03
Jun
10

#200 – “Distant People, Distant Places”



Well there’s two faces we haven’t seen in awhile.

I was rather lucky with page #100 – the way it ended up timed, it was easy to sneak in a flashback scene in a way that felt it belonged. For this page.. we’re in the middle of essentially a dungeon crawl – not quite as suitable. So instead, I decided we could stop by a few friends on the other side of the world and see how things are on their end. I still have the odd added flashback in mind, but I’ll hold on to those until more suitable moments.

As an added note, there won’t be an update on Sunday; I simply won’t have time for it. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get one done for the thursday following that, though.

28 Responses to “#200 – “Distant People, Distant Places””


  1. 1 First?
    June 3, 2010 at 21:13

    First :D

    Awesome comic aswell <3

  2. 2 Foggy
    June 3, 2010 at 21:23

    Great idea! I love stories with different lines. It adds more depth to the whole thing. Please more of that.

  3. 3 Skyll K. Chagorantis
    June 3, 2010 at 21:27

    Wonderful renderings! Last picture was sublime,
    and the pose of the wolf in the picture just above,
    you must have tinkered with it as well. Good job.

    And nice again with some intermissions!

  4. 4 Ilyara
    June 4, 2010 at 00:52

    Dagri! :3

  5. 5 LolDrood
    June 4, 2010 at 00:52

    I can’t see Raene anymore without thinking of her sweet ride, all 8 cylinders roaring.

    I’m starting a pool right now: $5 says Hani was kicked out for stealing Staghelm’s pic-a-nic baskets.

  6. June 4, 2010 at 01:00

    Nice to see Dagri in the comic, but where’s Korra?

    • 9 LolDrood
      June 4, 2010 at 02:01

      Waitin in the side car. BRUUUM!!!

    • 11 Frostsaben
      June 4, 2010 at 19:40

      wanted to ask the same

      • 12 Nhani
        June 6, 2010 at 08:25

        Interestingly, while both Dagri and Korra tends to be around Raene in the Astranaar inn, only Dagri is actually listed directly as Raene’s pet; furthermore, Korra seems to occasionally wander off to take a nap.

        The conclusion I ultimately decided to draw was that Korra is more of an Astranaar mascot of sorts, making Dagri the only one that Raene has along to places.

  7. June 4, 2010 at 13:27

    It’s good to see Dagren and Reane again!
    Espcially since my Draenei is working with her a lot lately, makes you feel like your part of this comic haha.

    Clearly Reane is a tad sad Hani didn’t come to see her before she left..wonder why?

    No worries bout Sunday Esteemed Hostess, it’s your hobby not a job.

  8. 14 Frostsaben
    June 4, 2010 at 19:42

    By the way, congratulations on reaching the 200 boundary!

  9. 15 Moltrazahn
    June 5, 2010 at 00:26

    Ive missed Reane, glad to see her ^^. Still, one would assume that it would be some weeks since they said theyr farewells, with the whole boattrip and all, Still, great to see them again :)

    • 16 Nhani
      June 6, 2010 at 08:34

      I roughly tend to picture it having been something around one or two months or so, all in all. Time isn’t explicitly stated because it’s easier to work out continuity with a looser passage of time, especially since I don’t show every single day/night cycle.

  10. 17 Fyrina
    June 5, 2010 at 01:55

    It’s indeed very nice to see two old familiar faces again, and the change of scenery back to the Kaldorei forests was a really sweet surprise.

    Keep it up Nhani, I’ve loved Beyond the Tree ever since I started reading it every update somewhere in the 70’s (pages). Looking forward to the next page every single time, and that won’t be different now either.

    Also, congratulations on reaching 200 pages! Counting out the pages which have an “a)” part and a “b)” part.

  11. 18 Nirene Feathersong
    June 6, 2010 at 01:24

    Very good intermission, I say. I never really came to the thought that Raene never got to say good bye to Hani before she left for Stormwind. In fact, it surprises me that Raene never got to know about Hani’s “exile”.

    Anyway, I got a little curious about the 3:rd frame. Is Delgren looking down on Dagri like Balthule does, or is he looking down on Raene’s “private parts”? I mean, it wouldn’t be much of a surprise if he’d do something lewd like that, considering what she’s wearing and all … ahem, I should stop now >.<

    • 19 Nhani
      June 6, 2010 at 08:20

      The idea I was actually aiming for is that both Delgren and Balthule (good catch, that, by the how – was wondering if anyone would pick up on him being there) are essentially bowing their heads in respect towards her; the sourcebooks tend to imply that she’s not only the head Sentinel of Astranaar (if not Ashenvale in its entirety) but also serves as something of its mayor/head councilor as necessary.

      As for Raene knowing about Hani being exiled.. I think it was something done rather quietly, especially with Hani walking to the ship on her own. I’d imagine the Sentinels who have been told to watch for her aren’t really keen on openly spreading how a particular stain on their honor reached a new low.

    • 20 Ilyara
      June 6, 2010 at 08:22

      I figured they were both bowing their heads to the commander…or possibly to Dagri I guess :D

      • 21 Expala
        June 6, 2010 at 22:35

        I have to say that my mind kinda went dirty as well when I saw Del bowing his head in that 3rd slide… Forgive me =P

  12. 22 Timber Wolf
    June 6, 2010 at 02:31

    It would be so awesome if she ended up joining them, tho the series could use a male counterpart, but not Delgren…

  13. 24 Iasion
    June 6, 2010 at 03:14

    It’s a wonder how a paladin can maintain purity when working with tall, beautiful women in warrior lingerie. Sometimes makes me wish I was alliance… sometimes. ^_~

    /kiss @ Commander Wolfrunner

  14. 25 Fokker
    June 6, 2010 at 09:48

    Yey! Raene! :D
    Great page Nhani. I also like it from technical point of view. Most of your previous outdoor-shots seemed tad overlighted, the characters stood out too much, almost giving an impression of so-called “Filter rape”.
    This one is just perfect.

    • 26 Nhani
      June 6, 2010 at 10:57

      Ironically, this is actually an old chapter 2 or 3 (or so) lighting environment I re-used, albeit with a few tweaks. That said, I admit I was a little heavy-handed on the bloom back then.

  15. 27 Weertangel
    June 7, 2010 at 16:48

    I have’t played WoW for a while so its nice to see some old faces back :) (ofc the fact that Raene looks simply Amazing helps also)
    And Congrats with the 200th page!! i hope u keep it up till the next 100 and beyond that!!

  16. 28 Mojar
    June 8, 2010 at 20:51

    Yay Raene!!! I missed seeing her and Tyrande :]


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


