15
Nov
09

#156 – “Structural Obstruction”



So part of me half wants to go “Surprise!”, heh. There’ll be pages like this throughout the deadmines – just moving events along so we don’t skip too far ahead. Of course, pages like this says a few things on their own, too. This is all going somewhere, but I’m not saying exactly where just yet.

40 Responses to “#156 – “Structural Obstruction””


  1. 1 Waldamar
    November 15, 2009 at 16:48

    I wonder if they will start asking questions as to why she wanted to check out the building first..

  2. 2 Ninta
    November 15, 2009 at 19:17

    i was waiting for an ambush from that defias outside when reading that :P

    • 3 Udûn-Khadgar
      November 15, 2009 at 21:01

      Ninta, actually, Te’len and Areen can still be ambushed next page, since they are still outside and Hani is still inside…

      Still top notch quality comic Nhani, keep it coming!

    • 6 Nhani
      November 15, 2009 at 23:59

      If I were to hazard a guess, I’d say the guy we saw outside was named Chekov.

      *cough*

  3. 7 Daldrin
    November 15, 2009 at 19:39

    Man, I been trying to get a hold of Nhani to complement the web-comic but theres absolutely no contact info here so I guess I’ll have to just say awesome job here! 10/10

    • 8 Nhani
      November 16, 2009 at 00:02

      After having abandoned a few e-mail accounts to sink under spam tsunamis over the years, I generally haven’t bothered putting much up. I figure I might, eventually, if it feels important; so far, it’s worked rather well for people just to leave a message here if they want to talk, heh.

      Though some people do chase me down in World of Warcraft too.

      Anyhow! I’m glad people like it and I hope you/they/etc will continue to – we still have a looooong way to go.

      • 9 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        November 16, 2009 at 02:00

        Heh…confession moment here, but I happen to be one of them too. xD

        Just…never got around to sending any messages. Too busy on my own server and…how do you approach a legend? :S

        • 10 Nhani
          November 16, 2009 at 02:07

          D;

          Well as I recall, I actually sent you and e-mail. Not sure if you got it though, especially since I didn’t say I did, and it was some time after you asked me to.

          • 11 Gordrake Thunderhoof
            November 16, 2009 at 04:24

            D;

            Wish I knew! Gah…must’ve got thrown in with all the junk mail and deleted, I can’t find any mails beyond the same old ones. -_- Should have thought about that first I suppose. And stupid Outlook won’t take from junk folders…

            I’ve attached another e-mail addy to this one. More reliable… hope I get the e-mail this time. D;

          • 12 daldrin
            November 24, 2009 at 03:59

            Same here sorry for the late comment I been away >.< send me a message with my email I wanted to ask you something outside of the comments here! :)

        • 13 Yerdiss
          November 17, 2009 at 10:48

          How do you approach a legend? Well, I usually try the “ragged robe and no shoe” approach and after yanking their sleeve, I exclaim, “Gold plix!”

  4. 14 Avaric
    November 16, 2009 at 07:26

    “How does it look?”

    “It looks clear!”

  5. 15 Arthlol
    November 16, 2009 at 11:00

    And here I was expecting a huge fireball to come flying out of nowhere (courtesy of the lethal Defias Pillager).

    How anticlimactic!

  6. 18 iPotato
    November 16, 2009 at 16:22

    I say Hani was ambushed, and forced to say “It’s clear” with a knife to her throat.
    Just my opinion.

  7. 19 Graphite
    November 16, 2009 at 17:04

    One thing that is sorta curious to me is why she left her sword in her pack while checking out potentially hostile surroundings. I’d imagine that you’d want to have it handy just in case you get ambushed.

    • 20 dékaie
      November 16, 2009 at 17:33

      yeah, i just noticed that too. also, maybe tiny could have checked it out first, she is soo small the defias wouldn’t notice her :) and sitting on hani shoulder, she would probably fall off if they got ambushed :)

      also, whats with the length of her neck in the second last picture? it looks so.. long, compared to the other pictures =D doesn’t know if my eyes is just too tired after a long day at work :)

      • 21 Nhani
        November 16, 2009 at 18:29

        It’s a visual fault I think – between the angle, the lighting and everything, the neck looks like it starts much further down than it actually should/does, and the shoulders somehow seem further down due to the angle of the shot.

        I might‘ve accidentally tilted the neck backwards which also would’ve added to the impression, but I can’t recall now.

    • 22 Yerdiss
      November 17, 2009 at 10:54

      On the “no sword held” question. Well, if I were to enter a robber’s den, hoping to keep the tactical advantage of surprise as long as possible, I’d resort to weapons that silence. A sword has a bit of trouble doing that properly. People tend to go “Ouch! Hey, you cut me, you *beep*!” or at least give some other very loud yelp. Though barehanded, you can smother them while either breaking a neck (hey, it’s fantasy and Hani IS quite strong), or stab them with a dagger while covering their mouth. And irony wills it that it is more heroic to stab the baddy with their own dagger, making it unneccesary to keep your own in your hands :P

      But seriously, well spot!

      • 23 Nhani
        November 17, 2009 at 14:31

        This, very much; Pulling sword is a statement of sorts – the fact that Hani hasn’t should preferably suggest something in its own.

        Of course.. the effect is probably limited somewhat by the fact that we’ve seen that not only is Hani quite proficient in fighting barehanded, but is also able of pulling and slashing with her dagger in a single motion.

      • 24 Zednotzee
        November 17, 2009 at 17:05

        if they have the same luck as me, there’ll be a dirty great lvl80 Orc lurking in there with nasty intentions…. Obviousely he had nothing better to do…

    • 26 Ragefury
      November 17, 2009 at 22:27

      I don’t think Hani needs the sword unless she just want to finish something off clean and easy. We’ve seen her use the tiger leap, fighting thugs bare-handed, and perhaps we might even see her claw their faces asunder.

      Feral instincts are devastating…

  8. 27 weertangel
    November 16, 2009 at 17:46

    They just get jumped i think inside, standard attack of 2 from behind and 2 from the front, should keep them busy, and maybe we’ll see Te’len in action finally(or she just huddles in fear and screams hard hehe)
    but keep it going :)

    As for wow.. i have taken a break from it since Dragon Age:Origins came out and as a old rpg gamer its really rocking my world! if wow looked as good as this game does nobody would play anything else anymore!not the mention the truly wicked story and character interaction! only the fact that u only have 3 base classes sucks quite big, and the fact that unless u are a mage, u only got 2 other mage companions u can find(considering that u can have around 10 companions, thats VERY few) but oh, the spells u can have!

    Ah well, nvm my ranting, keep it going! this can only get better!! :)

    • 28 Nhani
      November 16, 2009 at 18:09

      Ironically enough.. I still don’t think Dragon Age looks that good – sure, they have all the shaders and high-resolution textures and all that – and I admit the normal maps are really good. On the other.. purely visually it struck me as lackluster – very gray and deadened; I can’t put my finger on what exactly causes it, but apart from higher texture resolutions and less strange texture caching problems, I actually thought Mass Effect was more visually stunning. There’s just something missing, I can’t explain it.

      Of course, Legacy of Kain: Defiance still stands as my number one example on how to do facial expressions well in a game – I’ve yet to see anything surpass it in expressibility, lip sync and emotional range.

      World of Warcraft by comparison doesn’t have nearly the same graphical power, but is so much more visually distinct – I actually wish Dragon Age was a little more like it in that regard.

      • 29 weertangel
        November 18, 2009 at 17:09

        It really depends on what one likes, i did’t buy the game for the graphics,(had’t even seen any screenshots before i got it) but the fact that u can also adjust your main chars face in so many ways just took me completly by suprise! not to mention the good story. but i think i just played wow for so long nonstop i was just cought offguard, then again, even NWN2 did’t look this good!
        But you are right, there are less brighter colors then in wow, but since there’s so much else to see and do u really don’t think about it.
        Also, great voice actors!
        Tim curry and Claudia Black to name 2

        • 30 Nhani
          November 18, 2009 at 17:26

          Hah, NWN2 was a buggy mess where there they even managed to make such slipups as have a pair of very early boots in the game completely lack soles, so you could see right through the model if you were on a close to the ground perspective. Then again, it was made by Obsidian, the undisputed lords of unfinished games, so it wasn’t really a surprise.

          The thing that ‘sold’ Dragon Age for me was the character origins – nothing else. It seemed like a very rare attempt of actually fitting your character into the setting, rather than just being the random adventurer for giggles or a walking Deus Ex Machina that most examples of the genre swear by.

          I do miss the player having a voice, and I really wish they’d dared to have more hands-on interaction throughout dialogue like Mass Effect did, but well. Mass Effect was Cinematic, Dragon Age isn’t, so there’s a pretty major difference between them – both in style and in narrative design.

          As for voice acting – they have Simon Templeman. As far as I’m concerned, you don’t really have to say much more than that, because it’s Simon Templeman. I mean really. The man is sheer vocal badass. I kindof wish they’d taken a drop from another particular game series with him in though when it comes to facial expressions. I’ve yet to see anything surpass Defiance on that point.

          Still, the game mostly delivered on what I hoped for, so it’s definitely been a worthwhile purchase. There’s some bugs in there that could use definitive patching, and there’s some cases where some dialogue trees or options given just seem outright weird or all buggered, but for most part it’s resonably solid and rather compelling.

  9. 31 Gryffyn
    November 18, 2009 at 03:09

    I keep coming back to view even the older installments. I love this series because night elves are my favorite in the game. Can’t wait till the expansion and I can have a night elf mage. I can just imagine the three girls reaction to coming across one of their own practicing arcane magic.

    BTW I love the graphical look of the WoW world. If I wanted realistic I would be playing other games. WoW may be over the top sometimes with colors and lighting but at least the zones are memorable. Others I have tried, all the scenery blended in together in your mind. Same colors, trees slightly different building and mobs.

  10. 32 Kyplor of Uldaman
    November 18, 2009 at 04:10

    Nhani,

    I first came across your site thanks to “Sunday Morning Funnies” on WoW.com. It was ‘Episode’ #154. I distinctly remember it because of Hani’s “undead” comment.

    Two days ago, I started on #1. I read through every one and even made time for all the comments, too. (until about #50, when I wanted to speed up). I am very impressed with your visual progression over the past year.

    Other than reading Dark Legacy Comics and Teh Gladiators (via MMO-Champion), your strip is the only one I follow. Keep up the great work!

    Goddess watch over you.

  11. 33 Timber Wolf
    November 18, 2009 at 04:27

    “This is all going somewhere, but I’m not saying exactly where just yet.”

    I’m betting to Vancleef. Just a guess, mind you.

    • 34 Zednotzee
      November 18, 2009 at 09:31

      Or perhaps one of the main characters dies in there. It couldn’t be Hani or Tiny of course, that’d be the end of the story. Which keaves Te’len and Areen. My guess would be Areen – some kind of heroic last stand allowing the others to escape from some hideous fate or other.

      • 35 Timber Wolf
        November 18, 2009 at 20:28

        Or the addition of a 5th character who heroicly saves them all from ogreish death.

        • 36 dékaie
          November 18, 2009 at 22:13

          or them accidently breaking the wall between deadmines and stranglethorn, making them being attacket by a whole bunch of troll and/or murlocs =D

        • November 19, 2009 at 12:07

          Timber Wolf:
          the party will expand to five, eventually, and the fifth will be Horde. This much is (presently) revealed. So too is that Nhani intends to do this well down the line.

          However, there’s certainly room for a short-term, temporary addition, who ALSO could be the Redshirt … but I don’t know from where Nhani would pull such a person.

  12. 38 Germ
    November 19, 2009 at 00:59

    Man, they really need Admiral Ackbar….

  13. 39 Coridan
    November 19, 2009 at 16:17

    Hey Nhani, it’s my first time posting on your comics, never really quite knew what to say, so I’ve ended up with deciding to just give you a little comment to show that yet another person is in love with your comics! Can’t wait for the next one!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


