07
Dec
08

#69 – “That Which Was Left Behind”

 



Yes, I made an entire page about kneeing a Satyr in the Privates. It’s actually funny where some of these ideas come from – I was just thinking of what I could do before returning to the road and the Satyr that’d been punched out earlier came to mind and I thought how I could return to him before moving on. In the end just stabbing him seemed a tad humorless so I went with another.. approach.

It amused me.

I’m still not sure what to do with the update schedule – I was given a lengthy pep talk (two actually) regarding Beyond the Tree and what to make of it and I’ve found myself potentially in the need to re-evaulate why I make it – what exactly I get out of all this. Quite specifically, I was told to not make telling the actual story among those things. Part of the problem too is that events I’m building up towards now and really look forward to are.. well.. still quite far ahead.

I’m not planning on stopping it mind you – even doing so temporarily holds the risk of it not picking up again. It’s easier to keep rolling when you have momentum, so to speak. We’ll simply have to see where things go. If worst comes to worst, I might be down to a single update a week. Preferably not, but we’ll see. There’s some arbitrary elements involved like my only being able to be passionate about so many characters at one time, and much of the plot already laid out to the point where it’s hard to expand on it beyond immediate scripting.

But. We’ll see.

9 Responses to “#69 – “That Which Was Left Behind””


  1. 1 Ninta
    December 7, 2008 at 23:54

    funny page thisone :D.

    still curious about what that text bubble is hiding tho. cant quite figure out what it says behind it (altho i get the general idea ofc :P. would be stupid not to :).)

  2. 2 Iasion
    December 8, 2008 at 08:06

    /winces

    >_0 That’s just cruel…

  3. 3 Kai
    December 8, 2008 at 11:27

    “If I ever see them them again” ? Is there to be 2 thems or that a miss type?

  4. 4 Nhani
    December 8, 2008 at 12:08

    Thaaaat’s a mistake. Well spotted. It’s what happens when I don’t have time to pass a page on a page for a correction pass before I put them up. *goes to fix*

  5. 5 Shima
    December 9, 2008 at 20:30

    Irony, clever planning or poetic justice that comic number 69 is a joke about genitals?

    Keep up the good work, Nhani, It is greatly appreciated by this lurker ^_^

  6. 6 Moltrazahn
    December 10, 2008 at 10:25

    Happy 69! (It had to be said ;P)

    As for the main problem at hand, id say its important indeed to find out why your even makeing it. Some are doing these comics for fun, some for money, some becauss they are bored. Heck there is many reasons for it. Which ever is yours can be an important drive and drop. So make sure you take your time about it. I as a fan dont care if you stop makeing it entirely only to come back some months later, aslong as you figured it out.
    I myself Draw, ive been told im good at it (one should never be the one judgeing it unless based on alot of reveiws) however i found out that i dont do it unless im either bored or depressed. Both being at an alltime low with both Wrath being around and my age passing the teens slightly from each passing day (and a girlfreind whom is helping on both accounts).

    And you are GOOD at what your doing here. Heck should you decide to go for it and keep makeing Beyond the tree, im sure it will grow into some much more then what you see here.

    Whatever you do, know that this Fanboy will support it, causs its about what the writer/animater/artist choses to do, And not the comic nor fanbase.

    Also…

    SHE KNEED HIM IN THE GROIN!

    Aw aw aw aw awwwww…. *Dies*

  7. 7 Nhani
    December 10, 2008 at 11:17

    I am curious where it can go – what’s the limit, when can it be considered having truly taken off and soforth. There’s a few select points I’d love to reach, but they’re all so far away that it’s difficult to look forward to them and remain eager on that alone. I’ll need to come up with some closer milestones I think.

    This, I have to say, is one of those pages that amuse me simply out of the widespread reactions – I’ve seen responses going both “Ow.. that’s got to hurt..” and “Ahaha, that’s hilarious!”. I do like when there’s multiple ways to approach or interpret the content, and seeing what people make of it.

    For the record, the numbering is actually by incident (you’ll simply have to take my word for it!) and what Hani’s actually saying is “What, saying hello to his little friend?” – a permutation on the in Warcraft very oft-quoted and/or permutated phrase “Say hello to my little friend.” – apparently from the movie Scarface. (Yes I had to look it up)

  8. December 10, 2008 at 14:15

    well i’m getting better at it :) but i haven’t used the morpher

  9. 9 Roberto
    January 7, 2010 at 22:37

    At first I didn’t know what happened in frame #6 till in frame #7 I realized she kicked him in the Jewels. *CRUNCH* or some other action word could have used in frame #6 and with her leg higher up so we could see that she kicked him.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


