13
Nov
08

#64 – “When it Rayns..”

 



Okay, first things first – those of you coming in from DeathKnight.info (randomly discovered the link, heh), if you’re looking for the image of a gnomish death knight I did some months back, you’ll find it here.

With that out of the way, yes. Wrath of the Lich King. As of writing this, I’ve already taken my first few pokes around Northrend and I’m highly giddy about continuing that exploration, bringing me on to another thing I’d like to get out of the way: Between university studies and the project work they demand and Blizzard releasing Wrath, I can’t guarantee a sunday update. I’ll try to get one together, but if that doesn’t happen, it’ll either be because of me invading Northrend or yelling at game project code. We’ll see how my weekend ends up looking.

As for this page, more travel, more chatter, sprinkled with just a tiny bit of exposition. More things at once is good. That said, I’m aware the Dryads look a tad flat shaded and low quality – their models aren’t exactly made for a wide range of expressions and I thought I could afford to skip on making a specular map for them (In hindsight, I think it’s fair to say that I thought wrong).

In its earliest forms, this page was originally just Hani and Tiny sparking off a dialogue what was off the other path they weren’t heading and how it held a Horde of Orcs hoarding Trees and the numerous misunderstanding this could lead to. It felt a little too much like breaking fourth wall however and raised the question of why Hani’d happily accept their presence there. Ultimately, I went with two Dryads pulling a Wheelie instead.

5 Responses to “#64 – “When it Rayns..””


  1. 1 Moltrazahn
    November 13, 2008 at 18:11

    Dryads.. XD seriously, cheers for this page. I simply LOVE how youve pictured the dryads from wow. They are simply epic.. And upon playing wrath and reading this now, this day is perfect ^^ Oh, i cant enterly tell, but you did do something with their models if im not mistaken?

    At any rate, 5/5 for humor XD

  2. 2 Frostsaben
    November 13, 2008 at 21:30

    Nice turn, I was actually thinking what would happen if they go through the horde outpost or not.
    The dryads look preety good, except for the 9th frame, I don’t know, they look weird there at least from my opinion.

    Except for that… Northrend… a very crowded place where you don’t have room to throw a needle, let alone kill something. Although I got WotLK, I didn’t install it, I waited to see how it will be, and from what I was told that’s how it looks, so I guess I’ll wait another week or two till I install it and go there myself and hope the crowds will be gone.

    Anyway, I wish you luck in Northrend and hope to hear good news of the campain against the Scourge ;)

  3. 3 Rain the Lynx
    November 14, 2008 at 09:25

    heeh, I just love the way you depict the dryads, very very in with the lore of WoW. I can understand that our protanagists want to get away as fast as possible before they too get dryadised. *chuckles*

    And WotLK.. Got it installed, awed at the scenery of Northrend, made a DK (And surprisingly had some very good RP with it too straight from the bad) but mostly still play in Outland with my main character. Earn some achievement and stuff out there while the dust settles in Northrend.

  4. November 15, 2008 at 18:49

    tee’s hair looks kind-a odd.

  5. 5 Thairalumen
    February 5, 2013 at 20:54

    I’ve discovered you late, it seems.
    Still, enjoying this, as I am late to enter the game, and late to explore Darkshore…
    It is fascinating how you make such hard work seem so lightly done.

    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


