21
Jun
09

#119 – “Thank You, Masked Man”



No commentary this time, putting this page up quickly before my fellow nubs lynch me for delaying them further. Enjoy.

Quick edit for some things I forgot. Seesh, I am so scatterbrained today..

37 Responses to “#119 – “Thank You, Masked Man””


  1. 1 Elveswarrior
    June 21, 2009 at 18:46

    hani got some strengt in her arms if see can keep a man up in 1 arm o.O

    • 2 Derrael
      June 21, 2009 at 18:52

      did you know that when Hani does a pushup, she isn’t lifting herself up, she’s pushing the Earth down.

    • 3 Elveswarrior
      June 21, 2009 at 18:54

      and that was the most crappy typed sentence i made on this “forum” ever… lets hope it doesnt repeat

  2. 4 Elveswarrior
    June 21, 2009 at 19:01

    hani vs chuck norris maybe? i smell epic fight

  3. 5 Ilyara
    June 21, 2009 at 19:29

    I think she’s strong, far larger and she has friction on her side.

    What I mainly take away from this though is; wow, can Gnomes look evil or what? She adorable in the first and last panels, but the lighting in second to last makes her look like the most scary living doll you could imagine ^^ ‘

    • 6 Nhani
      June 21, 2009 at 22:29

      Not to mention those are pretty rough walls. I might be getting my friction and logic messed up here mind you, but divert the force right and I think she could almost be fine with just leaning against him, with his motion not really being downward so much as outward.

    • 7 Ellessar
      June 23, 2009 at 15:43

      sorry but the gnome still ain’t looking nearly aschuckie in my opinion Ilyara :) although coming rather close true.

      • 8 Ellessar
        June 23, 2009 at 15:45

        Wow…
        <— needs typing lessons…

        What I said was that the gnome was not yet as scray as chuckie. :P

  4. 9 Rtt
    June 21, 2009 at 21:45

    Why doesn’t anyone dual-wield in this comic? :<

    • 10 Nhani
      June 21, 2009 at 22:23

      For our cast, the reasons are largely conceptual, with a bit of practicality thrown into it. Areen has a shield as part of her overall theme and impression, while Hani tends to make good use of having one hand free. A second weapon isn’t always necessarily better, and neither of the two really strike out to me as people who’d prefer dual-wielding to their present state.

      If we had a token rogue with twin daggers then there’d be one, but so far there’s no plans in that direction. If we run across an enemy that is typically known to be a dual-wielder, then there would be that case, but at present there’s no plans towards having a dual-wielder in the actual travelling group.

  5. 11 Raz
    June 21, 2009 at 21:51

    Aww.

    So cute.

    I want to see more of Ameen speaking and fighting!

    NOWW! /dribble.

  6. 12 WoWplayer
    June 21, 2009 at 22:18

    we see the gnome now

  7. 13 Xsear
    June 22, 2009 at 00:18

    Love how the Gnome gets all though while hitchin on Hani’s save xD

  8. 14 Derrael
    June 22, 2009 at 06:59

    it IS interesting how Hani can support the weight of a grown man with those sticks she calls arms

  9. 16 Person6
    June 22, 2009 at 11:01

    I <3 Nhani

  10. 17 Hernos
    June 22, 2009 at 16:32

    Hehe When ever I see an angry gnome, I cant help but laugh even more at them, they are so small and cute! Hani is the female version of Chuck Norris! She eats ore and poops out solid metal!

    • 18 Derrael
      June 22, 2009 at 19:16

      well, they do have some similiarities, both don’t shower, they only take blood baths, and both only have two mindsets: Walk and Kill.

      • 19 Yerdiss
        June 22, 2009 at 20:05

        Why, Derrael! I’m glad to see you are enjoying this comic enough to not only keep reading it, but to keep commenting too. I’m sure that the seemingly negative tendency of your comments are but Freudian and do not cover your feelings on the comic itself.

  11. June 22, 2009 at 17:13

    Awww…the gnome didn’t die :O

    XD Just kidding, this is EPIC!

  12. 21 saila aka wester
    June 22, 2009 at 22:39

    i wounder how long time that dose pass in the last picture well hani can whit out trouble but/pus him against the wall for an few seconds before gravity starts to get to large and he fall down against the wall but thats only for an half second before it occur after been thrown against a wall.

  13. 22 iPotato
    June 22, 2009 at 23:25

    I’ve been lurking for a while now, and I have to say this is a great comic.
    Also, death to gnomes! Heh, me hatey, but don’t mind me. I just hate those gnomes so damn much…/rant

  14. 23 Thatguy
    June 22, 2009 at 23:26

    I like what the male rogue says in the first panel, typical aggroed defias.

  15. June 23, 2009 at 08:21

    I’m digging this series, keep it up!

  16. 25 Weertangel
    June 23, 2009 at 22:16

    i must really say that Areen really looks good! such serious stare in her eyes! really would love it if the in-game ones could look like that, would keep those damn undead rogues away big time!!

    btw, she does’t look like a warrior, more like a paladin,with the lion-shield and all. would be cool to have a gnome paladin in the group! oh the agony it would bring Tiny!!(she barely survived Delgren’s attitude)

    can’t wait to see how it goes on!

  17. 26 Weertangel
    June 23, 2009 at 22:17

    my foult, fist embelmed shield. sorry.

  18. June 23, 2009 at 22:19

    I’ve never seen such a tough-looking gnome, she really shows off some courage. Really well done! (Her face is awsome!)

  19. 28 Elveswarrior
    June 24, 2009 at 16:51

    nhani is doing what blizz fucked up from WC3 ==> WoW. making night elfs more “feral” again and not some teenaging appealing hotteness figures. a nelf with some solid arms and leg mucles and acutly broad shoulders.

    the current hani looks quite like the WoW nelf when it comes to figure but the under construction hani is defo better! :D

    ps. with her current “stick” arms i doubt she’d be able to hold a fully grown human in 1 arm even with the support of the wall :)

    • 29 Nhani
      June 24, 2009 at 17:07

      Actually on the topic of stick arms – while I admit it’s an issue I’m hoping to fix, I think people grossly underestimate both how durable limbs are and the overall distribution of mass.

      No one seems to have had any issue with Hani lifting her own weight without problem, for example. My point? According to sourcebooks, Hani out-weighs the average fully grown human male by around 50 percent.

  20. 30 Ragefury
    June 25, 2009 at 02:15

    Sounds awfully lot like me – while I truly do have stick arms, I am capable of lifting my own body weight without any problems (19 y.o. and weight roughly 55 kg) – that makes me capable of lifting a kid with roughly half my body weight with one arm – believe me, I’ve tried ;)

    So what Nhani says do have a point, in terms of physical endurance.

    • 31 Nhani
      June 25, 2009 at 05:08

      In this case, the person she’s holding up (against a wall that I’d expect to have quite a bit of friction, no less) is more like two thirds her weight, rather than half, but that’s pretty much it, yes.

      I actually did the maths (based on the sourcebooks) for this, and presuming our adult male is around 6 feet but otherwise very average, he’d weigh around 86 kilograms, compared to Hani who with her significant mass and impressive height is somewhere closer to 135 kilograms. As comparisson, the very average Te’len would weigh only about a hundred.

  21. 32 Raukangren
    June 29, 2009 at 06:39

    In case with such masses, perhaps it is ok with you to give Te’len some kind of internal type of martial art? Bagua for example, aikido may be? :)

  22. July 26, 2013 at 17:36

    Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information
    you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

  23. August 21, 2014 at 02:00

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your weblog.
    You have some really great articles and I feel I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some
    material for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail
    if interested. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


