11
Oct
09

#149 – “The Lowest Form”



Right, yes. It took awhile, I know – I’ve been rather busy this week and as such I didn’t have a script in place – just a very lose idea of what I felt should happen. Soooo.. while I had most of today, I had to invent an entire flow for the page, make a script and page design based on that and then actually getting it done. There was alot of ideas that just took a long time to really come into existance, and if I hadn’t found an idea that worked, this page definitely would’ve been moved up ’til thursday.

Of course, I did find an idea, so it wasn’t. But sometimes it is cutting it that close.

74 Responses to “#149 – “The Lowest Form””


  1. October 11, 2009 at 17:45

    But what does she mean with “out”?

  2. 7 Udûn-Khadgar
    October 11, 2009 at 18:04

    I’m one of those people that respects this kind of humor, simply because I would never had thought of it.
    Keep it up!

  3. October 11, 2009 at 19:54

    It took me a couple of seconds…and I’m still giggling! LOVE IT!!!

  4. 9 Seb
    October 11, 2009 at 20:01

    Have to agree with Tiny, /facepalm

  5. 10 Wezley
    October 11, 2009 at 20:02

    ‘Maybe its an out’
    Lol! Perfect :D

  6. 11 Sevil
    October 11, 2009 at 20:34

    Hmm.. I just reread the first few comics (up until they finished BFD) and I wonder.. What happened to Hani? She became a lot more.. quiet..

    • 12 Nhani
      October 11, 2009 at 22:52

      At the risk of sounding snarky (not really intended), you mean apart from traveling with a (comparably) larger group through a land she’s never been in with society she finds utterly alien after she was sent into exile by a woman she practically worships? ;)

      She was always a little distant and withdrawn, and there’s a fair bit of early examples where she shies away when troubled – she just used to be much easier to distract away from the fact. (Though this page if anything should be indicating it might be a reversing trend at this point)

  7. 13 WoWplayer
    October 11, 2009 at 21:41

    read exile and this is HILARIOUS!

  8. 14 Sander
    October 11, 2009 at 22:10

    Once again, simply wonderful. ^_^

  9. 15 Synchronizor
    October 11, 2009 at 22:18

    As a member of a nocturnal race, I wouldn’t have expected Hani to be concerned about the coming dusk.

    Apart from that, excellent work on posing Areen in frame 4, and Rei’s facepalm in the last frame is your best yet, I think.

    • 16 Nhani
      October 11, 2009 at 22:37

      Well she’s never had a problem with being out at nights to date, so I think she has a different reasoning in mind than I think you think ;)

      • 17 Synchronizor
        October 12, 2009 at 05:16

        Ohh, now I’m intrigued. :)

        Aww, but no update ’til Thursday. :(

      • 18 Nhani
        October 12, 2009 at 08:49

        Oh the answer’s all here – next page won’t refer to it. I don’t think it’s the first time she does something like that however (though I might be wrong about that, actually) and it certainly won’t be the last.

      • 19 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        October 12, 2009 at 10:10

        To throw in my two cents, I think this is the original group looking out for each other still – Areen is still the new member at the moment, while the group of Night Elves have gathered a sort of bond after the journey over the ship to Stormwind. My theory? Knowing most other races -aren’t- nocturnal, Hani played on that fact and noted that it would get dark soon, mostly because she could tell Te’len was exhausted – it’s likely Te’len has never had to venture so far from home before. Funny how Areen didn’t pick up on what you did, but you could say she’s still very inexperienced around Night Elves, simply judging them by their inner hearts (as Paladins and Priests alike are almost attuned to doing) and trusting them insofar as to see they won’t harm anyone unless in need to. But anyways, that’s just me looking in to the characters as I see them – I’m almost certain Nhani has other reasons beyond that, but they seem the most obvious to me.

        “Maybe it’s an out.” I didn’t get it the first few times I read it, since I was like Tiny and thought “That’s no Inn, that’s a busted up shack!” Of course, never made the connection for a few moments that it was an Inn (and in/out being opposites…) so yeah…I originally facepalmed but can’t stop laughing at it now that I get the joke. I think that was one of the most oddball of all the jokes so far – if not THE most oddball – but once you get it it’s a complete classic.

        I’m so going to have that in my head now every time I play my mage… XD

      • 20 Nhani
        October 12, 2009 at 10:51

        I like this observation. *nods*

  10. 21 Germ
    October 11, 2009 at 22:19

    Can you believe that puns used to be the highest form of writing?

  11. 32 Reioken
    October 11, 2009 at 23:01

    oh hani you crack me up :D

  12. October 12, 2009 at 02:35

    nice one and lol@rei

  13. 34 Timber Wolf
    October 12, 2009 at 05:13

    “Maybe it’s an out.” I gotta agree with Tiny’s reaction on that one. BAD! BAD HANI!

  14. October 12, 2009 at 06:59

    quick question, are our adventurers only going to be mostly comprised of women?

    • 36 Nhani
      October 12, 2009 at 08:56

      Our group is as-is until Arc Two when we finally pick up a guy to add to their ranks. There was a time I considered adding ones earlier, but after realizing they’d just be Token characters I decided against it.

      They might have people along with them from time to time, but those four are our core group until we pick up our fifth.

  15. 37 wester
    October 12, 2009 at 07:25

    i dident get it sorry whit the out thing.
    did you mean outhouse if not then i dident get it… am from sweden if that can help.

  16. 42 Gwaith
    October 12, 2009 at 07:29

    *chuckles* Loved that pun xD

  17. 43 Bancduese
    October 12, 2009 at 08:46

    Glad to see Hani regaining her sense of humor–goodness knows but I did a double-take on that terrible horrible oh so wonderful pun…

  18. 44 raukangren
    October 12, 2009 at 09:21

    I bet next page will be something like “A message to messenger” where our li’l company will spot that hideous mongrel named Defias Messenger.

    So mysterious letter he carries and so mysteriously masked as … “simple geologist”… while traveling through those mines… Oh boy. I feel there will be so much pun on it…

    Or may be there will be choking jokes about those looters and pillagers? Like, let’s loot some pillagers… Or, should i pillar those looters? :)

    Hohoho, can’t wait till next page! GIEF! :D

  19. 45 Trolldrool
    October 12, 2009 at 09:28

    Not sure if this is a correct assumption or not, but aren’t night elves nocturnal? Just gotten the idea that they sleep during the day and are awake at night, hence the name night elf. Not to mention their reverence for the stars and the moon.

    • 46 Nhani
      October 12, 2009 at 09:55

      They are, or in the least used to be. I think to some degree they’ve had to adapt to their new allies, though to what extents depends on where in society they are and what role they carry. With one former Sentinel, one Druidess and one rebel, I think all three of our night elves are fairly equally adapted to the idea that sometimes it’s simply more convenient to be awake during the day and asleep during the night. This also makes the comic easier for me to light.

      All that said, I think one of the important things to note in this context is not whether Night elves are nocturnal, but whether Gnomes are ;)

      • 47 Yerdiss
        October 12, 2009 at 12:43

        That is actually a very interesting question, Nhani! Looking at Gnomeregan, I wouldn’t be surprised that Gnomes activally regulate their circadian rhythms depending on the need. Do you need to “Press the button” in the middle of the night, then you sleep during the day. Are you on the dayshift, you sleep during the night. The lights are always the same, bluddy artificial (and probably flickering) things :)

        Yet having been cast out of their magnificent cavern-like city, the day-night cycles of the sun (or what’s it called on Azeroth) will probably have started to have an impact on the Gnomes, slowly shifting them to a wake at day, sleep at night pattern, regardless of their previous preference – unless neccesity dictates otherwise.

        Or so, I fathom :)

  20. 48 wester
    October 12, 2009 at 10:38

    oh now i get the pun.
    must have been tired the the first time i post about it.

  21. 49 Metsubou
    October 12, 2009 at 11:24

    Haha, awesome! I give this chapter a thumbs up, for the “out” thing

    d(^.^)b

  22. 50 Alverian
    October 12, 2009 at 11:47

    It’s an open air mark….ahhh inn, it is a new trend in Westfall. You know The Redroof Inns? This is the no roof Inn. Allow the boos to begin lol.

  23. 52 Xelios
    October 12, 2009 at 11:58

    Hani still has the funny in her. I thought she had gone all serious and lost all of it. *laugh*
    I’m glad she still has it left in her.

    To be honest, I didn’t get it at first either, but then I started to think. “An Out..? What? *looks at the building* Oh right, an incomplete inn. Out.” Priceless. x)

  24. 53 Galtrug
    October 12, 2009 at 12:39

    The Inn joke was genius, keep it up!

  25. 54 saila aka wester
    October 12, 2009 at 15:25

    there is something whit reading an comic and trying to get an joke in an laungwish thats not ones native at 08.15 in the morning wile waiting for the computer to warm up for today´s first class.
    btw Nhani cant you create an sticky at the comment thing where one can add from what country one is from? or is that not possibly and not whit IP recuest location but the user dose it one self.
    you know next to the commenter´s name?

    • 55 Nhani
      October 12, 2009 at 16:32

      I can’t change how the comment system works – or at least, not much; there’s a few settings but little else, nothing to the extents of what you’re asking for. That said, I don’t think point of origin really says all that much – after all, English isn’t my native language either ;)

      I think it’s more a question of habit, and how easily you adapt languages – especially the written form of in this case.

      • 56 Ragefury
        October 14, 2009 at 23:17

        Oh so you aren’t brittish – my bad then – just ignore my last comment (bugger, should’ve read through the whole comment list before replying) ^^

  26. 57 weertangel
    October 12, 2009 at 16:29

    Truly one of the better pages u made!(right below punching Staghelm)
    And about the day cycles of Night-elves/gnomes, the elves have always been night dwellers but adapted after joining the Alliance, the gnomes have just adapted to the other races around them,so if a gnome would live for a long time among night elves, he’d probly adapt their cycle, while the current gnomes have probably adapted the dwarves 3 “shifts” scedule. read the Alliance player guide for more info on that.

    BTW. excuse some of the spelling, sometimes i get it right, sometimes i don’t. and sometimes i type to fast.

  27. October 12, 2009 at 18:19

    This is one of those moment’s you more expect from Tiny, though with her I’d imagine her ranting “That’s not an Inn, that’s an Out!”. Having Hani beat her to the punch was awesome.

  28. 59 weertangel
    October 13, 2009 at 16:33

    @Salia AKA wester, well, if u want to know, just put it in your post name like i did, u see,
    Weert is a small city in the netherlands and angel is my the loosly translated family name. ;)

    So in other words, i’m one of Weerts angels(not to confuse with Charlie’s angels)

  29. 63 saila aka wester (SWE)
    October 14, 2009 at 07:42

    works for me weertangel so thanks and like any oen have any use of knowing in what contry or city for that part reserv for for if the contry is extremly low populated or an town whit only 10 pop in it.

  30. 64 Ragefury
    October 15, 2009 at 00:03

    Never seen before: Tiny gets speechless while figuring out a good pun, but gets blown on one by Hani!

    Next week in Beyond the Tree: Hani stalks the stalkers. Don’t miss it!

    Oh, one more thing I got caught on – fashion. I just went back to the first pages of this comic and noticed the change of Hani’s outfit is … quite intriguing. I’ve not mentioned it before but her new outfit suits way better than the old one. The ankle-long pants and those fitting boots really gives her a quite unique look. It gives more of the impression that she’s tall and slim, making her agile and flexible – in other words, a good assassin and a feared foe.

    • 65 Nhani
      October 15, 2009 at 10:24

      I always had this impression of Hani pretty much built like a large cat (or well, more like Nightsaber in this case) – quick and flexible, yet solidly built with powerful limbs and with significant amount mass to shift. As I designed her, my idea was that if it hadn’t been for all the issues she has, she’d probably be the very epitome of what Night elven Warriors aspire to be.

      Her redesign was part intended to get away from the whole “jumpsuit” sort of look, while making her seem a little more casually dressed and still retaining the chest armor. The boots came out of the fact that where World of Warcraft by default tends to gravitate towards thin trousers and wide boots, characters like Garrett (Theif) and Sam Fisher (Splinter Cell) tends to be designed more with wide trousers stuffed into tighter boots. Ultimately, I decided to leave the trousers frayed rather than have them stuffed into her boots because it seemed more fitting her (and again, made her seem more casual).

  31. October 15, 2009 at 03:10

    Well, it’s clear what this crowd likes:

    Arch Druid Fandral Staghelm taking it on the chin; and

    Amazingly bad puns.

    And yes, that includes me as well.

  32. October 15, 2009 at 13:15

    Nhani, i hope you won’t mind, but im gonna faction change (horde – allie) and i am going to(if you allow it ofc) to make my previous tauren warr to a nelf female, more specifically, Hani :D would that be okey for you?? :D :D

    • 68 Nhani
      October 15, 2009 at 18:03

      Well if it floats your boat, by all means (not that I could actually stop you :p).

      I’ve considered what the character would be like in an in-game incarnation a few times myself, though I generally decided it would be a bad idea myself due to how, who and what she is. Young Hani is very tied to the narrative arc she follows and by default fit very poorly into a set statistical system and rigid mechanics.

      Plus, there’s always the fact that for me, the identity is ultimately tied to everything she is – the narrative journey she has, the complexes and issues she carries.. she’s far more than just the person who could (and did) knock out Fandral Staghelm.

        • October 15, 2009 at 19:03

          oh yeah, when will you present today’s update? :D can’t wait

          • 71 Nhani
            October 15, 2009 at 19:05

            When it’s done, and it’s rather difficult to estimate a time for it since there’s a whole lot of prework that needs to be completed. I have 10 panes that need to be posed and rendered, and I haven’t done a single one yet because I don’t even have the scene I need to render them. At this rate, it seems like it might be a stretch to get it done in four hours :p

            • October 15, 2009 at 19:09

              okidoki, i’ll continue updating until it comes then!

            • October 15, 2009 at 20:31

              Hmm, no offense, but I think it would be best to leave the actual Hani out of the game. Her story’s here, everything that happens, so uuhm… well, I don’t know how to put it while remaining 100% polite. It’s just that you might want to reconsider and leave the real Hani for what she is. :)

            • 74 Nhani
              October 15, 2009 at 20:34

              Largely my point, really. (and yes, still working..)


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


