15
Mar
09

#93 – “Breaking Point”



And then the train derailed. Ahem. Yes.

This particular page was actually previsualized quite some time ago – I had an early draft of it back early january already; it’s remained largely faithful to said draft, so I’d attribute that to it simply making a very powerful visual. I wanted something with only token dialogue for this page – both because of the importance of the moment and as a contrast to earlier pages. Of course, much like its immediate predecessor, I think it’s ultimatley Te’len that sells the page, even with her being largely off center.

For some reason, this page keeps making me think of the ID4 quote of Julius Levinson going “You punched the president?!”.

113 Responses to “#93 – “Breaking Point””


  1. 1 Sapphy
    March 15, 2009 at 01:24

    Well what can I say, Nhan… can I be the first one to say on behalf of the entire WoW community that you have indirectly done what just about every alliance player has been yearning to do since Mr Staghelm first snorted and insulted our level 10 Night Elves. We salute Hani, and we salute you.

    What an epic, epic punch, and a perfect turning point for the comic. Things can only get even more interesting from here.

  2. 3 Avani
    March 15, 2009 at 01:36

    Yes, i deeply agree with Sapphy. Nhani was Epic and it can’t be said anough. for so long i have wanted to punch him, but i couldn’t cuz of his blizz bodyguards.

    I can just say “There’s nothing in hell, like Hani’s Anger” =D

    Thank you Nhani :)

    /applaud and cheer in joy

  3. 4 Avani
    March 15, 2009 at 01:39

    *correction*

    Nhani it is an epic punch

    (instead of “Nhani was epic”)

    sry :P

    Best Wishes

  4. March 15, 2009 at 01:43

    Nhani / Hani,..
    we all salute you and thank you for finaly taking that guy down a nudge,..

    I`m sure all aliance players who had run ins whis the “high and mighty” arch duid agree that it was long over due,..

  5. 7 Kazanna
    March 15, 2009 at 06:57

    Hur, I did that on my horde charecter because of what he said to my druid… That guy is so irritateing, YAY Hani for putting him in his place!

  6. 8 Oboe Shoes
    March 15, 2009 at 07:34

    Haha, about time somebody showed him where to stick it. Well played by Hani.

  7. 9 QFT_Murdus
    March 15, 2009 at 09:36

    … Whoa.

    … WHOA!

    Really, that’s all there to say. Whoa.

  8. 10 Tia
    March 15, 2009 at 09:53

    That’s horrible! <..> *cheers secretly, where no druid can see it*

  9. 11 Lusiad
    March 15, 2009 at 10:07

    *cheer*

    I wanted to do something like that since handing in my very first quest to him on my very first Night Elf char! XD

  10. 12 Bam
    March 15, 2009 at 10:20

    Really looking forward to the direction we’re going now.

  11. 13 Muffiny
    March 15, 2009 at 10:32

    Well at least we know we all seem to hate him! x3

  12. 14 TC
    March 15, 2009 at 11:29

    10/10 an epic strike where he deserves it, I for one agree with everybody else…

    and on the side note, I just love Mr Bearwalkers faceexpression, that made me chuckle :)

  13. 15 Arafor
    March 15, 2009 at 11:36

    And now for the epic escape. Elvis.. I mean Hani, has left the building.

  14. March 15, 2009 at 11:50

    About damn time. Staghelm has so reachly deserved that fist. Nicely done with the “animation” of this move.

  15. 17 Ishy
    March 15, 2009 at 11:56

    Ouchie, that looks like it hurt… yay! :D

  16. 18 Ishy
    March 15, 2009 at 11:58

    Oh, and in all the epicness I totally missed how Tiny is clinging on for dear life in the punch pane xD

  17. 19 Lahis
    March 15, 2009 at 12:09

    Well at least she didn’t draw her sword :p

    Poor ol’ Bearwalker will have hard time in erasing that look from his face.

  18. 20 Bancduese
    March 15, 2009 at 12:11

    I make it a point to /slap him every time one of my characters has to have any dealings with him, so I guess our heroes also have little use for his over-bearing manner. He is enough to make a person roll horde just to come looking for him…

  19. 21 Derrael
    March 15, 2009 at 12:16

    now I really think that Staghelm deserved that. I mean, the guy’s a dick, I’ve played two nelf characters, druid and a warrior, and Staghelm has always managed to make me smack my head to the keyboard. about time someone put him on his place. nice comic.

    wait! I think I hear the nitpick train coming.

    she assaulted the arch druid! not only did she just made it impossible to return to darnassus EVER again, provided that she gets out alive, she’s gonna have a very angry and very VERY powerful druid on her ass in the next coule of minutes. call me what you want but I really don’t see any way how Hani is going to get out from that building without Staghelm blasting a hole trough her chest.

    of course she’s the main character so who knows what’s gonna happen. who’s next, ragnaros?

  20. 22 Moltrazahn
    March 15, 2009 at 14:04

    I knew it! Ever since i started reading this comic, i KNEW you had great things in you Nhani! and now *wipes tears* Now youve made me so very proud!

    *brings roses and chocolate*

    That was by far the most AWESOME moment ever, to see that gi… *COUGHS* i mean to see that poor mental old nightelf get hit in the face, tad “sad” but he had it comming. Still a pity that it had to resort to viole,,,agh i cant help it, EPIC!.. and im looking very much forward to the next page(s)!

    I think ill use this as my background for a while… I makes me so at ease to watch.

  21. 23 Elveswarrior
    March 15, 2009 at 14:04

    want my hunter to join in and give her aspect of the pack out of the hotzone? ;P

    idd think most night elf playing ppl just cheered abit inside because the arch druid is truly an arsehole

    for combat tactics. you never leave you “unused” arm hanging below the belt. its always glued to your side so its potentialy ready for a follow up ^^

  22. 24 Ilyara
    March 15, 2009 at 14:07

    This was pure comedy from the expressions to the timing of the punch; yes, somewhat satisfying.

    Despite the fact that Hani has just dug herself a huge hole with the Arch Druid and Darnassian politics as a whole, am I the only one who thinks this may actually help her reputation with the Sentinels slightly >.> ?

    Here’s the question: how public are Staghelm’s comments about Tyrande? and at any rate the Sentinels and Priesthood surely know what he says? I can’t help but think that socking the Archdruid one is bound to brew not only some resentment, but perhaps just a little admiration from the populous. I mean, I think we’re even at the point where Te and Bearwalker are going to be cheering her on a bit :)

  23. 25 Derrael
    March 15, 2009 at 15:07

    until Staghelm changes in to bearform and slams her trough the wall that is

  24. 26 Nhani
    March 15, 2009 at 17:31

    I have to say, one of the things I find really interesting with analytical comments is how the perspective from which they’re made is very much from the opposite side compared to myself – where I generally have an outcome in place and work with events to reach it.. you see the events and then try to conclude the outcome. Few pages illustrate this better than this one – I hadn’t at all expected the kind of response it’s gotten; in fact, I’ve actually felt some concern that it might come across as blatantly self-indulging – which wasn’t the actual intention, but I could see how it’d come across at that.

    I certainly didn’t expect to see Hani cheered on. xD

    For the conflict between Staghelm and Tyrande, from what I’ve gathered from sourcebooks and whatnot, I think the existance of a conflict could probably be considered a widely known rumour, while the truth of how deep it really goes is only known to the senior Priestesses and Staghelm’s closest assistants. I’d imagine the Temple atleast would like to keep the matter quiet and away from public eye.

    In closing (and for the record), I’d like to state that.
    A. Like Malfurion, I don’t really see Fandral as the shapeshifting kind.
    B. Ragnaros doesn’t really have a jaw so much as fire and burning. Though I suppose if she somehow found a way to heft a Water Elemental as a boxing glove.

  25. 27 Ellessar
    March 15, 2009 at 17:36

    Dang! Why can’t we punch that guy in the game like that aswell? :(
    ;)

  26. 28 Messai
    March 15, 2009 at 18:58

    Go Hani! Go Hani! Go Go Go Hani! XD

    that one really was long time overdue :o wish i was there to share the moment :D

    PS: Keep up the good work Nhani i really enjoy reading your comic :)

  27. 29 Weertangel
    March 15, 2009 at 19:22

    Andf so it has come to pass!! wicked!!! finally!! when i saw the page, somehow the words “finish him!”popped in my head, like everybody else who posted here, i agree that he had it coming, few things i (and most other ppl i gues XD ) can stand is ppl with an way to big ego!! and he had the biggest in the game! i mean, not even the Lich king is that arrogant!

    For the rest. keep it coming!! eiter they go to jail now for the punch or there’s a parade waiting for them outside :)

  28. 30 Tari
    March 15, 2009 at 19:41

    Uh-oh… not good. Nooooot good D:

  29. 31 Derrael
    March 15, 2009 at 20:33

    the bear thing was just an example, I was just trying to state the fact that Hani si in big trouble right now.

  30. March 15, 2009 at 21:11

    *laughs* OH YES, the moment I saw the title I knew something was going to happen. Thank you for giving me a wonderful start to my day :D

  31. 33 Yerdiss
    March 15, 2009 at 22:35

    I was wrong *snickers* epic!

    Oh, for the record: every druid must be able to shift to bearshape. It’s mandatory for the third druid-test, where they have to sit on sixteen Gnomes in five minutes. But I do agree, I don’t see Staghelm using it often either :P (And I agree with Derrael too, is he going to be pissed! She dented his ego and his do ,-)

  32. 34 Calvin
    March 16, 2009 at 00:27

    I can’t help but giggle whenever I see the druids face in the background. Nice pannel at the end by the way!

  33. 35 Person6
    March 16, 2009 at 01:34

    Hani’s epic, she’ll survive. And is it me or does the other druid look more like he’s about to applaud than actually in shock?

  34. 36 Ershiin
    March 16, 2009 at 03:08

    Uhm.. Thats treason.
    Asshole or not, thats the Arch Druid.. And i’m pretty sure the assault on that guy makes Hani the most wanted elf in Darnassus second only to Illidan..
    Hani just went from kinda disliked to a direct criminal.. Wonder how thats gonna turn out lol.

    … FALCON PUNCH!! Yeah! <3

  35. 37 Moltrazahn
    March 16, 2009 at 07:23

    I cant help but to post a second time. And i have to agree that this cant really be looked neatly upon by the laws of the Nightelven people. Tought im quite sure all of them agree with the majority of this page (god he deserved that) im also inclined to belive that hani will have to face the sentinels now, im unsure if they use prison or such… well they did with Illidan ofcause, however with their immotality gone, i doubt Hani can be locked up for 10.000 years, even if Staghelm might demand it, however i fear that Hani’s “Avoidance” of the temple might be just that tad -harder- now, with staghelms face printed on her knuckles.

    However! this could bring us a glance of tyrande even, whom Hani has seen in her dreams up to several times, so i see the upcomming pages to be -VERY- interesting!

    That, and for pure awesomeness, hani deserves a char ingame with the undertitle or something along those lines… And maby a throne of gold.. I think thats fair no? ^^

  36. 38 saila
    March 16, 2009 at 08:52

    /cheer no one tells hani where the cabinets shall stand ((probebly wrong but whaterver))
    and i loved how tiny was hanging at 3 and 4 althow its an bit hard t osee her at 3 but i always wounderd how she could hang on there. now we know.
    and i only got two word “big trouble”.
    now its only if she can get out of there before the Arch Druid gets back up or not. vos if they dont well they will be dead for sure.

  37. March 16, 2009 at 12:41

    i would love to give Hani a pat on the back,..
    but i don’t think i can reach that high.
    (Angus Flamestone = average sized Dwarven Hunter)

    Giving any Elf a pat on the back would be difficult for a Dwarf,..
    and as far as i can gather Hani is a tad taller then most NightElf-girls.
    And giving her a pat any lower will most likely result in me sharing the fate of that arrogant Druid,.. and thats not somethng i look forward too,..
    Now i`m wondering how tall she actualy is :S

    Poor Te’len, i don’t think she can handle much more of this,..
    Teacher BearWalker, you better look sharp,.. you might have to catch her as she faints :P

  38. 41 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 13:01

    Using the revised World of Warcraft RPG sourcebook from 2005, the average Night elven woman is about 6’8″, while using the same numbers I’d set Hani at about 7’3″ (for comparisson, the same sourcebook puts the average human male at around 5’8″ and the average dwarven male at 4’1″ or so). She’s meant to be unusually tall, but not impossibly so.

    In the context of actual models, Hani’s simply 105% scale of pretty much everyone else, compare this to Tiny who’s 25% scale.

    On the topic of golden thrones, WH40k have well established that they might be a suspect honor at best ;)

  39. 42 Elveswarrior
    March 16, 2009 at 13:12

    can someon translate 6’8” into the metric system? :S

  40. 43 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 13:29

    Let’s see. Using a converter that I found, that’d make the average Night elven woman around 203 centimeters, while Hani would be abuot 221 centimeters tall. (contrasted with the average human male considered to be 173 in this context)

    With those figures, we can conclude that Hani should actually be closer to 109% scale, rather than the 105% she is, but there’s a point where it becomes unwieldy as far as camera angles go. Maybe I’ll tweak it for another model revision ;)

  41. March 16, 2009 at 14:21

    If i use:
    http://www.convertunits.com/from/feet/to/cm

    Angus 4′1 = a 124.97 Cm
    Hani 7′3 = a 222.50 Cm
    Tiny 1.7 = a 51,82 Cm

    ===== IRL ====

    That source book you mentioned,…
    is it used for roleplaying Warcraft / WOW as a boardgame ?
    i saw something like that in a shop near where i live,.. (not many store around here cary books like that :S)
    but i couldn’t look inside because it was sealed in plastic
    Do books like this contain a lot of info on lore and things like ages for the races?

  42. 45 Xelios Morningsun
    March 16, 2009 at 14:47

    Finaly someone did what so many dared not do! We salute Hani and her Epic fists! The whole Night elf community cheers secretly this day.

    Btw, Nila has teh pretty sex legs.

  43. 46 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 14:58

    Well all the sourcebooks are essentially outsourced publications that readapts the Warcraft setting to a much a pen and paper roleplaying game setting, with several additional books focusing on the world (Lands of Conflict and Lands of Mystery), the factions (Alliance Player’s Guide and Horde Player’s Guide) and soforth. They essentially come in two forms – the pre-World of Warcraft set that had level adjustments, counted the Eastern Kingdoms as overrun by the Scourge and had Nighthaven as the main city for Night elves, and the post-World of Warcraft set that’s based on a newer release of D&D/d20 and is more in line with the world as we know. (most of the new books are also written from the perspective of Brann Bronzebeard, which is an amusing plus)

    Shadows and Light, the premier “lore character reference” sourcebook is from the earlier release set, for reference.

    Of course, this is complicated by the fact that I’m pretty sure Metzen refered to something in either a novel or one of the sourcebooks and said something to the effect of “Now while I’m sure this might upset a few people, I don’t necessarily consider [thing] canon..” – I don’t remember what it actually was about though.

    For the record, I’ve obtained most of the sourcebooks I have from the Amazon UK branch.

    Also, I was wondering when someone’d pick up on that we see her legs when she stands like that. xD

  44. March 16, 2009 at 15:24

    == IRL ==

    well,..
    i`m building a bit of a (comic)page myself.
    but my idea`s so far are limited by what i know from playing warcraft 3 + expantion, WOW, wow-website(s) and my imagenation.

    So i was thining about reading up a little,..
    but some of the things i read here and there (mostly other pages that quote from the game or from sourcebooks or novels) seem to contradict each other.
    So what book would you recomend ?

    And ofcourse i noticed the nice lady priest’s legs,..
    come on,.. a dwarven hunter here,.. i don’t miss much,… especially that what is on eyesight high :P

    But i something are beter left unsaid (not wanting to be kicked in the face for beeing a pervert :P)
    and also (been there, seen that ;) )

  45. 48 Elveswarrior
    March 16, 2009 at 15:24

    average 2 meters tall.. what do they feed those kids? o.O

  46. 49 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 15:44

    They do contradict eachother in places, unfortunately, and some things we simply lack explaination with, or is simply outdated. By large, the game should override everything, with the novels, the comic and newer sourcebooks filling gaps, and the old sourcebooks backing those up. That said, that’s not always the simplest (and most elegant) solution.

    By large, I try to absorb as much information as I can (wowwiki is also a good place to look around) and then sift through it depending on what seems the most sensical and/or works best with my narrative.

    For example, take Hani Foonmall – according to the background information I have for her (largely jotted down or in my head) she grew up in Nighthaven, prior to it becoming a druid city. There’s no actual source saying it was a night elven city before it became a druid haven, but the old pre-WoW sourcebook penned it as the equivalent of what Darnassus is now, so I just put two and two together and figured it made sense. If the source material ends up disputing it later, then I’ll either have to just run with my own setting as-is or ret-con it, but by large that’s the kind of decisions you may have to make in the long run.

    The Warcraft franchise is so spread out by now though that the most you can do is try to gather as much information you can that’s relevant to what you’re doing and then work with that.

  47. March 16, 2009 at 16:15

    Thanks for the info,..
    I already use WOW-wiki a lot.
    But even it states that different sources contradict each other.
    I`ll try to follow your example on how to use info from different sources and then just stick with what i`ve choosen, even if another source might contredict it,…

    I`m sorry i`m making you type so much today.
    i dont think i`ve even seen you commen so many times under one single commic page.

    i also apologize for making stupid mistakes,…
    Besides making stupid mistakes in my spelling and grammar,.. (who i pick up on right after posting my message,…(i should read my posts better befor i submit them))
    I also made the mistake in my last comment of calling Te’len a priest,…
    even thou i am fully aware that Te’len Nila is a young druidess ;)

  48. 51 Nandos
    March 16, 2009 at 16:16

    Wow! 0.0

    when i saw that pic i punched in the air and went KABOOM!!! this made my day XD

  49. 52 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 16:42

    I have a tendency to babble, so I generally save my commenting for things I feel need to be remarked on, addressed or otherwise responded to; lest I start ranting on and on about characters and character arcs and whatever else!

  50. March 16, 2009 at 16:54

    LOL,..
    i don’t mind babbling :P
    i`m always intrested in more information about your characters and the character arcs
    right now especially info about the younger years of Hani and Rei.
    But i guess i just have to wait untill more of that is revealed in your comic, or in the wallpaper posts.

  51. 54 Weertangel
    March 16, 2009 at 17:34

    Angus, about updated wow lore, the most resent books to get are the afore mentioned Lands of Mystery and Dark Factions,the Sunwell trilogy manga comic and The war of the Ancients novels also give some good info. but keep in mind that all current info is pre-Wotlk, so as Nhani said, most info u can get ingame at best.

    Oh, and don’t forget to check out the Monster guide(not the monster manual) for some wicked info about the big villains ingame ;)

  52. 55 Moltrazahn
    March 16, 2009 at 19:35

    2 things.

    1: I think this page has broken the “comments” record, from BtT sofar, so w00t! now you know what to build your next spinnoff on Nhani.. SAW! WOW… with Staghelm!… or maby just jackass with him falling down stairs alot, ill leave that to you!

    2: Yes… The legs are hawt, but we dont say that in puplic too much you see! causs then we agree that we find your mains darn appealing! and if i did that, my girlfreind would most likely make a saw movie with me in it… *peers* So.. uhm.. Well animated legs! good job!

  53. 56 Syndar the Grey
    March 16, 2009 at 19:40

    The shocked expression on Bearwalker is priceless… I don’t know if it’s the moustache or the face itself that’s fantastic!

    Anyway, another great page: I’m always checking your site for this great comic, since it has one of the best (if not the very best) quality I’ve ever seen in a webcomic.

    Both the faces, the clothing, the setting, everything in this comic is so relaxed and smoot that it’s more than a comic for me.

    Oh, and the lumbering shadow of Hani, right over Fandral is just too creepy.

    Oh, BTW, first post^^

  54. 57 Yerdiss
    March 16, 2009 at 19:46

    You should just make a wallpaper, “The legs of BtT”. Or maybe a feature calendar.

    Actually, a feature calendar would be a rather nifty something, provided is has more body than just legs. (Oh har, I made a pun).

  55. 58 Derrael
    March 16, 2009 at 19:53

    whoa, I tought I was tall (200cm IRL) but nelf chicks tower over me easily =o

    and it’s true, the legs are HAWT

    c’mon guys, keep commenting! let’s see if we can break a hundred :D

  56. 59 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 20:01

    By quite a bit too, actually – I checked through the history of comments per page for this particular reply, and, well.. For the last 15 or so updates, the off hand average comments per page number is maybe around 10. Prior to that, the average might be around 4 or so, with the odd spike, and the highest comment count on a page prior is 26.

    This will make the 58’th comment, so somehow it’s been doubled, and we still have a few days left ’til thursday.. I have to say I’m still amazed, since I didn’t at all expect anywhere near this kind of response to it! I seem to have vastly underestimated public desire to see Fandral Staghelm placated! I certainly didn’t expect people to stand and cheer!

    hum. A Calendar would be an interesting idea, though I’d have to find the time to invent twelve (or thirteen, if there’s a front) pictures, and people’d have to print them on their own, or whatnot. It’d be something to have in the back of my head, I’d imagine. If I get around to it. I can picture a few simple motifs fairly easilly, but still.

    Oh and the lumbering, ominous shadow is actually an accident *cough*. The whole scene was lit by a few strategically placed Omnilights with Shadow on them, which is why the lighting environment is.. well.. weird, to say the least. I think that particular shadow is from the central “roof light”, seeing the angle, though it might be any of the various ones around the structure too. As much as I’d like to take credit.. I’ll admit I haven’t even thought of that shadow until it was mentioned.. xD

  57. March 16, 2009 at 20:11

    This I think is going to be the comic that introduces a lot of new people to you as I know I’ve already sent links of the 3 last comics (including this one) so they can get the joke :)

    We need a Digg button or something on this comic as I’m sure there are a lot of WoW players yet who would love to see something like this that don’t know about it yet.

  58. 61 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 20:16

    Well I’m going to admit I actually don’t know how Digg and stuff works.. *cough* I know I looked into something about it early on, but it seemed like a whole lot of manual work for a single update, but I actually can’t recall now. I might look into it if I find the time, though if anyone has a simple explaination/solution as to what’s involved, that’d be appreciated ;)

  59. 62 Xandar
    March 16, 2009 at 20:26

    ……..

    *Shifts his eyes while standing over Fandral*

    *Puts up middle finger*

    F*** you, Staghelm.

    *Quickly runs away.*

    ——————

    GREAT GREAT GREAT climax, Nhani! I could have expected the punch, but I didn’t think it was going to be this epic! You just made every antagonized Night Elf’s dream come true.

  60. 63 Gwaith
    March 16, 2009 at 20:41

    Woho! *whipes tears of eyes and blows nose into napkin* Ah, I always wanted to do that so much.. I even rerolled horde for it but I have yet to be able to place my fist in his face… Some day… Some day..
    I´d really loved to see her use the left fist for a followup though to hit him in the solar plexus to derive him of his air and perhaps knock him unconscious to then walk out of the room *nods and imagenes the schene*

    Lovely work made me cheer loudly reading it *smiles*

  61. 64 Nhani
    March 16, 2009 at 22:36

    Right, scratch this comment and re-do it.

    So.. apparently there’s this handy page called AddThis that lets you add some handy button that links to Digg an whatever else. But, the default function for it requires javascript, which WordPress.com doesn’t permit, so that there’s a simple version that simply links ahead. So, I snuck the code for taht into the big navigational button called Share. I was given the feedback that it’s a tad large, and in retrospect I think that’s a fair point – I might edit it later, or change my mind entirely.

    It largely depends on how it’ll work, I imagine. I also put a similar button up on the sidebar, since there was a handy tool to help do that. I actually have no idea which one is the most appropriate to use.. and whether I should just stick with a single one. The sidebar one appeals to me the most, really, but.. well.

    I have no idea? I’m actually feeling incredibly self-concious about this whole thing, so I’d sooner err on the side of caution, I’d think.

    Okay, edit again: I killed the big navigational button since I took offense at its massive posture, and I also noted that linking to a comic on a per-page basis seems a tad odd. There’s a simple AddThis button up in the quick navigation area. I’ll keep it like that for now and quietly forget about it ever existing. If wordpress.com gave me these kinds of links automatically atleast I could pretend it was an automatic feature and not really think about it. xD

    It’s official, I should never be involved in trying to publish things. I’m horrible at it.

  62. 65 Beoren-Doomhammer
    March 16, 2009 at 23:42

    Thank you so much, I read every comic but only commented once before but this page needs all the congratulations it can get.

    P.S I am 6’7 irl so I’m thinking that it is quite right my char is a NE, plus he’s a Druid so I’ve wanted to do the same since lvl 10

  63. March 17, 2009 at 13:08

    ok.This i think is the most responses ever in this comic :) I play always with a NE druid.I wanted her to kick him in the balls too but still. K.O.

  64. 67 Weertangel
    March 17, 2009 at 19:55

    wow, so many comments in so short a time!! but then again, u did let a wow dream come true for almost everyone in wow,(reminds me, i need to share this epic moment with my friends)

    For the rest, i have only one plea(goes on knees in front of keyboard) Don’t make hani suffer for what she did! he deserved it all!!

  65. 68 Derrael
    March 17, 2009 at 20:15

    hey, i hate Staghelm as much as the next guy but I still don’t see any way for hani to make it out from Darnassus alive right now. unless deus ex Tyrande pulls a divine intervention.

  66. March 17, 2009 at 20:41

    i agree with Derrael in so far, thst one way of Hani not getting her ass kicked by an extreemly annoyed arch druid would be to let Tyrande enter the stage,…
    (even though i don’t think it’s the only way)
    without even scolding the arch druid, Tyrande would still be able to make him feel he didn’t use his best judgement in the matter (and that is putting it nicely,.. i don’t think he would want Tyrande to find out exactly what he was saying)

    The downside of involving Tyrande would be that the second they are out of the arch druids sight and hearing range, she would likely utter some words of disappointment towards Hani, maybe even a little more then that,…

    Even if Tyrande knows fully about the words chosen by the arch druid (not just now, but about every other minute of every day),.. i still think she would disaprove Hani`s show of violents,..

    and i think that words of disappointment from Tyrande, would hurt poor Hani a lot more then anything the arch druid can do to her,…
    physical wounds heal (especially with the help of priests, druids, palladins or shamans),.. but wounds of the hearts linger a lifetime,…

  67. 70 Nhani
    March 17, 2009 at 20:46

    While I’m sure this’ll be a controversial statement, his ingame Raid Boss status nonwithstanding, I don’t necessarily consider Staghelm much of a melee combatant. He could likely pick a fight, sure, but he always struck me far more as the modern type of leader – someone who remains in a command point behind the frontlines rather than amidst it and leads through strategy and cunning rather than presence and bravado.

    With that in mind, I’d say the graver danger is actually from his followers.

  68. 71 Elveswarrior
    March 17, 2009 at 20:51

    you saying next comic will be with a handful of very cranky bear druids aiding the arch druid? ;P

  69. March 17, 2009 at 21:17

    Hey Nhani,..
    ofcourse i see your point,..
    But,.. (yes, there is a but,..) i dont exactly see a lot of druids standing around that will rush to his aid,..
    and i dont think that teacher Bearwalker would atack Hani,.. maybe “carefully” force her out the door,.. but not much more then that,..
    and Te’len,… sweet girl as she is,.. i dont think she would even consider going up agains Hani,.. even if the arch druid would command it,.. (still expecting her to faint any moment :P)

    Even if Staghelm isn`t much of a melee combatant, i think his first instinct in this situation would be to lash out personaly,…
    and who said anything of a melee atack,..
    i dont know much about druids,.. but last time i checked they have several “magical” atacks that he could use,..
    like an energy blast with a casting time close to zero that will send Hani flying,..
    and entangling Hani in roots or something (yes i know that doesnt work inside a building in game,.. but i think if anyone can find a way around that, he would,… ) sorry that i dont know the exact names of the atacks,.. but i`m sure you know what i mean,..

    but ofcourse,.. it`s your comic, so you certainly know a lot better what is going to happen next ;)

  70. 73 Nhani
    March 17, 2009 at 21:33

    As good as game mechanics are to abstract things into something playable, I don’t think they really make much sense in a direct narrative. While I know quite well that Richard A. Knaak isn’t really.. well.. the most popular WoW novel author amongst the community (I’ve made a few less than positive statements about him myself from time to time), alot of my ideas on how I’d prefer to handle non-shifting druids generally come from his portrayal of Malfurion and his abilities in the War of the Ancients triology.

    But yes. The current incarnation of our little stop in Darnassus was planned out back in early January already. To quote a particular spectre in a particular instance, All According to Plan..

  71. March 17, 2009 at 22:00

    LOL,.. (i`ll make a point of getting those books in the nearby future)
    it wouldnt suprise me if you already had the next page ready :P

    i can’t wait to see it,..
    to bad it`s still tuesday,.. :(

    and as far as some “very cranky bear druids aiding the arch druid” go,..
    any druid storming in from either a higher or lower floor going into any animal form and atacking Hani,..
    Unless they are up to the same lvl as the arch druid, i personaly don’t see them taking down Hani any time soon,..

    But then again,.. what do i know,..
    it could just be my unwillingness toward seeing Hani beeing beaten by anyone clouding my judgment,..

    i cant wait to see the update on thursday,…

  72. 75 Nhani
    March 17, 2009 at 22:08

    I actually have #94, #95 and #96 done already (plus #100, but not the ones between) and also have scripts and pane layouts in place up to #101. ;)

    Yes, this means I’ve actually (for now) defeated my last-moment mentality, largely because the time I normally use to do last minute comic assembly I’m actually spending doing last minute work on other things, so there’s little choice.

    (plus, this whole mini arc amuses me)

  73. March 17, 2009 at 22:22

    ahhhh,…
    so no reason for not posting updates on time :P
    so no more filler pages of (a less the fully dressed) Hani staring at the sun rise,…

    more time for making that calender a reality ;)

    By the way,..
    in the wallpaper you made of Hani and Rei in stranglethorn,…
    what are they wearing ??? their casual-friday clothes ??
    and will we see more of them in those outfits?
    please say yes (A)
    i would like to have a better vieuw of what Rei is wearing there,…
    cant realy see it that well due to the way she is sitting and her beeing,.. well,.. tiny,..
    And Hani just looks great in that outfit,..
    *trys to whipe the huge goofy grin off his face befor anyone notices*

  74. March 17, 2009 at 22:52

    one more thing,..
    of a compleetly different matter,..

    would you mind if i put up a link to your page on my own website ?

    and if i do, should i add any aditional information ?

  75. 78 Nhani
    March 17, 2009 at 23:06

    Oh that’s oooooold stuff. I actually spent alot of time experimenting with various alternate looks and outfits early on – like those particular examples, the vast majority has never really been used. I even have a never-used early model of Hani Foonmall in some sort of formal gown around somewhere. Alot of it was toying around with ideas until things had largely settled. I do reuse some of it in specials and whatnot, but most of it just lies around in case situation ever arises.

    As for linking, go right ahead. Considering I was even suggested to (and did) put up some kind of share link for Digg and soforth, it would be somewhere between contradictive and downright silly to with force exclaim “no!” and throw a hissy fit.

  76. 79 Derrael
    March 17, 2009 at 23:07

    the root attack doesn’t work inside buildings yes, but this particular building happens to be a giant tree, i’m sure he’ll find a way :)

  77. March 17, 2009 at 23:18

    Hmm,..
    i would love to see more of that “old stuff”,..
    Hani in a formal gown,… sounds intresting,..
    maybe i should try inviting her to the next guild-dance ;)
    even though she isnt in my guild,.. she would be a more then welcome guest

    i didn’t realy think you would say no,..
    but still, i prefer asking first, seems like the right and polite thing to do,.. :P
    is there anything you would like me to add by the link in the form of a discriptiion or something like that???

  78. 81 Nhani
    March 17, 2009 at 23:56

    Just go ahead whatever you want, basically. Some grab the description from Wowwiki, some from the about page, some even made their own banners.

    Oh and according to the statistics WordPress.com throws at me, we just broke the old busiest day record at 9.6k views. It seems like this particular page will leave a lasting mark in quite a few ways!

  79. March 17, 2009 at 23:58

    something elce comes to mind,..
    in the form of a suggestion,..

    how about a archive like thing,..
    on other web-comics i`ve seen a drop-down menu that alows you to look up a older comic post,..

    maybe the dropdown idea isnt always the best way to go, but some sort of archive navigation could be usefull.

  80. March 18, 2009 at 00:02

    ok,..
    i`ll fit it in with my next update of my site,..

    9.6k views ?? thats a BIG number :D

    and with this beeing post 82,..
    i wonder if we`ll make a 100 befor you post your next page ;)

  81. 84 Onisprite
    March 18, 2009 at 00:15

    I have to say this is certianly one of the better comics I have ever seen for wow, and the graphics are amazing as well. I hope to see some Horde in here soon.

  82. 85 Nhani
    March 18, 2009 at 00:15

    To be fair, I think the comment number probably means less the higher a percentage of the responses are mine, heh.

    As for archive, it’s been suggested before. Ultimately, the theme I use doesn’t have a template for making archive pages automatically, so it’s something I’d have to make manually on my own. I’ve been considering it for completed chapters, including a mini-synopsis for each page in those cases so it’s easier to find a specific one. That said, it’s a time-consuming effort, hence why it hasn’t happened yet.

  83. March 18, 2009 at 00:25

    lol,..
    yeah,..
    unless i miss counted, you put up 15 comments yourself at this time,..
    and this would be my 15th for this page,..
    but still that leaeves 55 messages from other people, and thats still far more then the average for the other pages.

    As for archive,…
    take your time, better do it right the first time around, then having to redo it several times due to buggs,..
    but i dont think i have to tell you that ;)

    for now, this dwarf is gonna find a bed to crash on,..
    i have a early and long day tomorrow, or rather in 4 hours, so i realy should get some sleep,..
    (it beeing 0:25 over here as i post this,…)

  84. 87 Moltrazahn
    March 18, 2009 at 07:41

    Amen to that Angus :P

  85. 88 Yerdiss
    March 18, 2009 at 09:49

    Beat a record? That must’ve placed a huge grin on your face! Grats :)

  86. 89 Weertangel
    March 18, 2009 at 21:32

    well, i must say, its been very interesting to read through it all, and btw about Richard.A Knaak, he’s a very well known writer!! maybe not for wow, but for diablo he has written some very great ones!! Angus, get The kingdom of shadow and the sequal Called Moon of the spider from him, as well as the Sin war Trilogy(2 books of it are out) all are books based in the Diablo universe, so enjoy!! :)

    For the rest, i can’t wait till the next page comes out!!! go hani!!

    PS would LOVE to see hani in a nice dress somewhere in the future,just to see how she would react =)

  87. 90 Moltrazahn
    March 18, 2009 at 23:58

    Id guess very “out of place” :P and shed most likely have several forks hidden in the sleave of something. I dont know, would be fun to see her to a stormwind ball or something *grins* or to see her failing at danceing… okay wait ill stop now, getting too imaginary for my part :P lets see her get out of this pickle before we imagine her in another eh? ;P

  88. March 19, 2009 at 01:00

    @ Weertangel:
    I`ll look into that,.. but i`ve never seen any diablo related books around,.
    i guess i have to order then over the net :S

    @ Weertangel & Moltrazahn :
    i guess i`m not the only one that would like to see Hani in a nice dress at a dance of some sort,..
    even if it`s just to see how she handles her self in a situation like that instead of in a battle,..

    btw,.. do you think there are formal dresses in Rei`s size? *wonders*
    and who would she dance with?

  89. 92 Person6
    March 19, 2009 at 01:16

    I think Tiny should get some arse-kicking oppotunities, purely for a laugh at a mini-fight.

  90. 93 Nhani
    March 19, 2009 at 01:24

    Well I’ll quietly admit that one of the ideas I unfortunately ended up having to cut as the story reshuffled a good half a year ago was a scene of Tiny wrestling a Deeprun Tram Rat.

    The idea amuses me, so I’m kindof hoping I’ll find an opportunity where I might reintroduce a variation on the idea without it seeming out of place.

  91. March 19, 2009 at 11:28

    in general :
    We didnt get to the 100 replys befor the next comic,… :(
    a well,.. maybe some other tine ;)
    i guess 93 isn`t a bad score
    (especially if you consider that it`s about 9 times as much as normal)

    A little more about the dresses:
    Someone has send me an email asking if i was crazy, as he thought that my only reason to put Hani in a dress at a dance would be to see how she would handle it,..
    WRONG,.. duh,..
    Putting her in a dress would be to see how good she would look in one,..
    putting her in a dance would be to see how she would handle herself,.. :P

    As for the mini fight:
    In the purple corner, standing at about 52 cm tall Rei “TE” Tiny,…..
    and in the Black corner, standing at 30 cm tall (on it`s hind leggs) Grey the Rat,..

    BRING IT ON :P

  92. June 16, 2009 at 20:51

    Goodie, I hate Staghelm. So much I pondered if it would be worth rolling a tauren, leveling them to 80, and trying to get a raid going against him…
    Gotta admit, it’d be EPIC.

    THANK YOU FOR PUNCHING HIM,.

  93. 96 handgunman
    June 19, 2009 at 10:58

    yess…

    theres talking smack about someone who happens to be friends with hani and tiny, which is allowed because he has a high station of power.

    then theres outright Insulting someone that hani+tiny actually care about…

    that gets you punched in the face

  94. June 26, 2009 at 00:43

    From the moment I saw Hani’s angry squint in the last panel of #92, I just knew Staghelm had that coming.

    What the dream sequences have established for me is that Hani is VERY devoted to Tyrande. It just explains so much about Hani. Certainly it explains her actions here.

    I may have a bit of perspective advantage over some, as I just found your webcomic today. Needless to say, I am absolutely delighted by it.

    Nhani, we didn’t want to see Staghelm placated (calmed down, appeased); we wanted to see him PASTED.

  95. 98 Avaric
    September 14, 2009 at 06:57

    The shocked looks on the faces of the two in the background are priceless.

  96. 99 Talin Silverbane
    September 14, 2009 at 11:44

    …Now if only we could punch him more in the game. >_>

  97. October 8, 2009 at 01:05

    I looked far more closely at Te’len this time around. She is SO pleading with her eyes at Hani in Panel 2, and Hani is SO not seeing it, being entirely focused on Fandral.

    “Poor impulse control” is one of the issues that Hani must address on her Hero’s Journey, without a doubt.

    And I want to express my admiration for panel 3. It is the finest bit of action thus far in the comic.

  98. 101 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    October 13, 2009 at 15:54

    Just for completion’s sake (and to make the 100th official posting here – says 102 after me posting but that also includes the two pingbacks) I’m adding this post in to say the following:

    THIS! IS! EPIC!!!

    Definitely one of the most memorable acts Hani will make in this entire comic, I think, and it defenitely has the Night Elf fans craving for more even long after its published date! Admittedly I’m talking as a Tauren, but I’ve also enjoyed playing Night Elves (had a hunter before on Kul Tiras before going on a mass deletion spree due to some…unsavoury Alliance players) and I was definitely among those who wanted to smack him something stupid. So glad SOMEONE got the chance to do it!

    I actually think that, in the game, there’s NOBODY who would defend the Arch Druid if someone was going to attack him – they’d be rushing to the defence of Tyrande and for very good reasons – so I’ll be more than happy to prove my point sometime and convince some of my friends to gather a raid group and storm Darnassus – the sole intention being to hand the dude his backside. WoW style. Then have everyone simply Hearthstone out having desecrated the wannabe leader of Darnassus, leaving the only TRUE LEADER to maintain order in her realm.

    I so hope we get to reinstate Malfurion come Cataclysm…I really want him to come back if solely to have him hand Staghelm his horns and buttcheeks as he kicks his tail out of the Cenarion Circle – he definitely deserves it, he’s the most corrupted out of all the Circle!

    Hmm…a quest in Cataclysm for druids: Take Down the Stag! Would LOVE that quest…and I’m sure many others will.

  99. October 15, 2009 at 14:17

    MR Tauren, as you play the race i play (for now), i must agree, Fandrel is the WORST being in wow, i rather dish up a 40 man raid to kill HIM than to get black war bear

  100. 104 treant
    October 18, 2009 at 00:02

    NOOO…*snickers* ok I cant help it! that was awsome and I have done a few raids into darnassuss just to kill him!

  101. 105 Name?
    October 18, 2009 at 12:20

    Wow…
    Hani is EPIC!! I’ve always wanted to punch him in the face…. sadly though you dont get a proper reaction if you do it in game…

    Although most people agree that fandral is an ass, his past is really sad, so thats probably why.

    Even so, I salute you!! *sobs with joy*

    …Want a cookie?

  102. 106 Gryffyn
    November 16, 2009 at 01:53

    You have no idea how many times I have wanted to be able to talk the Horde when the invade Darnassus and offer them 500 gold to take his butt out. I suspect that given his typical attitude that the whole city including the sentinals would step aside and give the Horde a free pass to him.

    No I don’t think the way he is was a result of the loss of his son. He was most likely an arrogant bastard from the start, like Illidan.

  103. 107 Miss monster
    February 27, 2010 at 07:53

    Oh my god I have ALWAYS wanted to punch that bastard. I know he has reason for it, but he’s still a dick by colossal standards.

  104. 108 RandondDruid
    March 24, 2010 at 19:27

    thank you soooooo much for this, you have no idea how much i hate that bastard for mean he was to my noobish character when i first started, i cheer the horde all the time and thank them for killing him when possible. adding the page to fav and putting the pic as my wallpapper <3

  105. 109 Kimico
    August 31, 2010 at 18:51

    Well… I read. I thought. And now I say there is only one word to describe this page.

    FINALLY!

  106. 110 Jorges
    November 21, 2010 at 23:20

    Amazing!!! Truly Epic!

    Someone had to do that!!

    I now officially accept Hani as my personal Hero.

  107. 111 BrokeWarlock
    July 18, 2011 at 01:44

    And now we all have the chance to do this (well, technically… and only Warriors or people who remove their weapons can “punch” him… but still, it’s awesome).


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


