25
Sep
08

#50 – “Well Rested”

 



50 is a resonably big number and I’ll admit there’s been times when I’ve wondered whether I’d have the time or will to pull through this far or even further. I’ve bounced around with the idea of trying to force #50 to be a particular event or making an intermission out of it or whatever. Ultimately.. it’s just a normal page, but still different. We have characters sat around (and standing on!) a table, we have various assortments of foodstuffs on it and the characters can even pick things up and munch away.

It’s hardly perfectly executed, the page isn’t exactly littered with jokes or anything and it’s essentially just character moments and exposition. That said, between expressions, glances (especially the one Tiny does in the last pane) and everything else, it somehow ended up feeling very fitting as the perfect option for a Big Even Number page.

As you can probably tell, I’m milking the Astranaar Inn model for all it’s worth – you’ll see it in #51 too before I move away from it, so I hope you’re not sick of seeing it ;). I also decided to clarify how exactly Hani and Raene know eachother since I’d already done so in comments – it’s important to give context to some of Hani’s actions and reactions that both have been and will be and I don’t think I was as obvious with the fact as I’d intended.

Additionally, speaking of sneaking things in: How many of you noticed that Hani’s wearing different trousers? ;)

I thought it’d be appropriate to get that model revision I’ve been thinking of for Hani done in due time for #50 and I ended up sneaking in a few stylistic changes that seemed more appropriate for her. Commemorative of page #50, I also assembled a wallpaper of the new look which you can find here. Enjoy.

8 Responses to “#50 – “Well Rested””


  1. 1 Deih
    September 25, 2008 at 12:24

    gratz on halfway to 100!
    and I actually didn’t notice untill I read your comment! =o

  2. 2 Ishy
    September 25, 2008 at 13:32

    Wooo! Well done on the big 50! \o/

    I really like seeing them in these less formal situations :) and I *neeeeed* the outfit Te’Len is wearing!

  3. 3 MAJ
    September 25, 2008 at 13:37

    This is a very Story and I love the way it is put togther:D

  4. 4 Moltrazahn
    September 25, 2008 at 13:48

    A great 50! :P

    And yes, youve milked that inn for all its worth, but ill most likely enjoy if even if you did use it another 100 times over, simply becauss you do your thing with these pages SO well :D

    Happy 50th page!

  5. 5 Yerdiss
    September 25, 2008 at 20:51

    Yay for fifty! And indeed, the inn’s a great place to milk! It has a nice, homely feel to it, making it credible the characters are at ease. Thus making the character moments natural and giving these pages a pleasant flow to them.

    Feel free to use more of it! :)

    Grolly

  6. April 14, 2009 at 08:45

    hmmm much so thank you???isnt it thank so much?

  7. 7 Amoranta
    August 2, 2011 at 07:50

    Te’len reminds me a lot of my druid. Generally same look too, but mine’s meant to have sidebangs and long hair. xD; Loving the story so far though!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


