15
Jan
09

#78 – “Commitments”

 



Tad late, I know – was dead tired yesterday, so it had to wait. Still, it’s still thursday! (even if I prefer to update at mornings)

Unlike Tiny, I’m actually looking forward to reaching Delgren – if nothing else it means the plot can be nudged along that much further; nevermind that Delgren is interesting in the context of the cultural clash that he represents. For Tiny.. she has her own issues, just like Hani does.

I actually went and updated the cast list and about pages, even adding a very brief run over how Beyond the Tree is made (under “how to”) – it shouldn’t be anything new, but it might save the question popping up every so often. I’m planning on adding a Frequently (and not so frequently) Asked Questions bit too, but we’ll see when. I’d also like to have some manner of archive, but since I’d have to make every single link manually.. that’s somewhat lower on priority.

6 Responses to “#78 – “Commitments””


  1. 1 Shima
    January 15, 2009 at 22:15

    …I’m blown away, Nhani, even more so than usual. Your sheer attention to detail and level of commitment to this comic are an inspiration, Hani and Tee are looking more (artistically) beautiful than anything in game can produce. Your modelling skills and positioning as well as your characterisation and storytelling abilites make me quite jealous. Panels 4 and 5 in particular in this comic are simply dazzling. Thank you for creating suck an incredible webcomic.

  2. January 15, 2009 at 23:05

    I’m glad I found this comic. It’s kept me entertained by the story, if not the art.

    Also, be nice to Delgren. :( Paladins have had it bad enough as it is.

  3. 3 Yerdiss
    January 16, 2009 at 11:11

    Problem with the archive is that the longer you postpone it, the more work it will be to get it started. Once it’s done, it’s just one extra link a page-update. (Or am I completely misjudging the way this archive is set up?) :) On topic of the page, I have to agree with Shima. Also, it’s nice to see how you gradually build up the character exposition of Tiny and Hany. Every page (or almost every page) a new aspect of their personality is brought forth or hinted at. Very lovely done.

  4. 4 Bam
    January 18, 2009 at 11:56

    Hi there,

    Just wanted to say I’m a big fan, really enjoying the comic. Started reading through a few days ago and having seen your progress in a short time span I have to say your graphical elements have improved immensely, I’m really impressed.

    I’ve been playing around with the idea of using 3DS max and WMV to rig characters from WoW ever since I heard the idea and, although I’m nowhere near your level, I’m finally starting to get the hang of it. I’d love to talk specifics of your technique sometime (Vertex or Envelope Rigging, how you line up the enviroments, etc). It’s all very fascinating. I’d particularly love to know how you added the strap to her chest!

    Keep up the awesome work!

  5. 5 Nhani
    January 18, 2009 at 12:15

    Well.. what can I say – it’s great to see people come upon it and enjoy it, it’s a large part of what I get out of all this, I’d say! I do like to think it’s evolving, both stylistically, graphically and in characterization itself – I’ve learnt a whole lot from the process so far, so it should show atleast somewhat, heh.

    It’s ever work in progress of course – every model revision seems to add something that could be fixed or improved in some way.

    The how-to should have some quick glimpses on how I do, Thoughts for Food (check sidebar) have a few more details spread across its history, notably early on (I think it’s as far back as page 11..) there’s a series of entires showing how the Tyrande model was converted and rigged (though the model is now a tad dated and slanted for revision when time is had). There’s no real good discussion spot for it – times like this are among the few times when a forum would be useful I’d imagine. Still, I pretty much just use the 3ds standard biped, use the physique modifier for envelope rigging (learned from the tutorial, heh) and then use morphs for facial expressions. You can just hijack a relevant entry on Thoughts for Food on the topic of details, I think. xD

    As for an archive.. well, I figure I’ll just implement them on a per chapter basis, so unless chapter three is done first, I’ll add just chapter one and two to it anyhow. Since I try to make a list over what the various page titles are refering to at the end, I can do both at once.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


