29
Jun
08

#26 – “Cult Status”

 



So there’s something very unholy about going Steven Seagal on a tauren female, even an evil cultist one. This marks the first and only time so far where I’ve looked at what I was doing and thought something like “Hmm.. this might be pushing it.”. Additionally, yes, Hani is capable of some level of sneaking, but I’d doubt she’d win any kind of awards in it.

It’s always a problem when two 3D characters need to be in direct physical contact – unlike the real world, a 3D object is basically empty and only consists of the surface, and even that isn’t solid enough to ward off intersection or colission unless specified to do so, backed up by heavy mathematical calculations to prevent it. This gets doubly bothersome when interacting with a non-poseable character as while Hani and Tiny have a full range of motions, most characters they meet will not.

In hindsight, I should’ve twisted right, not left. Would’ve looked more natural, I think.

In closing, I’d like to add that I am very grateful for all the encouraging comments I’ve been getting. While I only respond to ones that have a question or I feel might otherwise benefit on a response, I do read all of them with a sort of giddy curiousity.

8 Responses to “#26 – “Cult Status””


  1. 1 Deih
    June 29, 2008 at 11:55

    long time lurker, who finally got the guts to write a comment.. I’ve been following since Radio naga(or episode 009). I love the way you use lightin and bubble effects today’s strip. I felt kinda sorry for the cow when Hani went loco on it tho =C poor tauren. but back on topic. I -love- the way you write the story and how you make the characters feel so alive. Thanks for an AMAZING WoW comic. (if any of my english if weird or strange, blame that Im not speaking my mothertongue =p)

  2. 2 poptartfairy
    June 30, 2008 at 11:57

    Hani broke someone’s neck. I don’t think it’s meant to look “natural”!

  3. 3 The Silver Fox
    June 30, 2008 at 12:59

    Hmmm there’s a good chance that Hani and Tiny stands face to face with at least two monsters or a lot of cult members.

  4. 4 Nhani
    June 30, 2008 at 16:55

    Well I know what’s coming, obviously. But shhh, it’s a secret to everybody. ;D
    Though I’m sure the following pages will divulge a few things, being the snitches they areeee. Can’t trust them with secrets I tell you.

    As for natural, I meant from Hani’s perspective – I think it would’ve looked more proper in the context of her arms and what way she’d be able to impose greater strength the other way. Of course, then I also would’ve had to give the tauren a facial expression fitting the situation, so perhaps it’s better this way.

  5. 5 Wraper
    July 1, 2008 at 20:18

    The amount of work put into this comic is astonishing. This is by far the most well drawn/rendered/whatever, thought out and comical wow depiction ever made. And trust me I think I’ve read all other wow comics. As one that has played this game since 2005, boredom and lack of it’s content has struck me several times this last year. Your imaging make it seem fun again but when I log in it’s nothing like it. You depict that world and it’s characters with such vivid imagination that could only be described as world class fantasy. If you want to I think you could work for blizzard. Nonetheless, whatever your choice on that suggestion may be I hope you continue this for as long as you wish and continue to inspire nostalgia in people who like me used to love this game.

  6. 6 Raukangren
    July 1, 2008 at 23:06

    Wraper is right… Something called RP is kinda getting even more dead since last pathces… Actually since BC came out… SAVE DA RP!!

  7. 7 Nhani
    July 2, 2008 at 06:03

    Well.. what can I say, some of the response is and has been quite overwhelming. While you always hope things you make will be apprechiated, there’s only so much you dare to expect and it’s gone quite beyond that! While I did set out to amuse and entertain.. hearing that it’s taken the step into inspiring is heartwarming to hear.

    Beyond the Tree isn’t really a response to anything – it’s something I one day realized I could do, did one try at which didn’t work so well and then got thinking how I could do properly (behold the result!). I have plenty of planned plot on the horizon and to be honest – the first arc has barely gotten rolling yet!

    Sooo.. I won’t have a shortage of material so far – there’s some developments I really look foward to reaching that are weeks or even months away! I can but hope people will enjoy them and the journey there as much as I do :>

  8. September 11, 2011 at 19:59

    Beef. Its what’s for dinner.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


