04
Dec
08

#68 – “All Good Things..”

 



Yes, Yes, late update, and sunday didn’t happen. You’ll have to forgive that – between Uni and Wrath, the amount of time I’ve felt has been free to dedicate to Beyond the Tree has been far less than I’ve wanted it to be. Too much I have to or need to acomplish that gets in the way. I spent much of sunday writing a particular report for one, so the time in the least was well spent.

I’ve been contemplating whether to cut down to a single update a week for awhile until I get the urge back, but I haven’t decided yet. We’ll see what happens on sunday. With luck it should be going back to regular schedule, but I could really use getting my drive back.

For this particular page, I’m not quite as happy with it as it looked in my mind – I thought it’d end up better than it did. But, well, live and learn, as they say.

16 Responses to “#68 – “All Good Things..””


  1. 1 Kai
    December 4, 2008 at 19:26

    I get that too. I het a very nice and well planed image in my head for but the life of me the end resault never comes out like that.

    I love the “you’re our third, now” line *snicker* A nig nice “oh crap” moment for mr. now dead. XD

    Off topic, I saw that post with ‘Illybeans and the Heights of Silly’ I can’t get the text file the converter gives to import into milkshape. It brings in a blank scene. Do I import as text or another format?

    …and how do you get the bones into max once it does import. ^^;;;

  2. 2 Nhani
    December 4, 2008 at 21:04

    If you get an error or just a blank scene you might have the localization issue – I made a post in that thread what causes that and how to fix it (a quick search and replace replacing commas with dots, basically).

    Then it was basically export from milkshape and import into 3ds. Think I tried around a bit to find an exporting format that actually worked, but I forgot which one it was. Really, though, if you have a problem with it you’re better off asking questions how it works there, since I basically only tried it for that one image and then haven’t had time to play with it more.

  3. 3 Arafor
    December 5, 2008 at 17:37

    Naturally you have things to do other then to amuse this (mostly) humble crowd. Take your time. If you don’t have the time to spare, you don’t have the time to spare. Most of us prefer quality (note: most of us) over quantity.

    Ps, don’t let WoW eat up your homework :P

    //Arafor

  4. 4 Kai
    December 5, 2008 at 22:27

    Yeah no error just a blank scene. I did ask on the forum, but as of… a week I’m still the last one to post in that thread ^^;

    I opened up the file and did a search and replace but it found no commas. :( Am I to import it as text or some other format?

  5. 5 Nhani
    December 6, 2008 at 00:37

    You’ve to import it into Milkshape as “Milkshape 3D ASCII” – the thread mentions this abbrevated twice and spelled out fully once on the first page. That’s the format it’s supposed to be in, in the least. If that isn’t working, then I don’t know.

  6. 6 Kai
    December 6, 2008 at 11:06

    Oh I’m stupid then sorry. I see it giving me a text file so I think.. import as text!

    ..yep.. very dumb… >.> now.. to get the bomes into max…. *pokes milkshape*

  7. 7 Moltrazahn
    December 7, 2008 at 15:04

    I think youve done an amazing job with beyond the tree sofar, so my advice would be that you should make afew more pages, end in a cliffhanger and take a brake thill you hopefully get an urge back. In my experience if you relentlessly keep doing something you really dont want to do, you can either keep on doing it and “learn to live with it” or Crash’n burn.. and honestly both of those i find to be tiresom since non has the “omg i really wanted this” feeling in it. If supposed you can also start with cutting down to the single update a week, leaves more time for your education (which is way more important) and private for girlfreind/boyfreind/world of warcraft ;P.

    So really whichever you do, im sure youll have a fanbase that will support it. The writer is the comic and the comic the writer. So if one goes bad it effects the other. So i say do what you feel is right, and i for one will be cheering it from the sideline :)

    on another note, Great page! Qoute: “You… what..?”

    Classic ^^

  8. 8 Moltrazahn
    December 7, 2008 at 15:05

    Ps… aint he the forth?

    1: BFD
    2: Elf female they ninja killed
    3: The male who didnt notice them ninjaing the female :P
    4: this guy

    Then again they could be refering to this one being their 3ed encounter with the men-in-green.

  9. 9 Nhani
    December 7, 2008 at 15:29

    Well I got a few nudges from elsewhere too with some thinking about why I make Beyond the Tree – what’s in it for me exactly. Obviously, todays update isn’t up yet, but I have it in mind, so I intend to get the posing and rendering bit started soon enough, honest!

    There’s a fair bit of thinking with it, though – being honest, as much as I’d like to state it’s stunning character design, elaborate plot schemery and whatnot that sets Beyond the Tree appart from its contemporaries, the main obvious difference is largely graphical design. I might cut it down to one update a week. I might not. We’ll see. Still planning on having page #69 up before it turns monday, however. Though I can’t make any promises about which hour it’ll be done!

    And yes, he’s a little green man, hence third. The little green men are important, though what they are and why is something that you won’t find out until a Little Later(tm).

  10. April 15, 2009 at 10:30

    LOL ur our third one now

  11. February 26, 2013 at 16:22

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really know what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my website =). We can have a hyperlink change agreement between us
    See this: tombraider24.com.Pl, http://mass-effect.com.
    pl

  12. March 5, 2014 at 18:05

    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward
    to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

  13. March 6, 2014 at 17:20

    Countless whiteboards are thrown out on a regular basis because eventually,
    they become worn and unusable. In fact, many companies that sell partition systems offer free
    planning and installation. It doesn’t matter, as we are not the same as anyone else, so why should our words be the
    same.

  14. March 8, 2014 at 18:15

    Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  15. July 10, 2014 at 18:54

    Your blog is actually fantastic. May I follow you on Twitter?


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


