05
Mar
09

#90 – “Home is Where the Heart is”



First things first – we apparently hit a million total views a few days ago; I’m well aware that it’s nowhere near as much as some, and that views is ultimately far less impressive than some statistics (like unique visitors), but hey. I never would’ve expected anywhere near it when I started off, so I’m certainly amazed by it! I concocted a random wallpapery thing that hides in this link for the occasion and took the time to revise the banner image on the top. Seeing how the first page for Beyond the Tree came up on the 20’th March 2008, it’s been only a little less than a year and quite the journey at that. I’m rather curious where things might end up another year around!

So, Darnassus. The sourcebooks describe it as a rather calm but still living place, with children playing safely in the streets and no danger so far as the eye can see. I didn’t take the time trying to populate it because of the significant amount of effort that’d involve and rather just left it as is. Besides, last time we were in Darnassus it was largely empty, and I don’t mind keeping that theme.

17 Responses to “#90 – “Home is Where the Heart is””


  1. 1 Weertangel
    March 5, 2009 at 18:13

    First, let me congratulate u with the 1 million views :)!
    2nd, darnassus does look nice, altrough to have at least the 2 sentinels standing at the bank would been nice. also, if u need any background info on wow areas, might i suggest the books from the wow rpg game? Lands of mystery and The Alliance player guide are great readthroughs even if your not in d&d. i know this couse i got almost all the books from the game simply couse of all the background stuff,(and Brann bronzebeard rocks!) for the rest, carry on and amaze us!! ;)

  2. 2 Lorthaiel
    March 5, 2009 at 19:29

    I must say I absolutely -Love- Tel’en’s expression in the 5th and second last square, especially the second last! I so far haven’t seen her as the kind of person to actually be… annoyed by anything but rather accept it with stoic calm.

    Both this and the last page were really well done with beautiful lighting and poses expressing a lot about the characters.
    Love it! :)

  3. 3 Moltrazahn
    March 5, 2009 at 19:57

    Congratulations! Love to see my spamming of the page turned into half-a-million veiws! *nods nods* … Anyways, joke aside… Love the last 3 pages, how you feel the pressure of the mysterious happening to occured towards Hani, one is really curious. I wonder if we get any more answers in darnassus. Yet i agree, i love Te’lens face in square 5. Simple awesome.

    Again grats on the veiws! May it rise towards the stars much longer :)

  4. 4 Elveswarrior
    March 5, 2009 at 20:04

    from me to lemme give a good ol’ ingame GZ! for dinging 1mil :)

    now for the page. very good job with making hani look down. that is a great succes

    now as “usual” il be a bit critic too. the 5th pic where Te looks over her shoulder it seems to me as if her eyes are out of sync. could be the thing with night elfs lacking pupils but now i noted it atleast:)

  5. 5 tiili
    March 5, 2009 at 23:29

    hihihihi

  6. March 5, 2009 at 23:54

    Another great page as alway,..

    Keep up the good work, then i`m sure you`ll get many more visitors.

  7. 7 Yra-Kay
    March 6, 2009 at 01:09

    Grats on the 1 million views! I wonder if that had anything to do with me checking 20 times a day to see if you had an update… Anywas, great comic!

    Oh, and by the way, night elves do have pupils, they’re just coverd up by the glow.

  8. 8 Nhani
    March 6, 2009 at 09:45

    Well what can I say, thanks. xD Refreshing pages or not, I never expected to reach anywhere near this level! (besides, doesn’t that say a thing or two about the fanbase I do have, eh? xD)

    As for the eyes.. in the purest terms of model topology, night elves lack a specific pupil element, which is why their looking in different directions can look really broken – it’s essentially being “faked” by stretching the texture around. It’s better than nothing (compare to back when I couldn’t move their eyes, at all), but I’m not sure I can make it any better unless I figure out a new way of doing their eyes. (which I might try for later model revisions)

    For Darnassus, the backdrops are straight from the game, hence why it’d be a bother to try to figure out how to populate them. There’s noone around in those shots because there weren’t any NPCs within my draw range at the time. The Sentinels in front of the bank are on the bank side of that tree, for example, not off on the Temple side ;)

    For the sourcebooks, I do have a good half of them already (hence my mention of how they describe Darnassus) – I would have more, but economy would have to permit that first!

  9. 9 Frostsaben
    March 6, 2009 at 11:10

    First, I want to congratulate you for the 1 million views, may this comic get at least twice as much from now on!
    Second, I wanted to say it’s nice how things go into a circle, Hani and Tiny left Darnassus almost a year ago, now they come back, plus you got the 1 million views right when they came back to the city.

    Darnassus was always a peaceful city (for the most part, for if we think at the conflicts between the High Priestess Tyrande and Archdruid Staghelm and the problems the new World Tree is bringing, it doesn’t look so peaceful anymore) and I like that it’s peaceful and quiet, it gets you into the athmosphere.

    Still, I would like to say I think night elves do have pupils, but not the in-game ones… as usual, many things in-game are diffrent from what they should be…

  10. 10 Nhani
    March 6, 2009 at 11:40

    Unfortunately, I’m generally constrained by how things are portrayed in World of Warcraft unless I figure out how how to work around them; I have worked my way around some of the things (like Te’len’s skirt, or how they can look in different directions now and soforth) so it’s not set in stone, but right now atleast there’s no way around their eyes being textures rather than actual objects.

  11. 11 Illyrian
    March 6, 2009 at 21:02

    Congratulations on one million views!

    Very nice and more than desrved in my opinion.

    The comic is fun to read, the characters are interesting and I also enjoy blurbs about 3D modeling etc.

    Keep up the good work and I hope that the second million will come soon enough!

  12. 12 Weertangel
    March 7, 2009 at 15:16

    Well let’s hope they don’t run in Staghelm, he’s a real bastard and Racist. for the eyes thingy, it really never bothered me, i mean. it looks cool what u did on this page and who cares if they got pupils or not? as long as it looks shiny ;)

  13. 13 Person6
    March 8, 2009 at 02:15

    Wonderful as always. It’d just like to provoke some thoughts….who is Tiny waving at in screen 3?

  14. 14 Nhani
    March 8, 2009 at 08:06

    Oh, a random Sentinel that ended up a little less visible than I’d intended. Or rather, I thought she was visible, but having put her there, I’d have a hard time un-noticing her.

  15. 15 Person6
    March 8, 2009 at 14:33

    I can’t believe I didn’t notice that

  16. 16 Yra-Kay
    March 12, 2009 at 02:26

    Oh yeah I just noticed her. I don’t know how I missed her either.

  17. February 5, 2013 at 21:21

    Belated but well-meant congratulations are in order.
    “Recuperate”

    (bows)


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


