14
Jan
10

#170 – “Walking the Diggers”



This page took longer than I expected – the dialogue in particular proved to be.. problematic. I knew roughly what I wanted it to say, it just took a whole lot of time to really put it into words. I know the lighting is a bit odd in places too – I needed the large rock to be lit, but I also needed its back half and everything behind it to be in shadow, which put some very strange restrictions how I could light it.

Edit: Quick notice: Probably no sunday (17’th) update this week either – while I know what I want to do, more or less, the specific dialogue I need isn’t there, and the words seem stubborn about not formulating themselves in my head. Might still happen, but more likely I’ll have it thought out by thursday. I think I need some time to lay out things a little more in detail for the coming pages.

23 Responses to “#170 – “Walking the Diggers””


  1. 1 Synchronizor
    January 14, 2010 at 18:18

    Yeah, it took a couple of tries to see Hani behind the rock in frame 6. That may just be my laptop screen though. (Ultrabright widescreen my butt…)

    I love the joke about leaving explosives lying around though.

  2. 2 Elveswarrior
    January 14, 2010 at 19:25

    gotta love that peasent ^^

    would have expected hanis eyes to look a bit more like a cats eyes when seeing them in the dark (i got 2 cats so i know how they look) bit more intense bright yet quite stealthy

  3. 3 TC
    January 14, 2010 at 22:19

    haha as always you make me laugh, its a good page really <3 keep it up, somehow i always check the site several times a day just in case :P

  4. 4 WoWplayer
    January 14, 2010 at 23:04

    lmao awesome

  5. 5 Lungus Kingsfield
    January 14, 2010 at 23:19

    Awsome! loved it!
    I even pointed at the screen going “Heeey” When i noticed Nhani behind the rock in Panel 6 :D
    and the lighting looks awsome! Keep up the great work :)

  6. 6 Moltrazahn
    January 15, 2010 at 00:24

    Shadowmeld as its suppose to look, not invis, but melding with the shadows.. great work :D

  7. 7 Ragefury
    January 15, 2010 at 00:34

    Hani knows how to use her racial ability – can’t say less. ;)

    Oh, and Cave Mining Rule #1: Never entrust the explosives to a peasant. Let the overseers handle it.

  8. 8 Aries
    January 15, 2010 at 00:55

    lol, love the page Nhani.

  9. 9 Timber Wolf
    January 15, 2010 at 16:26

    Ahh Night Elves. So sneaky. So good at it.

  10. 10 N33t
    January 15, 2010 at 16:52

    Very nice page. I laughed at the joke with the explosives :P
    I love to see Hani behind the rock. It reminds me of the night-elfs shadowmeld ability. I simply thought you had that in mind when you drew the page :)

  11. January 15, 2010 at 17:05

    Dem peasants with dem explosive layin’ round….

  12. 12 Udûn-Khadgar
    January 15, 2010 at 17:20

    Warning! Explosive Danger… scrap that last one, Explosive Fun! Just lying arround =P. great humor as always.

    Keep it up

  13. 13 Expala
    January 15, 2010 at 22:01

    “Well it’s not like those are just laying around”
    *pause*
    “…You have explosives just laying around?!”
    “They’re safe!… Technically!”
    Love the comedy and your stunning use of shadowmeld. You keep amazing us all with your skill and imagination. Hope you keep this up =D

  14. 14 Bigfan
    January 16, 2010 at 23:12

    Awesome page :) i can see why Van Cleef keeps dying with such idiot lackeys “they’re safe… technically” <– Epic :D keep up the great work!

  15. January 18, 2010 at 16:55

    Awh, only one update a week lately? :(

    • 16 Nhani
      January 18, 2010 at 17:19

      Pretty much. I’m hoping to get back to the regular two per week schedule before long, but right now there’s simply just been way too many things colliding in my head for that to work.

      There’s a point when you’re trying to get dialogue and only get things that have absolutely nothing with the subject matter where you simply need to take a step back, acknowledge that it isn’t working at that time and that you need more time to work it over in your head.

  16. 18 Ripwarrior
    January 19, 2010 at 08:13

    first time I comment, but I felt I should say something
    After my friend showed me this comic about 2 months ago, I’v been following it ever since, waiting for each update, and I have to say, this is one of the best online comics I’v rea. I can understand how things might be difficult sometimes, but as said before, just take your time. You’r doing such a great job with this, keep it up, looking forward to follow our four friends for some time still :)

  17. 19 Trolldrool
    January 19, 2010 at 13:10

    They actually have all the benefits here, don’t they? They can meld into the shadows, making them practically invisible without a nearby lightsource, but they can also see as clearly in darkness as we can in light.

    I almost feel sorry for the overseer (or common ruffian, same thing in the deadmines).
    He looks really worried in the fourth panel.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


