20
May
10

#198 – “Destroy him, my robot!”



I suppose “impossible” would be true from his perspective. ..and no, I don’t think anyone will catch that reference. Ahem.

There was a line I wanted to put in that ultimately didn’t make it for reasons of space and flow – I wanted Gilnid to drop a line saying something like “If you don’t get back to work, I’ll have Sneed use you for testing his Shredder!”, just to give a sense of.. well.. interaction, I suppose. Oddly enough, while Gilnid is probably the most forgettable encounter in the entirety of Deadmines, being overshadowed by the rifle-wielding, golem-summoning goblin minions, he’s one of the few that the Sourcebooks actually elaborate on. I didn’t want to pass by him – part for that reason, part because it gave Tiny a chance to do something in a combat situation.

And yeah, I know I’ve been quiet lately; I’ve been busy, plenty of things I’ve had to get done – some with Beyond the Tree, in fact.

Edit: Probably no update on sunday (23’rd), I’m afraid – somehow failed to sleep the night beforehand, so I doubt I’ll be awake enough to actually put something seeming even remotely sensible together.

22 Responses to “#198 – “Destroy him, my robot!””


  1. May 20, 2010 at 23:03

    Hmmm…Hani is not seen on this page…i suggest we all take cover immediately. Those of you in the front row…you will get wet.

  2. 2 Nirene Feathersong
    May 21, 2010 at 00:31

    I was about to say that. There’s nothing worse than a silent assassin – can’t say the same about Rei and her addiction to mechanical, destructive devices though…

  3. May 21, 2010 at 01:03

    A shame I cant post my youtube song and dance video on the Deadmines anymore….I expect all those gobbo’s to be dancing like crazy haha.
    Awesome issue like allways, you can see Tiny is having a blast (pun may be intended if there will be a blast).

    Wonder what it is yuor doing off screen Esteemed hostess.

    • 4 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      May 21, 2010 at 11:30

      Does that happen to be the same video posted about the Deadmines on the WoW Europe YT account? I remember one there from before. If it’s still there, I don’t know, but yeah…

      • 5 Frostsaben
        May 21, 2010 at 12:28

        That’s a really great song if it’s the one I’m thinking about, remake of “Welcome to the jungle” from Guns’n’Roses in WoW style :)

  4. 6 LolDrood
    May 21, 2010 at 08:03

    I still call ‘Tiny as Ripley’ by proxy.

    Damn right, Kethlan.
    “Now I make my escape, never to be seen again! Unless I want to be seen! In which case, if I see you before you see me: look out!”

    • 7 LolDrood
      May 21, 2010 at 08:05

      Whoop. Forgot to add that Gorvar is right. I had that playing when I re-read up through all the current Deadmines content. Lolz0rs.

  5. 8 Moltrazahn
    May 21, 2010 at 08:07

    I hope the robit evolves selfawareness and becomes Tinys new pet through the series… good comics need a pet robot! *nodnod* … But no, As allways Rei is win :P… and shows she must be Eng as prof!… which makes sence, she would need a parashoot to come down from tall people now and then *nods sagely*

    As for taking time, said it before, saying it again… the wait is WORTH it :) your great at this thing, so having a life next to it, well your human too no? (or elf, not sure at times with the tales of Nhani the divine one :D )

  6. 9 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    May 21, 2010 at 11:37

    Now see…if that was me I’d avoid attention and silently remark at the cut-off words.

    Goblin: “Whoever’s holding that remote, I’d suggest getting back to work immediately or I’ll–”
    *cut-slash-gore*
    Me: *grin* “No you won’t…”

    Nice for Tiny to get a bit of fame-time, though. And her first kill in the comic, I believe! Not too sure if the exploding shrapnel from the barrel counts as killing as I remember Hani needing to stick one through.

    However…seeing how there is no Hani here…a Hani update? Watch this space, I believe the term is…

  7. 10 Frostsaben
    May 21, 2010 at 12:35

    And it’s great seeing Tiny finally dps-ing… till now they’ve been carring her for the fun factor, but when they wanted to vote-kick her she summons her engineering buddy.
    Well, the downside of beeing cursed with the touch of zanzil. And of trying to level her unnarmed skill.

    Beeing a little serious now, it’s great to see Tiny’s better reaction in a fighting situation, sure we heard her talking till now, but not doing that much, one could mistaken her for… how the saying sais a dog that barks but not bites.

  8. May 21, 2010 at 17:58

    WAIT!

    Wait, wait, wait, waitwaitwait…we’ve had several panels of goblin engineering now, and except for the one that was helped along by our pwning paladin of short stature, nothing’s blown up on its own accord!

    WHAT KIND OF GOBLIN ENGINEERING IS THIS? It’s SUPPOSED to have a 21% probability rate of complete disaster hard-wired into it! Or is that 17%? Maybe it’s 16.835%? 16.21753—BOOM!

    • 12 Nhani
      May 21, 2010 at 18:13

      Ah but you see, the engineering that the Defias Brotherhood rely on are created by Gilnid, a goblin so wicked about his quest for creating automatons that he was thrown out of Booty Bay itself!

      Clearly part of the reason for his exile must be an obsession with following safety regulations, for what self-respecting Goblin would tolerate such a heinous work ethic!

      ..then again, he clearly managed to.. ah.. hire some minions somehow..

    • 14 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      May 22, 2010 at 10:12

      I’m not normally one for short comments…but I can’t think of much else to say other than this:

      I lol’d.

  9. 15 Baalzie
    May 22, 2010 at 10:30

    Hmmm Is that goblin in square one having a “bad ear day”?
    His left ear seems a tad… Droopy… ;)
    Excellent as always, I might need to propose soon! =O

    • 16 Nhani
      May 22, 2010 at 11:06

      That’s actually part of the Goblin male work animation – their ears go like that during it; I just turned his head around a little and made the grin less cheerful. I did consider whether or not to fix the ear, but it seemed fitting with the whole “argh I am being yelled at.” premise.

    • 17 Yerdiss
      May 22, 2010 at 14:55

      Well, they do lack the hair for a bad hair day, so bad ear day is the logical alternative :P I found it very fitting

  10. 18 Tucker
    May 22, 2010 at 16:34

    “..and no, I don’t think anyone will catch that reference. Ahem.”

    I got a big smile as I saw the title for this page.
    That game really deserved it’s name. Fun, but very hard in some places.
    I have a feeling the group aren’t planning to go along with the other famous quote either.

    • 19 Nhani
      May 22, 2010 at 18:38

      Hah, well that’s a surprise!

      I’ll admit I played the sequel a whole lot more than the original; never completed either of them, mind you, but still. Quite sure I played the sequel first, in fact.

  11. 20 Évá Bloodlight
    May 22, 2010 at 20:37

    All i can say reguarding frame 5 is “Pow right in the kisser!”
    Just found this comic and read it from page one and i love it, Tiny is awsome wish i had her as a traveling companion. look forward to seeing more.

  12. 21 Gryffyn
    May 24, 2010 at 00:19

    Now, if you wanted an awful pun for the title it should have been “Battery…included”

  13. January 24, 2013 at 23:54

    What’s up, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, as this point in time i am reading this great informative post here at my home.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


