or some kind of pun with most pages. Doesn’t always work and some end up with pretty boring ones, but so many are really just obscure, owing to a very random quote memory. There are some (like #204 – “The Climbing One” and #223 – “Woe to the Conquered”) where it feels a tad wasted since no one seemed to catch (or at least, remark upon) the reference, though.

          All this said.. it wouldn’t surprise me if I eventually find a way to sneak in an obscure snippet of Jurassic Park dialogue into a page title somewhere, somehow..


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

