23
Oct
11

#288 – “Such a Shore”



Alright, first thing off. Since Blizzard went and announced a new expansion this weekend and I expect it’s likely some people will prod me about what I think of it, I conveniently put a post together regarding my thoughts that’s available here. Easier to keep the discussion in one place.

With that out of the way… this page was one of those that ended up automatically troublesome due to one of the panes involved – since Hani and Tiny see Auberdine, I felt it was important that we too get to see it, rather than just take their word for it. Problem is… digging through my backdrop library, I found I was kind of lacking any good distant shots of Auberdine from the direction of the sea. And it’s one of those things I can’t go get a pickup for since Auberdine isn’t all that intact anymore. So the shot we get of it is a bit silly, doesn’t at all succeed at implying the actual distance they are from it and is kind of from an angle it can’t be from.

14 Responses to “#288 – “Such a Shore””


  1. 1 Kevin
    October 23, 2011 at 19:33

    Haha, did hani think it would be wrecked?

  2. 4 kell
    October 23, 2011 at 20:05

    god i missed auberdine….. please make us remember the old days

  3. 5 BLRP
    October 23, 2011 at 20:14

    Biggest let-down of the day… realizing Hani saying it looked intact did not imply that her “preparations” for the trip ( http://beyondthetree.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/278-prepare-to-set-sail/ ) were gathering a pirate force to rape, pillage and burn the entire place.

    “It looks intact… I thought they’d arrived by n- I mean, I thought… yeah, ships should be faster… that’s what I was saying…”

  4. 6 bleeters
    October 23, 2011 at 22:08

    Phew. Post cataclysm night-elf-lands are something of a downer, glad to see they’re not returning to that, myself.

    Not that them spending the entire expansion being slaughtered wasn’t fun, and all.

  5. 7 LoLDrood
    October 23, 2011 at 23:03

    It’s not that ships are slow, so much as Rei keeps making fun of mages, so they won’t help port anymore.

  6. 8 Grindzycat
    October 24, 2011 at 05:25

    I miss Auberdine, favorite town on that continent. When I was new to Wow, I made a druid and was so excited to see this new town, away from Teldrassil. When I got there, I found three Blood Elves rampaging and destroying everything. While most of the other players tried (And failed) to kill them, I became their friends through emotes.

    Good times, good times.

  7. 9 Thalis
    October 24, 2011 at 13:48

    Actually, you can get a screenshot of Auberdine before its destruction, if you find some working pre-Cata free server. However, finding a good one and making second installation of WoW and all other required settings can be time-consuming.

  8. October 24, 2011 at 16:39

    I feel you are being overly critical of yourself.

    It does not necessarily follow we have to see the port from the exact vantage point of the characters. The shot of Auberdine succeeds in its purpose. It is not silly.

    Sometimes, you have to work with what you have, not what you want.

  9. 11 rkaliski@cox.net
    October 28, 2011 at 18:48

    Actually a more close up shot had us thinking..hummmm. Auberdine, not, “What is that tan and grey blotch on the shore.

    I miss the place too. First Hallows End as a low level spent running around turning my friends into all sorts of things. That was way before the headless horseman.

    Next expansion it should be fixed up like before.

  10. 12 2sexy4myshirt
    October 30, 2011 at 00:11

    I like it how thus far all the main characters consists of female characters xD Not saying that that is a bad thing, I’m just saying. Also Can we expect to see other races further on in the story? Like Draeneis, Blood Elves, Worgen, Goblins and Pandas?! Keep up the good work!

    • 13 Noriam
      October 30, 2011 at 13:09

      I wouldn’t count on seeing worgen or pandaren, the setting is pre-cataclysm. Hence the in-tact Auberdine.

      Goblins might show up though, because… Goblins are goblins and tend to be everywhere.

  11. 14 g
    November 1, 2011 at 13:45

    I think the front up shot of auberdine really nails it home as, ah we’re arriving auberdine not some random place.. to make up for it you could’ve put a dark ring around it though so it looks like you’re using a telescope :)


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

