10
Aug
08

#38 – “Post-Mission”

 



While it was tempting to just have the duo run off instantly, I decided that to get started on finding someone, you need to know where they are, or at the least in rough terms. In the meantime I snuck in some more exposition as to what’s the guilty party and why (or perhaps more the absence of a why).

Being going back to raytraced shadows again, slower but shadow maps seem to have a few issues ascribed to them. Overall I like this page, there were a few opportunities for shot angles that I thought were interesting. As a random peice of trivia, every single pose you see out of Delgren was built out of the one single “stand” pose, showing that you can repose meshes without rigging them. It’s just far less precise.

Now, how many caught that when Delgren points and says south, he’s actually pointing west?

Edit: I decided to put up a short (two-page) stint I did in comedy comicness which is here for those curious. The initial plan was to have it as some kind of special issue, but I never quite got satisfied with what manner to publish it in and never managed to get off the ground with any more pages than the two ones there. Still, enjoy.

3 Responses to “#38 – “Post-Mission””


  1. 1 Deam
    August 10, 2008 at 13:33

    I’ve been in that landscape so much, and so far I can see. He should actually be pointing north. If you take it from the minimap in wow. That is. :)

    Else. I enjoy reading your work, making me smile most of the time. I’m just a sad impatient soul, wishing for people to get done quicker. But It can’t happen, and I know it. :p

    Well.. Good work.

  2. 2 Nhani
    August 10, 2008 at 13:42

    Looking at the overhead drawn map, it’s supposed to be the road just west of Maestra’s post – atleast if I remember the screenshot right. You’ve actually made me unsure now, I’ll have to double-check it. The idea was that he was going to point south, but I lacked the appropriate backdrop ;)

    You’ll have to excuse the schedule, but it’s there to both keep me working and to prevent me from going utterly bonkers trying too hard. Creativity is sometimes fickle. Besides, with luck it might give people something to look forward to, mmm? ;)

  3. 3 Arnes
    October 8, 2009 at 04:38

    As a paladin in WoW i think the 2 last panels be absolutely magnificent :o and a bit sad ofc too :/


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


