25
Mar
10

#186 – “Green with Goblins”



Yes, I know it’s a bit buggery. If I had the time, I would’ve loved to have this portion of the dungeon extracted out so I could light it as I please, but that would’ve required first having said time; which between several need-to-be-done-quickly projects and having spent a week coughing my throat to shreds.. I’ve simply not had enough of. Hopefully it’s something that can be cut around when the actual scuffles start.

Still, Goblins. I actually had a whole lot of debate going whether they should come across the doors closed (like we do I in the game) or not – ultimately I decided against because it seemed counterproductive to the flow.

Edit: Right, it’s past 17:00 and I still haven’t actually managed to assemble my thoughts in any coherent order, so there’s a good chance next update will wait ’til thursday. Sorry about that; I really don’t know what the problem is, but I’m content in blaming this bastard cough that just won’t go away! >;/

35 Responses to “#186 – “Green with Goblins””


  1. March 25, 2010 at 21:56

    *poster formerly known as Aries*

    Ah those clumsey plated gnome feet…lol.

    Good page Nhani.

  2. 2 Elveswarrior
    March 25, 2010 at 22:14

    Nila really needs a more battle/travel fitting outfit. pane 4 really reminds me of Shrek 3 when the crossdressing man tempts 2 male guards closer by just sticking his shaved leg out around the corner ><

    • 3 Nhani
      March 26, 2010 at 09:52

      Ironically, the cut on her skirt was added for the very reason of making it more suitable for travel – this way, it parts way to let her run and jump as she needs to without restricting her leg movement too much.

  3. 4 Jacob
    March 25, 2010 at 22:53

    A shame those doors are so heavy, or they could have smacked them in the face of the goblins.

  4. March 26, 2010 at 01:04

    *Love* Areen’s pose/expression in panel 7. Awesome!

  5. 6 Iasion
    March 26, 2010 at 06:02

    Heh, Areen’s a nub. I can see Rei mouthing, “Learn to play!”

  6. 7 Agamede
    March 26, 2010 at 07:47

    It might not be perfect with lightning and such, but the suspense is surely there!

    *bites nails*

  7. 8 saila aka wester
    March 26, 2010 at 08:19

    any one notis that hani still have that bandage on her?
    love it no fast heal here.

    • 9 Nhani
      March 26, 2010 at 09:39

      Well honestly, I think it’s good enough that she could remove it by now; the thing being that she hasn’t. An injury that would actually slow her down would most likely be more clearly marked when she’s fine enough again, but would still take quite a few pages to recover from.

      I think Hani’s been too focused on her surroundings lately to take the time and remove her bandage, and the fact that she still has it lends to an overall sense of persistence in the world. The rules of the overall world are different from those in the game, so I’d like to think details like that help convey that.

  8. March 26, 2010 at 08:53

    And what have we learned today?
    Paladins are no rogues. A cliffhanger is allways a good way to get readers to keep reading the comic.

    • 11 Nhani
      March 26, 2010 at 09:49

      I actually tried to make a very visible difference between how Hani, Te’len and Areen all move quietly – Hani with practiced ease, Te’len with a little more awkwardness but still some innate ability and Areen.. uhm.. tiptoeing in plate boots.

      In hindsight, it probably would’ve been more classical if she’d just stepped on something that made noise, but I couldn’t come up with anything appropriately loud in the short time, so I just figured it’d be better if she simply collided with the door somehow.

      • March 26, 2010 at 18:08

        It’s a good and healthy change to hit something, stepping on something has been one to death.

        • 13 Zednotzee
          March 26, 2010 at 19:50

          I don’t see any problem with her kicking the door. I’ve done it myself before now, usually whilst carrying a tray full of food – with unfortunate consequences, lol. And I reason that the Goblins were near the door and so heard the noise. But maybe the ‘ THUNK ‘ could have been a bit bigger to impl a bit more volume. Or was (as I suspect) the size due to fitting it in the frame? Maybe an exclamation maek would have been better.

  9. 14 Elveswarrior
    March 26, 2010 at 13:14

    its a mine. she got plate boots. all it would take is for her to kick to some rock lying on the floor :) plenty of noise then.

    • 15 Nhani
      March 26, 2010 at 13:22

      It needed to be sudden and unexpected though. A sudden random stone like the ones she’d been walking on for the entire cavern and only now one makes noise? Felt like a bit of a stretch. It needed to be something that was obvious. This was the only thing that came to mind without going through the entire library of various utility models for some gadget she could stomp on.

  10. 16 Larsey
    March 26, 2010 at 13:21

    Te’len always showing some legs :)

  11. 17 Timber Wolf
    March 26, 2010 at 13:22

    Ok how do you catch your foot on a door like that? Seriously.

    • 18 Nhani
      March 26, 2010 at 13:39

      Through the magic of plot convenience? ;D

      Actually I admit, this is one thing I should’ve thought through in a little more detail; at first I actually tried to have her bump her sword up against it, but it seemed even more inept of her. This seemed a little more plausible – to me, anyhow – because she doesn’t get caught up as much as accidentally bumping her foot into the door makes more noise than she expected.

      If I’d been feeling better and had had more time around, she’d probably have stepped on some gadget that broke with a noise, but alas.

      • 19 Sanaje
        March 26, 2010 at 17:06

        I’m just going to be a nitpicky bastard here and mention that it might be very unlikely that a couple of goblins hear a unfamiliar strange sound at all; y’know, because they’re working in a sawmill, with noisy shredders, goblins hacking away at wood and maybe some ridiciously loud radio broadcasting today’s version of “Defias’ wild hours”.

        <>

        Don’t slap me D:

        • 20 Weertangel
          March 26, 2010 at 17:51

          Love the page!! and Sanaje, Defias “wild hours” what have u been doing when u came up with that one?? still, would be nice to suddenly see a radio standing there after they killed the goblins hehe

        • 22 Moltrazahn
          March 26, 2010 at 18:07

          If the person makeing your dinner while working in a mine was a murloc, id be on my toes aswell ;) but given, all the Defias wear leather or cloth, and if you imagine those 3 goblins were on break or something, and then heard a noice -that- close to them, which presence of anyone else they’ve not seen, i think it could be justified with everyone in that mine having a little nostalgia, if anything becauss they are that close to stormwind and the reach of the guard. And i dont think Van Cliff is the type of boss that lets his underligs not pay attention all the time..

          Still! as much as i can try to make sense of it, there will allways be moments of “eh?” ^^, but i myself love to think creatively :P

          • 23 Nirene Feathersong
            March 27, 2010 at 00:13

            Well, we’ve had guns firing off, barrels of gunpowder exploding (yes, gunpowder can cause massive explosions), people screaming and shouting … simply put, there’s no way those over-working goblins wouldn’t be on their guard after all the ruckus our adventurers have caused so far in that mine. ;)

      • 24 Timber Wolf
        March 29, 2010 at 14:29

        Ok. I’ll let it be explained this way: DAMN GNOMES AND THEIR FAT FEET!

  12. 25 saila aka wester
    March 26, 2010 at 18:35

    finale an guard that Passed A Spot Check or The non crazy guard? take your pick.
    and Only me or is the goblin an bit larger then they usually is compare to the door?

    http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/FailedASpotCheck
    http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/TheGuardsMustBeCrazy

  13. 26 Kabs
    March 27, 2010 at 00:06

    It’s kinda plausible for her to catch her foot on the door, if you argue that something on her armor got snagged. For example, the plate covering the upper part of her foot became “hung” on a portion of the wood. Could even lead into a little plot problem with that plate causing all manner of trouble. IE: Clanking when she walks, snagging on other things, or just being a general headache.

  14. 27 Frostsaben
    March 27, 2010 at 12:48

    Goblins!!! Kill them all!

    Beeing serious though, those are some big goblins in relation to gate height, but except for that nice twist of events.

  15. 28 ewiryh
    March 27, 2010 at 17:01

    Hmm .. it just hit me;

    Rei is very skilled on sitting on people’s shoulders!
    I mean, she’s never had to hold onto their hair or anything, unless they’re running / fighting!
    I’m quite sure I’d have to xD

    Very random to mention or at all notice, but yeah xD

  16. 29 DeCournaille
    March 28, 2010 at 17:23

    I assume you mean “buggy” rather than “buggery” … erm the latter means .. well admittedly some blokes do use “up the buggery” to mean something is bugged, but mostly … *blush*

    • 30 Nhani
      March 28, 2010 at 18:27

      Slang is funny; it amuses me how words can mean completely different things depending on location and and context.

      I actually don’t mean it as “buggy” so much as “broken”, “incorrect” or soforth; Urban Dictionary actually sort of supports my usage by expressing that one of the definitions is “Something one says when faced with something one does not like.”, suggesting “crap” as a synonym.

      ..of course, the other four definitions support your meaning, which leaves me at something of a disadvantage. That said, before now I’ve only ever seen the definition I’ve been using.

      Still, duly noted. I’ll need to find or make up another word to use.

      • 31 Adam
        March 28, 2010 at 20:53

        You’re close, I’ve only heard it used as “things have gone to buggery”.

        I’d think of another synonym, if I could find a fault with your work.

      • 32 Zednotzee
        March 29, 2010 at 09:19

        May I suggest the word ‘ manky ‘ as a subsitute. Manky = not cleaned up properly – not quite right – a bit ugly ( this is not a critisism of your work by the way, just a suggestion for a different word ). As with most Englsh slang the meaning changes with the situation, which can make things a bit difficult if English is not your first language, lol. Or is it the same in all languages ?

  17. 33 Mordwyn
    April 1, 2010 at 03:14

    I’ve just found your wonderful webcomic and devoured the entire thing. It’s absolutely fabulous and an inspiration.

    I’m currently teaching 3D image techniques using ‘Poser’ to my college computing class (in Australia), and with your permission I would love to direct them to this site to see the sorts of things that you have done. Not only your images but your descriptions of the design process you went through would be invaluable.

    Looking forward to your next posting.

    • 34 Nhani
      April 1, 2010 at 10:04

      Hah, well I’d be honored! – especially since I tend to maintain that I’m technically at amateur level!

      I’m not sure how much the facial expressions work the same way, seeing how I have a significant list of morphs that combine into the given expressions and poser might be using bones..? I actually don’t know that much of how it works, to be honest.

      Still, if it helps I could try to make a post over on Thoughts for Food on the overall process from idea to finished scene; provided I can assemble my mental facilities together enough for it – bastard cough that won’t go away likes to eat at my feeble attempts of concentration. >:/

  18. April 15, 2010 at 02:52

    Actually, the thing which probably sticks out most on Areen is her elbows. While the overall rattle of armor could well be lost in the various mechanical sounds of the Mast Room (and the Foundry for that matter), a piece of metal bonking a nice resonant door could be easier to notice.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


