07
Feb
10

#175 – “We’re With Stupid”



Be careful, he is a big.

Edit: Right. Where’s the update. To be honest, I have no idea. I’ve been staring blankly at an empty page off and on for like an hour or two and I have all these ideas, all these thoughts and everything.. and they just won’t line up in my head. Too much bouncing around at once, maybe. Just been one of those periods lately. I’ll have it sorted by sunday, I just need to find my focus somehow.


20 Responses to “#175 – “We’re With Stupid””


  1. 1 JoshpUnit
    February 7, 2010 at 17:37

    lol Nhani this one is awesome, cant wait to see the look on the ogres face when he tastes Hani’s wrath :p

  2. 2 Darix
    February 7, 2010 at 17:48

    Hehe i bet he will make a comment like PUNNY ELF! Then Rei will be all offense aout her size xD and Hani will do the usual slice and dice !:D

    Also this is one of the best taunts I’ve seen in a while XD Verry nice:P

  3. 3 Ilyara
    February 7, 2010 at 19:05

    The nom is so badass xO !

    lovely page: it flows nicely and it’s good to see everyone doing their bit (except poor Te ofc!)

  4. 4 Aries
    February 7, 2010 at 19:15

    *applause*

    excellent page Nhani….excellent page

  5. February 8, 2010 at 00:12

    As long he doesn’t turn green and bigger Hani should be fine.

  6. 6 Derrael
    February 8, 2010 at 00:55

    Paladins = Fine.
    Sneaking paladins = fair enough.
    Sneaking paladins wearing full plate = what the nelly?

    • 7 Ilyara
      February 8, 2010 at 02:12

      There was a big commotion, and she’s little and only had to avoid the ogres notice. But more importantly, I think it worked well dramatically :)

  7. 8 Ripwarrior
    February 8, 2010 at 09:10

    I can only find one word appropriate for this page

    Epiq.

    Loved the ogres face on panel 3 and 5 :D

  8. 9 Xelios
    February 8, 2010 at 10:26

    Wonderful page, like the 174 other ones! I simply would love to see the Lookouts’ faces when they saw the little paladin step into plain view. xD

  9. 10 Weertangel
    February 8, 2010 at 11:50

    Nice pages! have’t checked up for a while couse of some RL things making me misrable,(got hit hard by a car for 1 thing) but i do love how it has come along!

    And Nhani, if u need some inspiration for dialogue, just go play an RPG that has totally nothing to do with WoW,(i suggest Mass effect 2), it should help u get your head clear and get some new ideas.

    For the rest, keep it up!!

    • 11 Nhani
      February 9, 2010 at 13:25

      I’ve actually been playing Mass Effect 2 at any free moment since I got it up until last night when I finally completed it, actually; which with the delay on the Collector’s Edition in certain countries meaning I’ve been playing it since late thursday night (and no, that’s not why the comic was put on hold)

      To a point it had the slight opposite effect in short term because I spent making this particular page while grumbling how I’d much rather play the game, and even now after completing it it’ll still take me a few days to process through the experience and get the characters worked over, decisions made on what I might do different next time and then have it all stashed away until I play it again so I have room for other characters.

      It’s still good to refuel on narrative, though; there’s only so far I can go on my own concoctions, so getting to field off into other characters and settings is important. It was definitely a good journey to make, and while I’m happy to have gone through it, part of me regrets it being over; waiting for the third and final piece of the trilogy is going to be bothersome.

      All that said, I think the main obstacle for writing I’ve been having recently is distraction – I’ve had other things, other problems, other characters and other narratives in mind than the Beyond the Tree cast in mind a fair bit lately, which means less time working on improvising the characters.

  10. 12 Hernos
    February 8, 2010 at 13:15

    Havnt commented for a while, but this, as always is oozing awesomesauce and pure epicness.
    “Becareful, he is a big”, So can a gnomes temper, and they are the right height to launch themselves effortlessly headfirst into your crotch. You have been warned Defias Bandits.

  11. February 8, 2010 at 14:36

    That reminds me… I need to make some macros for my taunt so that my character actually insults the target. “Hey ugly! Over here!” “Did you see (target)s face? I’ve seen Ogres with nicer looking…” :P I need to actually do this sometime…

    • 14 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      February 8, 2010 at 16:56

      I’ve actually played with the macros myself once, used the taunt I got from watching too many mortar shots from the dwarves.

      “Hey you! Catch!”

      Works well either with a throwing weapon or a good ol’ boomstick. I think it’s better with a gun though – seems less of a chance to catch a bullet. Except in the chest.

  12. February 8, 2010 at 17:10

    Super job…perfect illustration of an Ogre’s intelligence. :)

  13. 16 Phearlock
    February 8, 2010 at 17:31

    Haha, nice reference to “Backstroke of the West” there.
    Looking forward to the next scenes =D

    • 17 Nhani
      February 9, 2010 at 12:46

      Backstroke of the West amuses; I remember seeing a Men in Black II DVD with the same kind of pirate subtitling as well that also was something of a riot – I found the subtitling was more fun than the movie itself, actually.

      It contained such gems as “The headquarters have been destroyed, baby!” and “There is a BARGE in the electrical system!”.

  14. 18 saila aka wester
    February 9, 2010 at 11:09

    when my battle cry addon actually worked on my old main who was an warrior i think i had like 20 possibly taunt taht my carecter would /say /emote when he cast taunth and many was set so they only trigger on special mobs kind, i remember my favorite and the first one i made,
    /s hay bucket head! on any mobs that was humanoid male and an few one that could only trigger on i don´t know what.
    here is the link to the outdated addon anyway http://wow.levelonemagic.com/battlecry/index.php?page=5

  15. 19 Timber Wolf
    February 9, 2010 at 18:50

    It’s gonna suck to be that ogre.

  16. 20 Nirene Feathersong
    February 10, 2010 at 16:43

    Sad thing he doesn’t have two heads – that’d make for some awesome dialogue. ;P


Leave a comment


Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)