17
Jul
08

#31 – “I’a Hydra”

 



To quote one of the things I claim to have inspired Beyond the Tree: “Boss battle, Boo-Yah!”

I wanted to push things in this fight, I admit. Aku’mai is not some mere cultist – it is an end-instance boss, and Aku’mai is not small. Now.. this isn’t randomly going to turn into Princess of Teldrassil: the Two Trees or Shadow of the Mountain Giant all of a sudden, but I still wanted to nudge some inspiration in by not limiting a fight to hacking at someone’s toes. Unlike a game character, Hani can climb up on her enemies. I’m inclined to let her.

I’ve done slight tweaks to the webpage itself – I added numbers to the individual posts for one so it’s easier to keep track of where you are before clicking a link rather than just reading the number of the image after. I also moved, removed and added things to the righthand sidebar the theme has. Among other things I added the Thoughts for Food category which is essentially an RSS feed to a blog but should have a plenty enough posts relating to Beyond the Tree itself that it might be worth checking out for those interested in glimpses of how I assemble things and what direction the graphics themselves are headed and other such tidbits.

8 Responses to “#31 – “I’a Hydra””


  1. 1 Deih
    July 17, 2008 at 12:37

    zomg, Hani can kill old gods! BOOH-YAAH! awesome strip as always, here, have a cookie =p

  2. 2 Frostsaben
    July 19, 2008 at 19:33

    I have only recently found this comic, and I have just finished reading it, but I must say it’s great and I already love it, not only because of the quality of pictures and how the characters are made, but also because of the great story.
    I have a question though, what is the story about Tiny’s size, why is she so small?

  3. 3 Nhani
    July 19, 2008 at 19:59

    Someone said story, woo! /skip

    *ahem* There’s no direct answer yet, and to have a precise reasoning for how it happened might not ever come really. The whole set of events that lead to it is the consequences of something else entirely which will be subtexted, hinted and mentioned as things progress.

    The simplest answer is that she’s small because she wants to be small. Not really in a sort of metaphysical mind over matter manner or any such, but it came out of certain choices she did and certain things she did, and she hasn’t regretted the outcome.

    As for why she wants to be small.. therein lies the mystery ;)

  4. 4 Frostsaben
    July 19, 2008 at 21:15

    I understand some things now, thank you for the info :) Still, you made me even more curious and and I’m looking forward to the events that will occur in the next pages :D Oh, by the way, I liked the wallpaper with Tiny winking from a couple of pages before, I hope there will be more wallpapers too :)

  5. April 14, 2009 at 08:25

    hmm the middle picture looks like a picture similar to The Oddyssey

  6. 6 Vlandath
    February 22, 2011 at 22:10

    … I’a Dagon, I’a Hydra, I’a Cthulhu!

  7. September 11, 2011 at 20:11

    Bah. All those baddies and not a bit of useful loot to be Head.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


