20
Aug
09

#136 – “The Whole Hog”



In a little bit of a hurry, so not really much of commentary for this page, I’m afraid. Have some things that must be attended to with urgent haste.

40 Responses to “#136 – “The Whole Hog””


  1. 1 Surchan
    August 20, 2009 at 17:50

    Hani vs. Hogger….phft, should be funny ;P

  2. August 20, 2009 at 18:24

    HAHA NIce! Hogger is her long lost pet! Would explain allot about is lack of a sence of Humour… I tried to /joke with him and he tried to gnaw on my bones in return.

  3. 5 Ragefury
    August 20, 2009 at 18:27

    You really must’ve been in a hurry if you completely missed to put the letter “v” in some of the words on pane 3 and 5 instead of “w”, but who wouldn’t, eh? ;P

    The 3 last panes almost got me thought – I thought Tiny would come with an all awesome commentary when she turns to Te’len and then just change her mind. xD

    Hani vs Hogger! Not gonna last for long as Hani will just go slice and dice and make Hogger Stew out of him. ;D

    • 6 Nhani
      August 20, 2009 at 18:39

      Actually, I write all her dialogue out as normal text in my script and then have someone I bug to rewrite the lines into dialect for me, and those are the lines I got back from her, letter for letter. She tells me it’s accurate – the W to V swap happens on W sounds, not W letters. Or some such.

      (There’s a reason why I have her do it for me)

      • 7 Udûn-Khadgar
        August 20, 2009 at 19:39

        quote: ‘the W to V swap happens on W sounds, not W letters’
        You could leave the or some such away, since it’s a perfect description how this dialect works, if I read it like this. ‘Now’ and ‘Prowling’just makes no sence if it would have been ‘Nov’ and ‘Provling’. Other possible description is: only W’s at the begin of a syllable are changed, so since prow-ling makes it a W at the end of the syllable, it just isn’t applyable. Hope this is not all gibberish to you all…

  4. 8 arzevel
    August 20, 2009 at 20:13

    the expressions on areen and te’s face in the last frame, priceless :D, and i know its not my place as a fan but, lets see if we as fans can move the comic up a few rankes in TWC, it deserves better than where it is :)

  5. 9 Skyll
    August 20, 2009 at 20:43

    Classic.

    And I’d want to point out, that since the storyline seems to be relative and not levelscaling as the actual game wherein Hogger appears, Hogger is relatively as dangerous as, say, Nefarian, the way I see it. So, Hani might probably beat him, but if Nhani is true to her interpretation of the WoW Universe, he ought to at least put up a good fight.

    And it’s nice that you pull out some high culture :)
    What would WoW be without Hogger, really..
    Is he a long lost friend of Rei’s? :)

    • 10 Germ
      August 21, 2009 at 03:43

      Much more of a challenge than that Hydra. I ran the numbers and Hogger is by far the deadliest warrior.

      The only other NPC more likely to kill an Ally is Saurfang, back when he was in Org.

  6. 11 WoWplayer
    August 20, 2009 at 22:17

    hogger… I called him short as a human and he bit my arm off. he MUST be tiny’s pet.

  7. 12 pervert
    August 20, 2009 at 22:17

    man they are gettin sexy

  8. 14 Alverian
    August 20, 2009 at 23:44

    Why do I have a feeling that Rei Tiny has seen or had some dealings with Hogger before?

  9. 16 saila aka wester
    August 21, 2009 at 07:50

    only me or have tiny swift cloth.
    and now the big question hogger is in now will Leroy be in or mention and or captain placeholder.
    on captain placeholder i do have an small story on why hes so famous.
    and the same on Leroy okey what Leroy did is not to be prod of but still.
    ps did you move the chairs i cant remember them been there.

  10. 17 Synchronizor
    August 21, 2009 at 08:08

    I’ve got to wonder, is Areen sitting down, or standing? I imagine that if she were sitting, she would be nose-level to the table or lower. Mabye she’s sitting on a large book…

    Also, great work with Te’len and Areen’s expressions in the last two panels.

    • 18 Nhani
      August 21, 2009 at 09:13

      She’s standing up – she’d need quite a few books stacked to sit down and still reach the table properly. Another of those situations where it’s really noticeable how much smaller she is.

  11. 19 weertangel
    August 21, 2009 at 09:18

    HOGGER! at last Tiny’s long lost arch-enemy has appeared!!! their battle will shake the very foundations of Azeroth!!!!

    can’t wait to see how this goes ;)

  12. 20 Timpieh
    August 21, 2009 at 10:06

    You missed a ‘sh’ in panel number 3.: ‘almosht aS bad ash…’. Also: Hogger! Looks like the group will have their hands full: saving the mining party from the Defias bandits, killing some scarecrows, Hogger, …

    • 21 Nhani
      August 21, 2009 at 17:03

      I didn’t miss it actually – I just chose not to have a slur on that one s because the sentence was really heavy on s:es and having a slur on each and every one clashed with my innate sense of aesthetics somewhere.

      Breaking it up and showing that he actually can speak without stumbling over his tongue on every syllable felt appropriate!

  13. 22 Archon
    August 21, 2009 at 13:47

    Forget VanCleef, the real challenge is just around the corner!
    Poor little Night Elf, you dont stand a chance against Hogger’s might.

  14. 23 Bluf
    August 21, 2009 at 14:02

    Congratulations you did it again..
    the Hogger joke with the name being terrible just made me laugh my bum off here once more :P
    Xd and i love how you made tiny appear in this one, the whole standing on the table. Almost as goood as the shoulder sleeping,, Soooo Adorible and cute one could just cuddle her up and keep her in a pocket all day long :P

  15. 24 Ragefury
    August 22, 2009 at 01:56

    Don’t get too friendly with Tiny – she’ll bite and claw you to death! xD

    Actually, that’s a great thought – have Tiny jump Hogger and do just that to him while the rest of the group watch with a bit of disgust in their faces ;)

  16. 25 Iasion
    August 22, 2009 at 06:14

    I always figured they called him Hogger because he slaughtered and devoured boars with voracious efficiency. Something like that would be disgusting and terrifying in a small farming community.

    I remember fighting him on my priest. I had teamed up with a rogue (NE, you guessed it!) and I ended up being the tank. I remember using offensive casting at first, and then I resorted to running in a wide circle, healing and bubbling myself while the rogue stabbed Hogger from behind. I had 15 HP when we finally dropped him.

    I /flexed to show my manliness, then went behind a tree and /cried. p_q

    • 26 Nhani
      August 22, 2009 at 07:44

      Having played largely night elves, the big bad low level enemy I thought scary was always Lord Melenas; unlike Hogger he didn’t even need to be elite – he had cat form (without being a druid, at level 8!) and diced up low levels with such fervor.

      • 27 Iasion
        August 23, 2009 at 08:56

        I remember that guy. I had a young NE druid named Aequis for a bit who had a run-in with him. I remember him being nasty, but it was so long ago at this point. I did have a friend playing with me, so we fought together.

        I personally find playing humans and dwarfs to be more of my taste on Alliance. I got my druid to the point where I traveled abroad into human territories and I was SO much taller than everyone else. It was dizzying! I prefer being closer to the ground. <.<

  17. August 22, 2009 at 08:00

    Hey Nhani, is it ok if i add a cameo for your characters? Just about 2 pages since my comic is in stormwind right now. It would be like a little bump in while they were existing stormwind(before call to adventure).

    Thanks,
    Pyren

    • 29 Nhani
      August 22, 2009 at 08:29

      Oh sure, go right ahead. You might find some of the gear a little difficult to find mind you (due to my continuous editing), but there should be plenty of options for approximations. I’m actually curious what it’d end up like – both in terms of appearance and character. xD

  18. August 22, 2009 at 09:33

    Well I have solo Hogger as lvl 13 feral druid,I was bear and I brought some potions withe me,I think Te’len would be a good healer to heal Hani when she will facing Hogger

  19. 31 DKtodeath
    August 23, 2009 at 04:43

    I simply LOVE the two last panes! The look on their faces is priceless. You can see what they are thinking. Awesome.

  20. 32 Moltrazahn
    August 23, 2009 at 06:02

    Im gunna have to jump to wagon here and go..

    HOGGER!

    :D

    And does Tiny look like she knows him? Hmmmz, we shallz find outz!

  21. 33 KaMv
    August 24, 2009 at 15:30

    If it is the Hogger from the Live Raid at Blizzcon 2009, they will have their hands full. :)

  22. 34 Takekaze
    August 26, 2009 at 10:03

    Hogger!

    Everytime I go to Elwynn, whether Alliance or Horde, I visit Hogger. I hug him, dance with him…

    And then I kill him. In rememberance of the first time I soloed him, with a lvl 13 paladin and 3 HPs left after the fight.

  23. 35 Xelios
    August 27, 2009 at 07:53

    I sense danger afoot in the upcomming scene… Tiny vs Hogger. You have to make this with alot of shading. Put in some rain and lightning while you are at it. xP


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


