04
Sep
08

#44 – “Death by Irony”

 



So schedules sometimes break on you; found myself not getting this particular page finished until late last night. It may have suffered accordingly, but I hope not. In hindsight, the lighting is a tad strange – just a wee bit too bright I think. Though that’s very much a feature of where we are too, so it’s not too jarring. I hope.

I like experimenting with shots, expressions and visuals, trying to get something interesting out of the whole process. The one pane in black and white, the huge contrast between victim Te’len Nila and badass action girl Hani Foonmall.. the presence of a dumbfounded crowd. Beyond the Tree is ever a basis for expeirment and developing a style, seeing just what exactly I can get away with.

On a random note, I’ve been all but massively overhauling the coming plot, both near and far. Not that you’ll actually notice since I haven’t actually said what the previous plot is like (beyond a few subtle hints and implications that are still valid), but I’ve been streamlining it, including a few new developments I liked, cutting away a whole lot of extraeneous material.. Story Arc One is a tad shorter than it used to be. Not to worry however – I still look at my plans with dread, realizing that reaching some of it could very easilly take a whole year. Or two. And that’s not even counting Story Arc Two yet..

While I do think there’s a whole lot Beyond the Tree might run out of in the long run, story isn’t one of them ;)

5 Responses to “#44 – “Death by Irony””


  1. 1 Larisha
    September 4, 2008 at 07:46

    I think the lights are cool! The way it’s too bright makes it a little more dramatic and intense and it seems to represent that Te’len is on the very edge of getting murdered. I like it!

    Also, I just love the sarcasm ^^.

    Keep it up =D

    x Larisha

  2. 2 Moltrazahn
    September 4, 2008 at 22:21

    Ahh, you know Nhani … I think i love you, or atleast your creativity ^^ love the irony of how his (the elf) own insides got splattered instead of our lovely druids, Also hard to spot but great detail with some of the occults sorta haveing that “W-T-F” look on their faces .. Brilliant! ^^

    Keep em comming :D dont stop running and… ehh.. drink.. your .. milk.. yes..

    (good work ^^)

  3. 3 Ishy
    September 5, 2008 at 13:48

    Yay! More Te’Len! Great stuff Nhan <3

  4. 4 HampOoze
    September 6, 2008 at 08:56

    I loved the face expression of the orc!:D
    And even though I dont get why it was black and white on the superkill picture I cant say I didnt like it.
    You’re awesome, keep it up:D

  5. 5 DaTooL
    September 7, 2008 at 22:04

    Read this comic from start to present. Keep up the good work, so far its been moving from strength to strength.

    A following fan.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


