28
Sep
08

#51 – “Thank You, Miss Exposition”

 



I know there’s a few confusingly placed dialogue boxes in this page – the shots were a bit differently planned in my mind but the reality of location within a physical room shredded a few of them. The Light is also a tad weird – for some reason part of the inn becomes oversaturated with light much easier than the characters do, and yet that light seems to fail to cast shadow. Nevermind that the light didn’t actually appear anywhere near as bright when posing as it did once rendered.

This is one of those retrospective pages – characters compile their knowledge so all of them knows the same things and remind the audience of these things while doing it. While I still have some lingering concerns about being too heavy-handed, most of them have shifted into one that I’m by default being far too subtle. Some things need to remain veiled of course – I’d love to be able to put together developments where I lead up to something and when The Reveal comes people will first go “Shock!” and then “Wait.. that makes perfect sense.”

Much like Schrödinger’s Cat, it’s hard to observe whether people without author-level knowledge actually got all the various forms of hints to all manner of developments that I hide in places – if I ask specifically whether something was noticed, they become aware of it and the game of subtleties is over. If I don’t, I’m not likely to find out. While I do have people who I bother for suggestions / input / advice on the plot and character designs on a regular basis, they now know a very significant part of what I plan to be hinting at so they tend to catch it by default.

In this very case of course, I’m sledgehammering down the existance of the Little Green Men, because you can never make enough fourth wall jokes about cultists and martians.

9 Responses to “#51 – “Thank You, Miss Exposition””


  1. September 28, 2008 at 11:13

    I have recently discovered your comic and I must say that it’s by far the best comic technically speaking. By that I mean that your pictures/screenshots quality is fantastic, the lighting is spot on and the character poses and animations really make this extremely enjoyable.
    Please carry on!

  2. 2 Moltrazahn
    September 28, 2008 at 15:30

    More of the Inn! Yays! ^^ (told you id never grow tired of that inn! :P)
    Oh and Rei for the win :)

  3. 3 Nalash
    September 30, 2008 at 17:05

    Amazing comic. Keep up the good work.

  4. 4 Raukangren
    September 30, 2008 at 18:23

    G I E F D W A R V E S ! ! !
    =)
    Me like this atmosphere at the inn you made. Very cozy and relaxing. =)

  5. 5 Yerdiss
    September 30, 2008 at 23:16

    *ponder* What I’m wondering about, where does the light come from, when it’s seemingly darker outside then inside? The shots do not show the lightsources, though the shadows imply it’s ceilinglighting. Yet, I’ll be staying in character and as so will veign to be too lazy to browse back to other pages to verify ;) Hence, I’m stuck to whining and standing.

    … Much like Delgren, yet I figure the pun could actually be more about rank than about physical position. *looks at the time* I should be sleeping, not blabbering. Buh bye and keep up the good work you!

    Grolly

  6. 6 Nhani
    October 1, 2008 at 13:29

    I’ve put the lights in the ceiling so far, yes. World of Warcraft itself is using mostly ambient lighting without all that specific light sources so getting entire buildings lit properly is kindof odd, especially without the experience involved. The insides of the inn ended up a tad more bright than I wanted, but I couldn’t prevent that without making them way too dark, so I’m not sure how one’d properly light it unless I figured out a way to do it all with far less light sources.

    Still, it’s something I’ll try to think about for future implementations of buildings ;)

  7. April 14, 2009 at 08:47

    little green men?/??means Goblins??

  8. July 19, 2014 at 09:37

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the
    whole thing. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


