30
May
10

#199 – “It Slices, It Dices”



I know, I know, it’s been a week. I’ve been busy? That and other things; there’s a whole lot of things I’ve essentially had to get done, which means that it’s been a tad harder to focus on yet another thing that “has to” get done; it’s just another week or two before it should calm down, so hopefully that’ll help. I did hit something of a hitch however because apparently.. the huge final cavern in the Deadmines with the ship and all? I thought it was all modelled, but apparently.. the actual cave is made through the terrain system instead, with the result that I can’t actually export it.. which means I’m actually somewhat at a loss at how exactly how exactly I want to handle it. Having a 3D environment that the characters can interact with would be great.. but then I either need to do some pretty zany matching up with backdrops, or invent some cavern ground out of nowhere and hope the difference won’t stand out too much.

20 Responses to “#199 – “It Slices, It Dices””


  1. 1 Delanii Moonfury
    May 30, 2010 at 16:28

    Awsome! loved it! well worth the wait ^^
    I hope things work out for you and make the comic
    at your own pace : )

  2. May 30, 2010 at 20:08

    Just noticed this is post 199…maybe that’s why there is a delay?
    On topic, loved the goblins here

  3. 3 Fokker
    May 30, 2010 at 21:42

    Gettin’ close to 200. I expect something big to happen :D

  4. 4 venci
    May 31, 2010 at 05:55

    nhani wowmodelviewer made a modification to export adt’s(to export terrains) but idk when they’ll build it(i would build it but i errors) or if you want there’s a tool named machinimastudio(it cost money but it works) hope you figure it out

  5. 5 Frostsaben
    May 31, 2010 at 05:58

    This page was worth the waiting!
    The actions of Tiny and the reactions of the goblins make me happy. Thank you :)

  6. 6 venci
    May 31, 2010 at 07:31

    urm the ship ain’t in the adt.It’s in the wmo of deadmines it’s in az_deadmines_b.wmo
    so world/wmo/dungeon/az_deadmines/az_deadmines_b.wmo

  7. 9 saila aka wester
    May 31, 2010 at 10:05

    I spend 3 hours yesterday listening to carameldancen so know i can´t get the song out of my head. anyway would anyone more then me to see the beyond the tree cast to dance that song?

  8. 10 Thalis
    May 31, 2010 at 12:05

    When I recently quested in Darkshore, it was fun to stumble upon characters mentioned in your work. When I got to Onu, I said something like “Hey, that’s that Ancient of Bore” and Gnome Cultist shouting “Mommy” was strongly familiar. It even inspired me to re-read first chapters again.
    One question – do you have some sort of scrolling menu on your “to do” list? It was slightly inconvenient trying to find specific page by spamming “next” or “previous”, some sort of drop-down menu would be nice addition.

    • 11 Nhani
      June 3, 2010 at 00:14

      Unfortunately, me knowing there’s no auto-created archive function; or rather, there’s a page template of sorts available for it, but last I checked, the theme I use doesn’t support that, so I have no way of making any kind of auto-assembled archive.

      Or if I do, I don’t know of it, in the very least.

      I’ve been thinking about putting something together manually, but that’d essentially be me manually linking to every single page so far, so it’d take quite awhile to put together, and would likely only end up updated sporadically. Maybe something to make after a chapter is over, or somesuch.

  9. 12 Maira
    June 2, 2010 at 02:34

    “Run for your little green lives!”

    Madam Nhani:
    You have made my year.
    Many thanks,
    -Maira.

  10. 13 Anoyingbastardnotworthlisteningto
    June 2, 2010 at 23:10

    The comic has an awsome storyling, realistic artwork and interesting characters, but every cameo that’s of a Horde default race has so far gotten the crap beaten out of them. =( It’s like it’s biased toward Alli (yeah I know stupid thing to complain about since the characters are Alli but there you go)

    But yeah… aside from that, redundantly, the BtT is pretty sweet.

    • 14 Nhani
      June 3, 2010 at 00:08

      Actually, one of the earlier decisions I made regarding the narrative of Beyond the Tree was that for Story Arc One (which we’re still on), I wouldn’t touch the Horde. At all. And then essentially saving the Horde for Story Arc Two, so I could instead go all out on putting it mostly in Horde territory and making a story that in part has to do with the Alliance/Horde conflict and the cast having to try to sort that out.

      So far, any Horde race we’ve come across have been part of either the Twilight’s Hammer or the Dark Strand cults, and members of those have generally gotten the crap beaten out of them regardless of race or gender.

      I full well intend to have Horde on both good and bad sides once I actually end up touching upon them, most notably the Fifth Cast Member(tm) who’ll be from the Horde, but neither of those will come up until Arc Two. I also intend to in the least try to sneak in a Crowning Moment of Awesome or two for Thrall if I can, for one.

      • 15 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        June 3, 2010 at 02:27

        WTB more Awesome Thrall moments. \o/

        Sorry. I just wanted to say that. Delete if you wish. *cough*

        • June 3, 2010 at 09:13

          Thrall IS awesome, he’s up there with Chuck Norris.
          In fact he’s so though that he doesn’t need to be Warchief to be awesome u.u

          Personally I’m a big Horde fanboi myself, but I dont mind this Alliance based cast, after all the characters are cool in their own unique way.

          However I do eagery await the 5th character and how he/she will influence the party.

  11. June 3, 2010 at 09:17

    Just realized the title of this issue is the same attack move from Grom Hellscream from Warcraft 2!

    It’s Around 02:00

    • 18 Nhani
      June 3, 2010 at 09:27

      Actually, there’s a rather important difference – “Slice and Dice” (which Grom says) is generally about relentless killing, while “it slices! it dices!” is more of a spoof of TV adverts for kitchen apparel.

      That said, I’ll admit I always found it hilarious how Grom had this high-pitched squeal of a voice in WarCraft II, like he was half-goblin or whatnot. It gets especially funny when you compare it to Blizzard trying to give him a grim badass voice in WarCraft III.

      And now for further amusement, picture all his WarCraft III dialogue.. in his WarCraft II voice.

      • June 3, 2010 at 09:40

        Thank you, you just ruined the Orc ending cinematic hahaha.

        ‘Thraaaaaall, the blood haze has liiiifteeed!’

        To be fair it’s what you expect of ‘Hellscream’ right, high pitched screechy voice that would liquify your soul? Imagine him using intimidating shout….

  12. September 24, 2011 at 05:43

    It slices! It dices! It whacks! It spins! ITS IN THE HANDS OF A PSYCHOTIC NIGHT ELF! RUN FOR YOUR LITTLE GREEN LIVES!

    Imagine her in control of the For Reaper 5000. ^^


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


