25
Dec
08

#73 – “Your Sentinel is in Another Castle”

 



First things first: I made a Winter’s Veil-themed wallpaper for Beyond the Tree which you can find here. I thought about whether or not a ‘special’ issue’d be an idea, but ultimately decided against it in favour of just pushing the main continuity forward, so a wallpaper will have to do!

There was a time when I felt unsure whether I could get away with pages like this – feeling almost like I had some contractual obligation to atleast one joke or quip or otherwise funny detail in every issue. That feeling has really gone away with time as I’ve gotten the impression that the whole Characterization First mentality has really come across, allowing pages like this that expands upon things shown earlier and helps establish where our characters fit into the world.

Hani and the Sentinels have an already mentioned past – something that is slowly elaborated on but hasn’t been explained in detail. yet. It’ll make sense in due time, I hope. ;)

Happy Holidays!

6 Responses to “#73 – “Your Sentinel is in Another Castle””


  1. 1 Molt parazahn
    December 25, 2008 at 17:24

    I like the page, dosent have to contain jokes all the times, since one dont want every page to be a exact reflection of the prior. Developement along the lines of the hero(s) is very important, and Hani’s past with the sentinels is quite sure not a “haha – occation”. So its fine that you take the time/pages for telling that story, even if its in several small parts before we get the final version. Good work, and Tough the day has passed, Merry Christmas :)

  2. December 25, 2008 at 17:25

    Bah, i hate typeing on labtobs -.- (me on the above)

  3. 3 Yerdiss
    December 26, 2008 at 14:11

    Love the page. It’s content like this that Beyond the Tree not only a ‘collection of good comic pages’, but a ‘good story contained in a comic’. Oh, and Tiny needs a tiny ten feet pole. Or ten inch, maybe. To poke Hani with when she’s getting mopey ;)

    “Listen to me” *poke* “and start” *poke* “standing up for your” *poke* “own…” *fling& “Hey, Hani! Come baaack!” *tip tip tip tip*

    (Remember Remember the fifth of November. The Gunpowder treason and Plot?)

  4. 4 typewriter
    December 28, 2008 at 10:03

    You deserve more comments. So here’s a comment :D I really like your comics, but I never actually comment on them. I guess maybe I should. Keep up the good work ^.^

  5. 5 Nhani
    December 29, 2008 at 01:54

    Okay, just a short heads up about what happened with the sunday update: on friday night, my laptop randomly decided that USB is BAD and became very determined not to recognize any USB devices plugged in whatsoever. Since it was my only available computer at the time and the schedule isn’t worth neither the frustration nor loss of quality it’d mean to make a page with a touchpad.. it didn’t happen. Blame hp. The USB ports decided to work again after my flight, but after that it’s been too late and I’ve been too drowsy, so it’ll have to wait ’til thursday.

    It should be worth the wait though, I hope. ;)

    To get the other bits out of the way.. comments are appreciated, since it’s the only way I can accurately measure what quips, remarks and plot hooks actually work. Additionally, I got picture just fine, Moltrazahn, thank you ;)

    And for gruul: I can think of no reason why the gunpowder treason should ever be forgot. Thumbs up for catching the reference.

  6. 6 Ilyara
    January 1, 2009 at 23:53

    Ah, the problems with an all female army…

    Yes, I said it! ^_-


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


