09
Apr
09

#100 – “Simpler Times”



So we go from dream (or partial dream, if you prefer) down to flashback. Now I’m well aware that it makes little sense that Hani somehow would be aware of the first half considering she didn’t actually see it, but I’m willing to push that in exchange for proper context.

I’ve been thinking about whether to do something special for page #100 or not for quite some time – most of thereof the answer has been no for largely the same reason I stopped making intermission pages halfway through chapter one – it breaks the flow of continuity. Then I remembered those two pictures I made glimpsing into the childhoods of the duo aand the subsequent response aaand.. from there on it went. Being contained within Hani’s tendency for vivid dreams, I felt I could sneak this particular page in without it seeming too out of place.

43 Responses to “#100 – “Simpler Times””


  1. 1 Muffiny
    April 9, 2009 at 02:38

    Awesomeness :3

  2. 2 Iasion
    April 9, 2009 at 03:53

    Ah, so Hani was killing giant arachnids as a wee little kid. ^_^

    When I first killed giant spiders in WoW I thought “ew gross!” By the time I got to Arathi and saw them walking alongside velociraptors I thought, “Ok Blizz, you’ve taken it a bit too far now…”

  3. 3 Teldarion
    April 9, 2009 at 07:50

    Yay for background history \o/
    Really, i wouldn’t mind more of it. Make them stumble into the trolls down in STV so they fall into some voodoo wannabe emerald dream thing or something, but i’m getting more and more curious about what exactly happened in the past.

    Nice comic as usual, nothing more to say.

  4. April 9, 2009 at 08:42

    will there be tiny story next or it will be ib the future

  5. 5 Illidan
    April 9, 2009 at 08:48

    I’m little confused, actually. Did this happen before the Second Invasion(NE were stil immortal) or after it?

  6. 6 Nhani
    April 9, 2009 at 09:01

    Tinys’ backstory is very much tied in with Te’len, so there’s always slips there, that way. With Te’len travelling with them, there’s plenty of space to tell things between them.

    As for the when.. Hani is still young, but not so much so that she could’ve grown up in the space of the last five or six years ;). Seeing the rough time it takes for Night elves to come of age, this would’ve happened at least fifty years ago, though it’d probably have been closer to one or two centuries.

  7. 7 Yerdiss
    April 9, 2009 at 09:18

    It’s a nice touch to see Tyrande using her bow. I miss that in the game sometimes.

  8. 8 Ilyara
    April 9, 2009 at 09:45

    Omg!! I have read nothing but the first panel but *Squeeeeeeee!* @ little girl ^^

  9. 9 Messai
    April 9, 2009 at 10:32

    nice flashback, Hani was already cute as a little girl :o

    she sure has some wild advanture spirit on her, barely old enough to hold a sword and she already takes on the dangers of the world XD

    I wonder who her sister is? :o it can’t be te’len

  10. 10 ninta
    April 9, 2009 at 10:43

    o.O

    me likes this page.

    characters with history make it so much beter :)

  11. 11 WoWplayer
    April 9, 2009 at 11:32

    awsome

  12. 12 Therusai
    April 9, 2009 at 11:49

    Love the children, the face in pane 3 is just gorgeous. It’s a shame there aren’t more in the game, would be a nice touch.

    Hmm, Hani’s past…can’t wait for more!

  13. 13 Weertangel
    April 9, 2009 at 12:32

    Really a cool flashback!! did’t even know how NE children looked ingame!
    and the only other thing i can say is: WE WANT MORE!!!

    Also, this ties in perfectly with Children’s week next week, so keep em coming :)

  14. 14 Ellessar
    April 9, 2009 at 13:26

    Although it’s a good page It was pretty unclear at first that it was actually a flashback. Could have been clearer like the edges of the page shimmering or something? I dunno as I have no idea how to do it best though.

  15. 15 Moltrazahn
    April 9, 2009 at 14:10

    Weee! <3 love haveing more background on the “lil’ gnat” ;P still love your custom models of the NE kids, and gotta adore them with the expressions you have given them aswell.

    I do find that the page nr 100 still dosent feel that much… Okay it IS alot of pages, but when your thinking of the entire Beyond the tree more as “chaptors” or “sections” rather then pages, then 100 dosent seem that much. In my mind we have allready gone trough alot on a simple 100 pages, and to think how “little” we really have reached even into a main plot … well its wonderfull really :P.

    Also to have such a flashback does set a tune for future pages and toughts/Discussions to be had, causs now we got more infomation and thus can draw our conclusions more firmly rather then just to spectulate as to what “might have been” … i personally hope that we will see more flashbacks with diffrent sections of Hani’s (and Tiny later on ofc) life.

    Heck id even love if you made a spinnoff with the missadventures of Hani as a kid XD would be fun, and it would help us to get to know more about her sister, whom i for one think is a very interesting person. Since she seems very unline Hani, and really must have a patient personality to keep up with such a rugrat as her sister :P

    All in all, LOVE the page ^^ and Congratulations on Page nr 100 :) may there be many more.

  16. 16 Raukangren
    April 9, 2009 at 19:10

    Perfectly done as always.

    The only thing i can’t stand is the direction of hair. Prelast pic of High Pristess. The hair is … just got a glue or something, they do not bend to simple physics of gravity. Oh wait… May be there’s no gravity? =0

    Anyway, still track thy comics. Keep it as great as it is. :)

  17. 17 Raukangren
    April 9, 2009 at 19:12

    Oh, almost forgot.

    /cong on your 100 page! =)

    Sure thing you’ve done more than a mere 100 already, but as it yet to be seen you’ve gone so much far. You just have to give us some dwarves!!! =D

  18. 18 Ilyara
    April 10, 2009 at 01:21

    Ok I really love this page for lots of reasons, but I am going to dwell on Hani’s sister and the heart stopping adorableness of panel three.

    I hope someone saves the spider for supper.

  19. 19 Kai
    April 10, 2009 at 07:56

    Wow you did a nice job on the kids! How did you make them?

  20. 20 Xelios Morningsun
    April 10, 2009 at 08:09

    Hani’s sister is so cute it breaks my heart. :3

    Also the sentinel holding Hani’s sister’s hand in window two made me go ‘aww..’ inside. The kindness of the night elves makes me miss the times I played my night elf. =(

    As a last note: Hani’s ‘nuh-uh!” made me grin. It’s so her. ^_^

  21. April 10, 2009 at 08:25

    Comic number 100!
    Good stuff.

    ps: giving away a few wow books at my blog currently.

  22. 22 Nhani
    April 10, 2009 at 08:53

    I’m not sure if I could ‘fix’ the hair, really – it’s attached to the same bones the body is to make sure it moves when the body does – World of Warcraft does this the same way, save for pony tails. I’d need to redesign the way the hair works for it to be able to obey gravity, and right now that’s a little over my abilities. Might put it on the list of things to figure out in the future, alongside Thumbs that Work and Better Implemented Eyes.

    For the children, well.. the models are actually those of human children, but with some serious cut and paste snuck in – the ears, feet and eyebrows are all from the adult night elven female model, as is the (heavilly edited to fit) texture. The hardest part was really tweaking the face texture so they would actually look sufficiently adorable, rather than freakish and creepy (trust me, some of the work in progress images are.. well.. yeah. Let’s not dwell on them..).

    Additionally; I can’t say for sure that we’ll return to this particular time when they were that young – it largely depends on whether I can find a reason (within the continuity) for it that I feel is suitable. That said, we will see The Sister(tm) again in the very least – I have a few scattered moments in mind so far.

  23. 23 Arafor
    April 10, 2009 at 10:35

    Congratulations on page 100 ^^

    You’ve been working hard this past year. I also have to compliment you on sticking to this project for so long. It’s difficult to stick to a project more then a few months but you’ve managed an entire year so far ^^

    yay you ^^

  24. 24 Ammathiel
    April 10, 2009 at 11:28

    Hey Nhani! Congratulations at the 100th page! :D I’ve been reading this coming since the very start, and decided to make a reply at the 100th page, and here we are :D

    Freetings from a nice tree ;)

    ~Ammathiel

  25. April 11, 2009 at 06:20

    Thank you for making Kal’dorei children. Despite my love/hate relationship with World of Warcraft and its (sometimes mutilated) lore, you’ve done right. <3

  26. 26 Frostsaben
    April 11, 2009 at 19:04

    First, I want to congratulate you for number 100 of one of the best comics around!

    Second, I would like to ask something about Tyrande. Now, we know that at least in Warcraft 3 she used to walk around in plate armor on her faithful mount, and I always thought it’s strange to see her in a robe all the time, I mean, yes, nowadays she’s in the capital most of the times, but I still don’t think she’d stay in a robe that restricts movement and is also related to the situation the night elves lived in 10 000 years ago, I’d always see the High Priestess walking around into something… how could I say, a type of armor which she can use into battle but also while walking in a town. In the end, she is the High Priestess, but also has the warrior spirit. I hope you understand what I’m trying to say… so I was wondering if she’ll get a new armor too instead of that cloth robe somewhere in the future?

  27. 27 Nhani
    April 11, 2009 at 19:28

    Back when I made the Sentinel look revision that ultimately only reached Raene (except for flashbacks such as this) I was actually intending to figure out a combat outfit for Tyrande in the same go, something to use for portrayal in actual combat situations. I ultimately gave up on it, because I couldn’t make something that retained the same sense of illumination and majesty.

    While I’d like to have a combat look for her, I’m not sure if I’ll actually come up with one that I feel retains enough of the impact I think is very much a part of her. Plus, I definitely wouldn’t use it for normal or diplomatic moments – an armour is generally still a rather bulky and heavy affair and any official portrayal of her at this point generally has her in that Mooncloth dress.

    Nevermind that I think having her always in an armour might actually take away from what she is – where Hani is a warrior because she’s a warrior and as a result is usually found geared appropriately, Tyrande is a warrior as a byproduct of what she really is, which I think is an important distinction.

  28. 28 Elveswarrior
    April 11, 2009 at 22:37

    maybe tyrandes warrior side is a biproduct but shes still one hell of a warrior (more like a ranger thou) must say i do miss her tiger Ash’alah ingame. feel free to try and add him :)

  29. 29 Ilyara
    April 12, 2009 at 00:07

    Hmm, perhaps my memory is off, but doesn’t her tiger wander around near the Temple of the Moon?

    *goes to double check*

  30. 30 Ilyara
    April 12, 2009 at 10:34

    No, they are just regular ones :/

  31. 31 Weertangel
    April 12, 2009 at 11:21

    Well, go read the War of the Ancients trilogy, it really discribes the armor quite nicely, altrough its mainly chainmail, and that Tyrande knows how to use both sword and bow quite effectivly(also tells on how she met Shanris Feathermoon) still, if u want an image of priestes armor, i think your best bet is warcraft 3. so think it over :)

  32. 32 Nhani
    April 12, 2009 at 11:56

    The problem is that the triology also remarks on a full series of much less defined impressions (such as Illidan Stormrage comparing her to Elune herself) and simply being in text and thus leaving the image to your mind. Text can do that, visuals can’t. She has to make an impact, she has to all but glow with majesty and light and yet not be so overdone it looks rediculous – all without sacrificing the image of the ‘divine mother’ of sorts.

    It’s not done lightly. I have a few ideas, but none of them have really struck my mind yet as truly carrying the impression I want, and we haven’t even needed to see her as a warrior yet, and likely won’t for quite some time. Tyrande will get a model revision in due time, that much is certain – her model is antiquated by now compared to the rest of the cast. And while I’d love to give her an armoured alternative that also encompasses her warrior aspect, it can’t be at the loss of the other sides to her.

    It’s certainly something I want to do, but it’s not something I can guarantee will happen anytime soon (or at all) because of it being a significant hurdle in design, and there’s other details much higher up on my list of things I want to address with her.

  33. 33 Frostsaben
    April 12, 2009 at 21:17

    hmmm… it really does make Tyrande “shine” so to say, but I would have loved to see her in a more practical armor, yet one that still “shines”, something that will still make her stand up amongst the others.
    Still, I understand that this is a complicated thing, especially because she doesn’t appear so much in the comic…

    P.S. : I would love to see Ash’alah too.

  34. 34 Nhani
    April 12, 2009 at 22:21

    Like said, it’s something I think about, but not something I approach easilly. There’s plenty of concerns that are much more pressing ;)

    I do plan to show Tyrande in an actual combat situation eventually, but .. we’re talking something along the lines of the end of Arc Two.. and we’re maybe halfway through Arc One at most at this point.

    Mind you, I really like Tyrande – she’s one of my favourite lore characters in World of Warcraft period. That however means I try to put all the more care in how to represent the real her, both in appearance, in character and in plot ;)

  35. 35 Frostsaben
    April 14, 2009 at 04:49

    Ok,I’ll wait for Arc Two then, I don’t mind, in the end the comic is really good and has a nice story (till now at least) so I’ll probably be here then too :)

  36. 36 Gustavo
    April 21, 2009 at 00:19

    Nice work with the NE models!

  37. 37 Ishy
    April 22, 2009 at 13:56

    Inspired and brilliantly executed as always Nhan; here’s to the next 100! /salute

  38. June 27, 2009 at 04:52

    I know it’s a constant struggle for you, so I thought I’d mention that Tyrande’s thumb looks very good in the last panel.

  39. 39 Kimico
    August 31, 2010 at 18:58

    Oh wow! I’ve never seen a Night Elf child before… Amazing!And yes, good work on Tyrande’s thumb! :D

  40. 40 Sarista
    June 10, 2011 at 12:11

    I am under the impression that Hani may have gotten her sister killed at some point and either blames herself or is blamed perhaps both if it was because of her temper or impatience it might explain the dislike of her just a theory though.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


