27
Nov
08

#67 – “No Wit, Warlock”

 



Ideas can come from just about everywhere – this particular page actually came out of the title which I thought was just plain great, and this gave me a situation where I could make use of it. It’s not that this changes the overhanging story arc – more that it provides a better stage for it to play out. This particular page sets up both a set of jokes as well as provides just a triffle of exposition snuck into the exchange.

As always, even in moments of plot exposition, character and character development comes first.

I know the last pane is pretty fiddly really – the lighting wasn’t really all that good in retrospect, nor the match with the background. Mistakes happen and are hopefully learnt from.

12 Responses to “#67 – “No Wit, Warlock””


  1. 1 Arafor
    November 27, 2008 at 11:04

    “We’re here to kill you”

    I laughed so hard at that. Excellent jokes.

  2. 2 Ishy
    November 27, 2008 at 14:29

    <3 Hani and Tiny – the loveable sarcastic comedy duo!

  3. 3 Moltrazahn
    November 27, 2008 at 15:35

    Once again your epicness for humor is noted and awarded with a big cheer of AWESOMENESS ON A STICK! :D – Just the fact that they even say “we are here to kill you, pleae make a line” :P

    This page was made of win *nods*

  4. 4 Kai
    November 27, 2008 at 22:50

    LOL that is sweet. No wits sounds like our guilds (use to be) only warlock. XD

    Darn it WTB tutorial for Max on rigging! PST!

    ..no really. I can get them into max but some verts refuse to weld (like players in ‘dresses’ parts wont weld reguardless of settings so I get parts going here there and blahhh.. and attaching the bipeds just.. fail >.>

    lol I hate that, I can make my own models and such but I can’t rig them for shizzle. XD

    ..shoot I tried to rig something a few hours ago, I clicked to place the biped and it didn’t show up, I turn the camera and it placed WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY behind the view I was looking at. O.o;;;

    …ohhh max and you’re silly quirks at times. :P

  5. 5 Nhani
    November 28, 2008 at 00:03

    I think I’ve touched on the skirt issue before, but basically if you look closely at the model bits for some things (skirts are most obvious, but also some sleeves, glove parts and soforth have the problem), what Blizzard has done is rather than having a single face that’s two-sided, they have two faces with opposite normals. Due to this you can’t effectively just fuse the skirt model straight out because 3ds Max will be confused as to which vertices to fuse since there’ll be double the amount of them.

    What you need to do is basically remove the faces (which should also automatically remove the associated vertices) with inwards-facing normals first and then fuse it, using a two-sided material to make up for the faces you removed.

    As for attaching bipeds, well.. There’s a reason the current iteration Hani Foonmall model is my third iteration of her model, and something like sixth or seventh iteration of rigged night elven female model I have period. And her model still has some issues that I’m hoping to get around fixing in a future overhaul. It’s basically a field consisting entirely of “try, try again.”

    As for the humour, I’m hoping to keep the general theme of it for a few more pages – the duo is remarkably good at handwaving violence through sarcasm and wit. Not sure if I can match the remarks given in this one, mind, but we shall see.

  6. 6 Kai
    November 28, 2008 at 04:00

    Yeah I found with the dress there are extra faces. sellecting by element I pulled away each and every section and deleted any ‘double’ of that section till I got a fully soled peice of the modol. But I am STILL finding parts that refuse to weld even when theres no extra bits in hiding.

    How do I edit the normals and make sure there all faceing the way they are supose to? I did some fliping to the parts that would not weld and it didn’t change anything.

    Yeah self taught in max, still learning. any help be nice :P

    I dred doing this to any other character. @.x remind me to avoide dress’s at all cost.

    I really think you should put up a tutorial or least a few tips for people like me ^^;;;;

  7. 7 typewriter
    November 28, 2008 at 05:14

    Odd question, but what in-game clothes is Hani wearing?

  8. 8 Nhani
    November 28, 2008 at 09:22

    You have to make sure the normals are all facing the right way (either outwards or inwards) – typically Max will show the ones facing opposite as darker or even flat black (but not always). What I generally do is pick face sub-object, select all faces in the skirt (and the skirt only) and then use the Ignore Backfacing checkbox (on the editable mesh or editable poly rollout) and unselect from the front only using that. Then I delete the selected, uncheck the box, select the back of the skirt only and flip that.

    That’s just my method mind you, there’s several cases (like sleeves) Where you simply have to try to be attentive and guess which one is right and experiment your way with it.

    Thing is, I do put up the occasional bit of information on how I do things over at Thoughts for Food – there’s even a series loosely chronicling the various steps that went into the Tyrande Whisperwind model conversion early on, for example. Since it’s snuck in with the rest of the blog however, almost no one ever reads them. (Though I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this particular issue, except in a few comments over time)

  9. 9 Nhani
    November 28, 2008 at 09:29

    As for what Hani wears.. whew, that’s a complex one. The base texture set I used is comprised around a Thick Draenic Vest, a pair of Guardian Pants, some Blackened Defias Boots, a Wicked Leather Headband and some Dark Leather Gloves. Most of which are craftable. She has an undershirt too but I can’t find what shirts that were combined into it now.

    She also wields a Dimensional Blade and a dagger I’ve forgotten what it was. Additionally, her backpack is from one of the engineering-made Gyrocopter mounts and the current shoulder strap was stolen from a Mo’arg.

    Obviously like her hair is a combination of two different hair styles, the above only defines the texture set – even if you dress up an in-game character like that it won’t look like Hani Foonmall because of said differences.

  10. 10 typewriter
    November 28, 2008 at 17:26

    Aaah… ok then, hehe. Thanks for answering :)

  11. 11 Kai
    November 29, 2008 at 05:12

    Looks like it’s time to add a section to said posting’s with tips and fun stuff and maybe even a few downloadables for people (like me) to play with? :3

  12. 12 Nathen Soulblaze
    May 31, 2009 at 00:50

    Whoa… That fellow in green looks like a “young” version of my old character, the bald, “evil” (in his opinion, his cause was righteous, he just failed to see he served a bunch of scum) Paladin named Lord Nathen Soulblaze:)


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


