18
Oct
09

#150b – “Moonlight Shines..”



Yes, it’s a filler page. I have an idea for #151 in my head, but I simply haven’t had the time to refine it. We’ll see how things go for the remainder of the week, but I have about ten days to get a huge amount of stuff done, so no promises.

I want to elaborate slightly on the page title this time around – mainly because it’s a very tiny part of a larger quote and I felt the entire quote was much too long for a title. It’s from Naisha, who you may or may not be familiar with, and goes: “Moonlight shines upon the guilty.. and the innocent alike.”.

42 Responses to “#150b – “Moonlight Shines..””


  1. 1 Razah
    October 18, 2009 at 11:33

    Sweet page Nhani.
    Reminds me how nice Nelfs look.

  2. October 18, 2009 at 11:59

    A very well done emotional page Nhani.
    It’s a intresting quote to.

  3. October 18, 2009 at 12:17

    I still don’t get why your comics is so excaggering, their awesome, + you get the models to do jizz they could NEVER do in the game! + a fast update! if i was in any position to judge web comics (which im not, im just a poor fat man thinking i am something) i would give this the best score!

  4. 4 Xsear
    October 18, 2009 at 12:21

    As soon as I saw that moon, I really felt like starting playing again D:

  5. October 18, 2009 at 13:14

    VERY nice page, Nhani. And, like nearly all filler save that first intermission, it is very revealing of those portrayed.

    The ancient Greeks and Romans did not draw any real distinction between the Moon and the goddess(es) Selene, Artemis, and Diana. Hani’s reaction reminds me a bit of my own return to the faith and reintroduction to the Eucharist. (a href=”http://arkanabar.blogspot.com/2007/07/obligatory-journey-post.html”>(LINK)

    @Draxoth: Check out the very tiny links just below the blog title graphic, “About” and “How To” — they contain essential information about the strip.

  6. October 18, 2009 at 13:34

    Naisha! <3
    Glad she's not completely forgotten. For some reason I really adore the character Maiev Shadowsong and her Watchers. Glad to see a familiar quote of her dearest one. I was happy when Blizzard seemed not to have forgotten Naisha in TBC either, as one of Maiev's lines during the fight with Illidan is "This is for Naisha!" with the original voice actress.

    • 8 Ilyara
      October 18, 2009 at 14:53

      I loved that moment, and I felt Maeiv’s ending is the most satisfying Blizzard have produced: difficult and complex, hollow and poignant until the end.

  7. October 18, 2009 at 13:52

    i got sad when Naisha did die inside the temple :'( made me hate Illidan more than what i already do

  8. 10 Ilyara
    October 18, 2009 at 15:02

    It’s a lovely page: I agree that your intermissions actually help add depth to the characterisation.

    • October 18, 2009 at 16:08

      It’s a good ending, yes. Although she should still live. I wonder if we’ll ever see her again… She’s purposeless and probably very, very confused, but she clearly didn’t die. She left when she killed Illidan, who left her with the words “The huntress is nothing without the hunt.”

      I’ve been considering for quite a while now to write a story in parts about Maiev and my interpretation of the lore. I didn’t quite figure yet where to start, though; her early life, or the actual hunt for Illidan. It’ll all come in due time, I first need more ideas than I already have for a worthy story, then find the time and approve of it, also figure out where to put the story when it comes that far. :P

      • 12 weertangel
        October 21, 2009 at 16:09

        Nisa, for background on Maiev i suggest u first read the War of the Ancients trilogy, since she has a role in there also, did u know she was actually a rival of tyrande for the high priest position in that war? fun to read. anyway, good luck with getting your story straight and i hope we get to read it someday:) for the rest this is a very nie filler page, even for a rushed job its better then u think. :)

        • 13 Nhani
          October 21, 2009 at 16:26

          To be honest, I never liked that addition because it really cheapens her character; I was never all that crazy about Maiev (it’s more fair to say that I think she and Illidan pretty much deserve oneanother) but pre-Knaak her primary motivation was at least duty above all else.

          War of the Ancients turned her tale from one about the dangers of blind adherence to duty to one of a simply bitter woman that was about vengeance; it feels like a gross oversimplification of the character to me. It really struck me as if the only reason Maiev was even in that trilogy was because it was editorially mandated, and she was just handed a random stereotype to hold rather than actually having anything done with her.

          I found Maiev a much more deep and interesting character when her motivation was “This is my duty, I will fulfill it! ..no matter the cost.” rather than “OMG Illidan hurt my brother! REVENGE!!”

  9. 14 Ninta
    October 18, 2009 at 16:50

    it feels like her head is seethrough in that big frame. with the moon behind her head i think i can see her headband.

    • 15 Zednotzee
      October 18, 2009 at 20:02

      Personaly, I thought it looked like headphones, lol. I didn’t notice it until you mentioned it, mind you

    • 16 Lightwarder
      October 18, 2009 at 20:09

      Ah, so that’s the headband? I thought it was some really really misplaced shadow of the ear. Also, the last frame, isn’t the shadow a bit “wrong”? If it’s a shadow as a result of moonlight then it should be smaller in that angle, since the moon is above Hani.

      Very nice work on the slight breeze in her hair. Looks very truthful.

      • 17 Nhani
        October 18, 2009 at 20:22

        No, it’s an ear shadow. The light setting was a tad odd for it, and I didn’t really notice until in hindsight. It might not seem it, but this page was pretty rushed, so I didn’t really take enough thoughts into light and shadow.

        The white effect on Hani’s head isn’t so much transcludency as it is my attempts at simulating bloom in post.

        • 18 Ragefury
          October 19, 2009 at 23:05

          I didn’t notice the moonlight shining over Hani’s head before you mentioned it – and I could quickly tell that it was her ear throwing a shadow behind her head, so it wasn’t a see-through at all. Really another issue you get with lighting – live and learn, as always ;)

  10. 19 Geordge
    October 18, 2009 at 20:33

    Well I found this site through wow.com today.

    I really appreciate what you have done so far. Nice skills (lighting and modelling), great directing(angles).
    The story needed some picking up but it’s very involving now.
    Keep up the good work.

  11. 20 Synchronizor
    October 18, 2009 at 21:37

    Filler it may be Nhani, but this is a very cool and expressive page. Kind of a sequel to your “Good Morning Hani” bit a while ago; but your new model really makes the third pane a beautiful shot, especially with the way the moon shows Hani’s muscle definition. The overall feel is just so definitivly Night Elf.

    I would love to see you make a wallpaper of the final frame of this page as well, The environment combined with Hani’s expression just makes this a very powerful image.

    • 21 Ilyara
      October 20, 2009 at 01:02

      I totally feel like I could run my hands over her back *nods sagely*

    • 22 Nhani
      October 20, 2009 at 10:23

      I don’t have the scene left from the last two panes actually – with the haphazardly temporary way it was assembled, I just imported those into a scene, made the renders and never actually saved that scene; I’d have to re-pose and re-light her to recreate it. Still, given time I might try, though I’m not sure how far to extend the focus beyond her head.

  12. 23 Germ
    October 18, 2009 at 23:24

    Is she going to go and bust some heads in Moonbrook under the moonlight?

  13. 24 wester AKA saila
    October 19, 2009 at 08:19

    i think we need an FAQ in the how to section?
    any way great page anyway?

  14. 26 Udûn-Khadgar
    October 19, 2009 at 09:40

    Naisha, I remember… The calm but hard high ranking officer of Maiev. Just wishing to serve her mistress right… Maiev however, went mad… Somehow I found Naisha a much more adorable character than Maiev.
    Keep up the good work!

  15. 27 Ragefury
    October 19, 2009 at 23:09

    I also got to notice that you used the wind effect on Hani’s hair – people might not notice, but such small details really gives a different atmosphere out of the ordinairy. And I agree, this filler page is simply … breathtaking :O

  16. 28 Moltrazahn
    October 20, 2009 at 00:17

    I saw this page and the words really did ecco in my mind :P “What are you doing here Hani” from the last page ^^

    WIN! and! proves she has a emotionel side when she is alone… either that or a heart condition, but im guessing nr 1.

    Good page :)

    • 29 Nhani
      October 20, 2009 at 10:34

      They’re meant to be related *nods*
      I think this page becomes that much stronger if you maintain the context of the page immediately prior. The main thing the filler page changed is that we get to see this happening – the script as such only implied it prior to me becoming much too occupied for my own good.

  17. 30 Dekaie
    October 20, 2009 at 19:36

    is it just me, or does she look just a bit too strong on the big picture? i mean, im a smith, and i almost doesnt even have arms like that. :D

    • 31 Ragefury
      October 20, 2009 at 23:02

      With “smith”, do you reffer to your RL work or that you have a character with blacksmithing in-game? I’d guess the first one, but still got a little curious (haven’t heard of many people being actual smithers these days).

      • 32 Dekaie
        October 21, 2009 at 16:40

        a real life smith ofcourse :) didnt knew how to say it in actual english, but just felt that “blacksmith” would be the wrong word these days :)

  18. October 20, 2009 at 23:14

    This is a very nice page, I could see this being a print and being quite popular :) I know I’d buy one.

    On Maiev I wrote a fan fic on that and put her at the remains of the island where the temple was, it seemed like the most believable ending that with vengeance satisfied she would go back to be around where she lost the Watchers. I’d post a link but I have no clue where to find it anymore. The archive I had it on no longer lists it :/

  19. 34 Elveswarrior
    October 21, 2009 at 12:30

    “The smart man knows a bandage only hides his wounds.” stole that quote from fallout 3 :)
    she needs to get that wound treated somehow i doubt the claws of that mech was clean and an infected wound can bring down even the mighties warrior :)

    also any chance she’ll get something else then those standard nelf panties? might be me but somehow i just think its not her style.

    didn’t read all the comments so might have repeated something if that is the case i apoligies for the slack of not reading other comments :)

    and last comment. gief arm wrestle fight! Hani Vs Gryan! ;P

    • 35 Synchronizor
      October 21, 2009 at 20:04

      Bandages aren’t really meant to hide wounds, they are most commonly used to keep pressure on a cut in order to reduce blood loss, and serve to keep out any potentially harmful organisms ubtil the blood can clot and form its own protective layer.

      Hani’s cut doen not appear to be a serious one. It’s on the outside of the forearm, where the skin is relativly thick, with a decent layer of subcutaneous fat and nothing exceptionally vital underneath. There are a couple of veins there, but about all of the arterial bloodflow is on the inner arm. Since there was no excessive bleeding visible during the fight, it looks like it was just a superficial cut.

      When I’m at work or working on a car, I get cuts like that all the time, and I don’t waste time fussing with it. I just do exactly what Hani did; find something to wrap around it so I don’t bleed on whatever I’m working on, and just keep going. Once most of the bleeding’s stopped, I toss the rag or whatever, and just let it scab over and heal itself. I don’t think I’ve ever had a cut like that get infected.

      Unless you working in an especially foul environment, your body is more than capable of handling a couple of random airbourne bacteria until the cut scabs over.

    • October 22, 2009 at 15:16

      i think this is a new outfit for her [img]http://nhani.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/nhani-scout-wip01-boots.jpg?w=640&h=659[/img]

      • 37 Synchronizor
        October 22, 2009 at 15:32

        I believe that’s an outfit for Nhani, not Hani.

        • October 22, 2009 at 15:47

          well Nhani is a priest :P your probally right though, although i would love to see Hani in that outfit killing people while she dual wields 2x Shadowmourne

          • 39 Nhani
            October 22, 2009 at 16:19

            Some of us still cherish (and cling to) the memory of WarCraft III where Priestess of the Moon were far more than just women in pretty dresses; especially in cases like old Moonfall who always retained much of her Sentinel past.

  20. 41 Shailoch
    October 24, 2009 at 21:30

    I love teh sky shot, reminds me of some times when i’d wake up at 3am with little to do but play WoW and I’d ride my horsey thru westfall

  21. November 22, 2016 at 05:21

    This design is spectacular! You obviously know how
    to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent
    job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


