24
Dec
09

#166 – “A Small Scheme”



Right, so working things off in order.. It’s Christmas/Winter’s Veil/etc! Yaay! While I did an image for it, as usual I prefer not to interrupt the narrative/archive for such, so instead it is located here. Enjoy. Beyond that, sunday may not have an update since I’ll be heading back to where I normally live again by then, which means certain degrees of busy and tired. There. Now with that out of the way..

I know perspective is a tad weird across the last few pages – this one notably; since the background mine complex is all screenshots rather than rendered, trying to maintain perspective between the backgrounds and the characters is.. complicated, so most of the time I’ve just ignored it and put something that I could pretend looked proper enough. Also, I know there’s been this discussion about the efficiency of the rifles.. I’ll quietly just handwave the issue for now and cite character ignorance. We have a whole mine ahead of us still, so it might yet come up.

For now, Happy holidays!

31 Responses to “#166 – “A Small Scheme””


  1. December 24, 2009 at 11:53

    amazing! really got my mood up after realising I had to reinstall WoW xD

  2. December 24, 2009 at 11:59

    and to the wallpaper (and my screensaver now..) orc, nut, crackers, Raene Wolfrunner in winter veil clothies, xmas trees, presents and a orc nut cracker.. its amazing!

  3. 3 Tzuké
    December 24, 2009 at 12:13

    Happy holidays & best wishes to all.

  4. 4 Ilyara
    December 24, 2009 at 14:23

    God Jul! ^.^

  5. December 24, 2009 at 14:49

    That grin on Tiny’s face looks just a little too evil. Muahahahaha!!!

    Holiday blessings, everyone!

  6. December 24, 2009 at 15:43

    Tiny has a plan…….i feel sorry for those Devias allready haha.

  7. 8 Nimira
    December 24, 2009 at 17:45

    One gold says she’ll find a way to sneak over there and light those gunpowder kegs behind them ;v.

  8. 11 Maira
    December 24, 2009 at 21:17

    I vote for sending in the crazy, tiny, fanged elf to give them a heart attack.

  9. 12 Aries
    December 24, 2009 at 21:41

    hmmm Tiny…..that makes me think of the Hani wallpaper…”She’s smiling…run!”

  10. 13 Wisemanio
    December 25, 2009 at 00:57

    Something tells me those Defias wont have a nice winter veil :P.

    Merry Christmas to you guys :D

  11. 14 saila aka wester
    December 25, 2009 at 12:29

    god jul and in english merry christmas.
    any way on the second panel is Hanni half smiling?

  12. 15 Ragefury
    December 25, 2009 at 14:34

    So Tiny WERE plotting something! I knew it! /flex ;)

  13. 16 Moltrazahn
    December 25, 2009 at 14:49

    Merry Christmas indeed :)

    I may be a day late to write it, then again i live in the part of the world were we give presents evening of the 24th, and not in the morning of the 25th, still! Thank you Nhani for still makeing this comic, i find that even after 6 months of not playing wow, you still manage to catch the magic i once felt in the Azerothian univers before it became too… hmm… how to put it… well, whatever the grind-lets-slightly-ignore-lore-to-better-please-the-fan-base thing it is now… Then again, playing online has allways been about the people, and id lie if i said that its them who also make playing rp-servers special. So on that fact, i might try it again sometime.

    Anyways, my rants of personal flavor aside, i am looking forward as to how our smallest member will outwit these two, im expecting something interesting indeed :P

    And dont worry about not makeing the dates, considering you tend to deliver 95% 0f the time, i think its very fair that you take some vacation time :P and well-deserved it is ^^ … though i dont have a drawing to you this christmas i fear, youll have to make duo with the one i gave last year, atleast thill im done with the one im doing now ^^

    Merry Christmas :) and incase you intent to have a vacation like you deserve, happy newyear ^^ (and ofcause to all the other fans aswell!)

  14. 17 Udûn-Khadgar
    December 26, 2009 at 11:59

    Hmmm, my curiosity grows every day, wondering what Tiny is up to…

    Keep it up! It’s still great stuff to read!!

  15. December 27, 2009 at 19:29

    Hmm, Nhani has yet to reply on this comic page, usually (s?)he replies to just about everyone ^^

    • 19 Nhani
      December 27, 2009 at 19:56

      I always felt that the one key element to any post, comment or response is content – I tend to respond largely only when I have something to contribute, be it answering something I feel needs answering, clarifying something I think is important people get right or contributing to an interesting discussion.

      The comment track for this page has largely just been seasons’ greetings – I already offered mine. Going at it again is a tad redundant.

  16. 24 ninta
    December 28, 2009 at 13:43

    nice page as always nhani. and nobody will mind you being a bit late during christmas time :)

  17. 25 Memoirs
    December 30, 2009 at 05:57

    I have a question. I don’t know if you’ve done this or work off screenshots, but would you know how to extract the game world map models with their textures (Or if you had already done such mind sharing?)? Along with a better way to extract the game character/beast/whatever models other then using model viewer? I haven’t been able to make the wmo or whatever files the old model swop and such patches use to use to extract the models sense pre-wrath.

    I’d really like to be able to extract the world maps before they are changed forever, and an easier way to get the in game models extracted.

    Any help be appreciated.

    • 26 Nhani
      December 30, 2009 at 08:54

      I use screenshots most of the time – I don’t know how to extract the world itself (It’d probably be quite handy, but I’d expect assembling textures might be an annoyance); I do have something I use for WMO files (WMO 2 MaxScript, specifically) but it’s temperamental to use at best and requires you to go an manually find and convert all the textures used, as well as placing them in their correct places on the models. This being why I only export buildings every so often – it tends to require a significant investment in time.

      For regular character models I just use modelviewer; it divides things up nicely and spits out pre-assembled textures rather than forcing you to hunt down and assemble them yourself. I actually tend to use a pre-wrath modelviewer (along with pre-wrath data files) to avoid some of the issues with the Wrath ones whenever I can get away with it.

      • 27 Memoirs
        December 30, 2009 at 14:57

        How do you go about extracting them with model viewer to max? I’ve tried it a few ways and they tend to make a huge mess of things one issue being that it extracts them in whatever pose they happen to be at the moment I extract. less sayy for people I pick the stop/hands close pose that makes them stand evenly. I’d love to export the character rigs and animations for lesser characters as well. any tips or shoves to the right way be nice.

        • 28 Nhani
          December 30, 2009 at 15:15

          I extract them in the post they are, quite simply, using the ms3d format and then using Milkshape to convert that to the 3ds import format. I often use the Handsclosed pose and then just cut out those hands for a pair from another pose, since the texture coordinates will still remain intact with the vertices.

          There are ways to export them with bone rigging intact, somehow – I have gotten bones into max once, but it was a tad wonky and changing geometry after rigging tends to be problematic at best. With how much I fiddle with the models, I generally just throw in a base pose, tweak it somewhat and then do all the rigging myself after I’m done touching it up.

          • 29 Memoirs
            December 31, 2009 at 01:59

            Hmm.. So aside using ms3D any other tools needed? I notice your models don;t use the triangular vertices. How did you make them liniar? Leanier.. line..er.. that..word.. XD

            What about extracting beats? The dragons/drakes/whelps/aspects mainly. Any good suggestions to get them in a neutral pose? I know one version of model viewer would put Mally into such a pose (and he looked silly) but it wouldn’t for any others.

            • 30 Nhani
              December 31, 2009 at 08:41

              By using the meshsmooth modifier and spending a whole lot of time just removing unwanted edges, heh. As much as I’d like to say there is one – there really is no shortcut to how I clean up, upgrade and rig the poseable models. It’s just a whole lot of time spent with the model as an editable poly, removing unwanted edges and cutting in new ones to help maintain shape past the smoothing modifier and giving space for facial expressions.

              It’s the same way I have to adjust a Biped construct and manually add any additional bones I need to rig them, or how the facial expressions are created through manually creating 30-some different morphs to make up all the different little changes and nuances.

              To give you a brief idea.. the standard in-game night elven female model weighs in at about 1222 triangles. The Hani Foonmall revision 4 model prior to any smoothing work – counting only the gear she has and the faces I’ve cut in, has 4218 triangles. With meshsmooth enabled, it jumps up to 18152 triangles.

              If there’s a shortcut, I don’t know of it. It’s just a whole lot of manual work really, picking what base pose seems the most convenient, modifying it beforehand to make it easier to rig, and then working with it as if it were an original model. There’s a reason only the main cast and a few other models are actually poseable in the comic – making a full poseable model is a whole lot of work.

              The vast majority of extras in the comic are just extracted in whatever pose I need them to be in and I really don’t do anything with them besides applying texture, fusing them and leaving them as is.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


