14
Sep
08

#47 – “I’m Awake, I’m Awake”

 



I’ve long been concerned that expanding the cast might risk characters getting in the way – it can be difficult enough just fitting Hani and Tiny themselves into a single pane – having to fit multiple large characters all but forces larger and wider panes, which reduces how much can be said and done in a single page. That said..

I think this page proved quite well that it shouldn’t be so much of a problem. Focus can shift quite fluidly around in spite of a fairly normal pane size – as long as some sacrifice is accepted, of course. There’s atleast one pane where I thought Tinys pose was great but it simply had to be cut off because it didn’t fit and she was simply not in focus. I make up for it by having her around in some others so we can see her reactions still.

Of course, it’s great to have space just to get down to the quick exchange of witty commentary that the Hani and Tiny duo mechanics rely so heavilly on. No setups or punchlines, just sharp jabs traded back and forth. It doesn’t make it into a commedy – because it isn’t. I do think it adds a fair bit of what makes it funny, however.

20 Responses to “#47 – “I’m Awake, I’m Awake””


  1. 1 HampOoze
    September 14, 2008 at 12:30

    This might just be me but I think nila is up too something, its just a hunch but you never know.
    Even though I would never want too be sacrafised but still…
    If you can make me feel like that than you’re awesome (As usuall^^) You rockz:D

  2. September 14, 2008 at 13:33

    urm the were?
    uhh i made the smoothen blizz bone but i can’t smooth the fingers i make them like idk realy


  3. 4 Nhani
    September 14, 2008 at 13:50

    Hands is one of those places where Blizzard has saved by far the most polygons – seeing the fingers put to use in game it’s pretty impressive how much they acomplish with so few polys.

    On the flip side however, for graphical endeavours it’s less of a boon and more of an obstacle – you pretty much have to look over the hand and add significantly to the geometry for them to be able to smooth and deform in a more proper manner. Consider the bottom image in this post, and bear in mind that’s just comparing the Blizzard standard to the hands Hani and Tiny use now. I have yet another model revision in mind for the near future sometime that’ll bring that poly count up significantly higher still.

  4. 5 Moltrazahn
    September 15, 2008 at 01:39

    I think you did well with the adding og 3 chars in 1 frame. Also the angels catch the individual pretty good, got a good director in you :). On the hands part ive allways liked what you made of them, nothing is perfect but considering what the wow models normally have youve done a great job on turning a triangel finger into something that seems to go very well with your models.

    Anyways, back to my fan-side of things.

    *claps hands* Great work! WIll still follow this story (and whatever else you may make in the liks of it) like a hawk! :)

  5. September 15, 2008 at 18:33

    i’m damn stuck on those damn fingers mine looks like crap

  6. 7 Lorthaiel
    September 15, 2008 at 20:56

    I read through all of your pages today after seeing the link to this in your forum signature. I think it’s amazing and I long for the next update. You manage to make your characters look so smooth and beautiful and the way you add your own details to the wow setting is just wonderful!

    You have gained a new fan,

    -Lorthaiel

  7. 8 bbr
    September 16, 2008 at 09:09

    Heh, watch where you point them ears!

  8. 9 magemanu
    April 13, 2009 at 17:13

    I love this comic! When I am reading this Im beginnig to want make a night elf. :D

  9. October 5, 2009 at 01:42

    Not me. With 3 exceptions, all nelf men’s faces are hideous to varying degrees, and of the three that aren’t, one is chubby-cheeked. Then there’s the build, like a steroid gorilla inmate recently released from Jackson State Prison. They are notorious for completely ignoring their legs in their bodybuilding routines. Third is the repressed way they laugh. Fourth is how tragically hip most of their jokes are. And finally, I don’t want to be associated — in ANY way — with Arch Druid Fandral Staghelm.

  10. July 21, 2013 at 08:41

    In India these tests are generally held on weekends (Saturdays and Sundays).
    There are many sponsored schools that offer free classes at nights or
    in the mornings. According to an excellent recent article in the New
    York Times, court rulings and a revised disability law that goes into effect in March 2011 should help some of these students.

  11. August 11, 2014 at 23:46

    Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share
    some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  12. August 12, 2014 at 03:34

    This article is really a nice one it helps new net users, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  13. August 14, 2014 at 14:18

    If some one wishes to be updated with most recent technologies after that he must be go to see this web site and be up to
    date daily.

  14. August 14, 2014 at 16:19

    Hi, its good article concerning media print, we all be familiar with media is a great
    source of data.

  15. August 15, 2014 at 17:39

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over
    that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same
    nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  16. September 5, 2014 at 18:07

    This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  17. September 18, 2014 at 07:24

    I was suggested this web site by means of my cousin. I’m now not certain whether
    this post is written through him as no one else know such unique approximately my
    difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

  18. September 21, 2014 at 15:40

    Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually loved
    account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your
    augment or even I success you get admission to consistently rapidly.

  19. October 15, 2014 at 20:23

    Hi there to every one, as I am genuinely eager of reading this blog’s
    post to be updated on a regular basis. It consists of nice material.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


