06
Nov
08

#62 – “It Means No Worries”

 



First things first – I randomly noted a few days ago that Beyond the Tree had surpassed 500’000 total views sometime last week. It’s not all that much compared to some comics out there, but for me it’s quite an impressive number! Do note it’s views, not viewers, so it’s skewered in that direction. But still! So in trying to maintain time-honed traditions set somewhere else by other people, I made a wallpaper in time for the occasion, enjoy.

On the matter of the page itself, this is essentially the natural followup of #61 and part of the reason why #61 was an important page to have happen – one of the underlaying things in Beyond the Tree is the way the characters work, how they think and how they view and react to the world; this offering is meant to be telling of a few key bits of that. However simple they might seem on the surface, I do try to make the characters more complex in depth – the characters don’t exist to tell the story, the story exists because of the characters. And that’s applicable to most of the jokes and “action” as well.

I experimented with lighting a little for this page, based on some (rather constructive) criticism I got over somewhere else about making characters lit up like they were in the Tanaris desert – while in the middle of Ashenvale forest. It’s gotten me thinking, and I’m slowly finding I have to overcome this apparent concern about rendering things too dimly lit, with the result that they can often end up far too bright. With luck I’ll keep the lighting toned down a little for the future like in this page; the characters stand out well enough as it is anyhow, and you can actually see a little more detail when the lighting is a tad softer.

10 Responses to “#62 – “It Means No Worries””


  1. 1 Arafor
    November 6, 2008 at 11:29

    I thought I was very constructive, I apologize if I sounded rude.

    I draw myself and I know how the shadows are affected by the surroundings, I was merely trying to give a somewhat constructive tip.

    regards

    //Arafor

  2. 2 Nhani
    November 6, 2008 at 12:06

    I wasn’t trying to be sarcastic – I meant constructive quite genuinely, especially as that plus an other remark (which was actually what I meant with “somewhere else”) on the modelviewer forums about the suspect brightness made me start thinking that maybe it was just a wee bit overkill and that I could potentially live with toning the brightness down a fair bit.

    Making Beyond the Tree is a learning experience, and I’d like to think I’m making progress with it. I tend to maintain that one of my most useful resources is a particular friend of mine who I try to pass by every plot twist, script and finished page by beforre they go live, because said person will actually tell me if something isn’t working right or isn’t achieving the impression I want and what could be done to improve or fix it.

    So while it’s certainly nice and encouraging to hear people be apprechiative (so no one thinks otherwise!), it’s more interesting to read when there’s some detail to it, as in what works, what isn’t working and what particular hints did people pick up and soforth.

    So no, you didn’t come across as rude (I did revert that particular shadow test immediately after too) and there’s no need to appologize. I’m more interested in knowing whether it’s better like this or not ;)

  3. 3 Moltrazahn
    November 6, 2008 at 14:20

    First things first, Congrats on the 500,000 Veiws! May it go up much futher!

    Second, i liked this page as a whole. Was rather.. hmm.. “Pleasent” on the eye since it did have some smootheness to it. Also i liked this page becauss you can really see you skill with eyebrow manipulation, so we clearly see the expresseions as they are supposed to be.

    And ofcause its nice to see Tiny take a “stap” at hani *giggles* since its normally the other way around.

    Good page ^^

  4. 4 Rain the Lynx
    November 6, 2008 at 20:48

    First off: Oh wow.

    I ran across this webcomic of your’s yesterday and I have simply been awed into silence for a good long while. The comic is so beautifull it keeps making me want to reach out and touch the screen. So far my screen seems to have moved back a bit by all the unwanted attention, but hot dang your stuff is amazing.

    I have read Beyond the Tree and had a smile on my face the whole time (once I got past staring hypnotisedly at the beauty of your panels) the interactions between Hani and Tiny really are great fun, even when they are not joking. The other assorted characters who pop in, both recurringly and otherwise are great fun as well. Still had fun at the Onu part, ahhh memories.

    Also having read Sunrise, I really had to wipe away a little tear. It was very touching and if that is any indication of the roleplaying and storytelling of your server, then I am jealous beyond all decent proportions. Absolutely beautifull, sad but truly beautifull. So thank you for putting all your work here on the web for our enjoyment. I look forward to each update of this comic that hooked me in record time.

  5. 5 Nhani
    November 7, 2008 at 08:09

    Gosh.. what can I say?

    It’s great to reach and inspire people – I’d like to think that’s what stories and storytelling exists to do. There’s a fair bit of effort going into the thinking (and discussions) about how to best channel the characters and the various plot moments into an enjoyable journey – if the result is appreciated, then the time spent is more or less justified.

    I’ve got.. well.. plans for months ahead – even just story arc one is going to be a long journey (and I got another one in mind for after it), I’m hoping it’ll keep being an interesting one throughout! ;)

    As for Sunrise, it’s a one-off, atleast for now. It’s not a common thing for things like that to happen which probably is a good thing – I don’t think I could stomach that kind of intensity happening near constantly! I’ve been blessed with knowing a few good people, however – it’s thanks to them I still stick around the game, and the character, I’d say.

  6. 6 Iasion
    November 7, 2008 at 08:58

    Grats on the views.

    I think I keep coming back because I want to know why Tee is so small (I’m guessing it might have something to do w/ why Nahni is taller than any other NE as well).

    Also, I have WoW characters myself and I often consider how they might respond to quests and NPC’s. My Forsaken Warlock, for example, loathes the Cenarion Circle and positively hates the Cenarion Expedition, and secretly wishes to raze their Zangarmarsh garrison to the ground. It’s nice to see that I’m not the only dork about this sort of thing. b(^_~)z

  7. 7 Idrial
    November 9, 2008 at 09:38

    *sign* i wish blizzard took as much care over their graphics etc as you do…

    Also, i think the subtley lowering in lighting is a small but effective change :D

    keep up te good work

  8. November 9, 2008 at 12:19

    ok that kind of light would be such a eater

  9. 9 Bubbles
    April 2, 2009 at 02:45

    Hani + Raene= LESBIAN LOVERS!

  10. April 15, 2009 at 10:24

    man i wish theres an in-game hair as Hani’s


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


