15
Jan
12

#300 – “This is Sirius”



For awhile I considered coming up with some form of look eslewhere for this page, seeing its number, buuut… I couldn’t really come up with anything that felt like it made sense within the narrative context and still worked as a regularely numbered page. So instead you get random travel page.

It was actually a friend of mine that suggested I include a page of Areen and Dagri… talking. I liked the idea enough to make it happen.

30 Responses to “#300 – “This is Sirius””


  1. 1 TgrHwke
    January 15, 2012 at 23:36

    I really like this page Nhani. It’s fun seeing Areen and Dagri interacting.

  2. 2 JSStryker
    January 15, 2012 at 23:56

    Well they should get along swimmingly after all they do see eye to eye! :)

  3. 3 Watermist
    January 16, 2012 at 00:01

    Oh, that’s perfectly normal. I talk in sign language with my cat and dog sometimes just for the heck of it.

  4. 4 Ilyara
    January 16, 2012 at 00:33

    Congratulations on reaching #300!

    This scene made me giggle: poor Te’len.

  5. 5 Fyrina
    January 16, 2012 at 00:39

    Actually I think it’s a good milestone page. It’s almost nostalgic, in the sense that it’s a humorous travel page; Beyond the Tree used to be much more lighthearted early on.

    Perhaps a bit farfetched, but hey, you can see where I’m coming from, no? ;)

  6. January 16, 2012 at 02:53

    Dagri is such an intellectual.

  7. 7 Meyani
    January 16, 2012 at 08:13

    To me it seems Areen has mistaken Dagri for a druid transformed into a wolf ^^

  8. 8 Agamede
    January 16, 2012 at 08:45

    Nah, Areen and Dagri are just speaking on the same level. Eye-level that is. :D

  9. 9 Synchronizor
    January 16, 2012 at 08:53

    Hah, the eyes in the third pane cracked me up.

  10. 10 Meglivorn
    January 16, 2012 at 10:49

    Auch #1: the title ^^°
    And the middle panel before the last… Rei with that look :D

  11. 11 Meng
    January 16, 2012 at 14:39

    Now that reminds me the infamous Alistair and “bad dog” chatty back in the DA:O camp..

  12. 13 Avaric
    January 16, 2012 at 16:32

    Love the eyes on the wolf, they look so much better than in game.

    • 14 foggy
      January 16, 2012 at 19:01

      Hmmm. I don’t agree.
      For me they are way too much human like.
      It is weird for me to see a wolf expressing himself with its eyes and the ears keeping still all the time.
      Not a bit wolflike.
      At least there should be one ear turned into Areen’s direction.
      If i were Areen i too would believe this is some shape shifting druid.

      But it is a great interaction between the both. Areen is a wonderful one.
      Thumbs up.

      • 15 Nhani
        January 17, 2012 at 15:00

        To be honest, much of that comes from the simple fact that I’m not very fond of dogs, and the few exceptions there’s been to that either had floppy ears or I simply haven’t interacted with enough.

        Mind you, I actually did google briefly for wolf expressions prior to making this page, and of the three results I found, two were for drawn or animated characters and went with the more humanlike approach, while the third just went from normal to angry and frightened – helpful for people who run into actual wolves, less so if you need a wolf rolling their eyes and doing flat whats with their faces.

        So I’ve pretty much resolved to using mainly eyes and head movement for expression, mouth and lips for secondary, and I can tilt the ears back for sadness or anger.

  13. 16 Laura
    January 16, 2012 at 18:27

    Well, once you accept that those *bears* were all druids…

    I love Areen so much, she’s marvelous. Paladin is the one class I don’t use, but if I could do a gnome paladin I would totally level one, having seen Areen.

  14. January 16, 2012 at 19:39

    I love this one so much!

  15. 18 Drakor
    January 17, 2012 at 06:51

    Ok. This is just pure genius.
    Pure. Genius.

    Naught more needs to be said.

  16. 19 Moltrazahn
    January 17, 2012 at 07:31

    XD made my morning… especially that O.o dagri glance

  17. 20 LoLDrood
    January 17, 2012 at 08:16

    Best, Page, Ever. Forget Arc 2, I want a spin off of Areen and Dagri traveling the countryside and solving crimes. It can be called ‘Wolf and Gnome’ and it will be AMAZING.

    Brohoof to your friend for the idea, Nhani.

  18. 21 Tankesenior
    January 17, 2012 at 14:02

    :D This page really brought a smile on my face, awesomeness ;D!

  19. January 17, 2012 at 18:10

    Will you be joining the ‘website blackout’ in protest to SOPA like many others are doing?

    http://nlb-creations.com/2012/01/13/websites-confirmed-for-the-jan-18-blackout-protesting-sopa/

    Other webcomics are also joining in, like Dreamland and Dark Legacy like they show in their last page.

    http://www.darklegacycomics.com/index.html

    Please consider joining!

  20. 23 Kinto
    January 17, 2012 at 20:08

    I laughed out loud at this page

  21. 24 Zazkya
    January 18, 2012 at 01:01

    Congrats on page 300, may there be many more !

  22. January 18, 2012 at 06:45

    I am suspecting Dagri may not have seen a gnome before.

  23. 27 Kynrind
    January 19, 2012 at 22:33

    Haha. It’s nice to see Tiny at a loss for words for once. I can see Areen thinking that if the bears are druids, why not wolves too?

  24. August 12, 2013 at 19:12

    I really like this page! Built upon humor already established. I think more of this style of comedy would be a very good thing indeed!

    Well played. ;)

  25. August 19, 2013 at 09:51

    In case you’re wondering how the demand for a niche role like this has come to the forefront in the job
    market, you needn’t be surprised. You can schedule the meetings with lot of flexible
    facilities. While many people currently own the latest smartphones
    and tablet devices, Dr.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

