01
Jul
10

#204 – “The Climbing One”



Remember, even if you happen to be a thieving would-be pirate hiding away on a half-built naval Juggernaut, you still don’t get to ignore proper terminology.

31 Responses to “#204 – “The Climbing One””


  1. 1 Ilyara
    July 1, 2010 at 18:35

    Really, really gorgeous looking scene: huge props to Blizzard’s art department and your direction/modelling efforts. The past two pages really show off what this comic can accomplish visually.

    It’s a lovely scene too. I completely sympathise with the pedantic pirate: these things matter! ;D

  2. 2 Ripwarrior
    July 1, 2010 at 18:36

    She is so close to kick that guy into the water, I know I’d be xD would be bad since he might Discover Hani then :P

  3. 3 Liza
    July 1, 2010 at 18:51

    Two things I especially love abuot this instalment: the lighting effects in general and specifically the gorgeous use of shadow in panel 3 – wow! and 2) the female pirate’s FACE in panel 7 – I lol’d irl. “ngh!” heheheheheheeheheheheheh.

  4. 4 megafire
    July 1, 2010 at 20:26

    Im a fan of ur comics keep making more

  5. 5 Synchronizor
    July 1, 2010 at 20:30

    I’m hoping you’re not going to skip the Mr. Smite encounter, Nhani. I always thought that was a cool fight with his weapon-switching mechanic, and was looking forward to seeing Hani go toe-to-toe (or would it be hoof?) with him.

  6. 6 Fenrisu
    July 1, 2010 at 20:31

    Aaah, I wish the mobs, in DM actually had conversations like these…

    Great page as always!

    • 7 Nhani
      July 2, 2010 at 16:28

      For a piece of random trivia, the dialogue actually came together as a nod to a TV series called Bugs that existed some, what.. 15 years ago? One episode had characters Ed and Beckett having bits of dialogue regarding boats and ships, concluding in Beckett pointing out that a Gunship is actually a helicopter..

      I wanted to sneak some derivative dialogue in somewhere, so these two defias underlings seemed suitable; I rather like underlings having opinins and nattering amongst themselves – helps creating the illusion that they’re more than just blank automatons.

  7. 9 Iasion
    July 2, 2010 at 07:50

    Either that pirate girl was tall, or the pirate guy was just short. It kinda’ added to the comedy of the situation. :p

    I’ve always wished you could alter your character’s height in WoW. :\

    • 10 Nhani
      July 2, 2010 at 16:23

      It’s the guy that’s short, actually; I made the pirates in purple shirts a bit shorter (not sure how much now.. maybe 10%?) than the ones in white. The difference is even greater if you put a white-shirted guy next to a purple-shirted woman.

      And yes, height adds interesting variety.

  8. 11 Fokker
    July 2, 2010 at 09:29

    The third panel is awesome. I’d sure like it as a wallpaper :D

  9. 14 Khordam
    July 2, 2010 at 09:35

    I hope you’ll forgive me for being a little bit proud, but… the lowered saturation just makes the dark look so much more awesome. In other words, this comic positively rocks, and so do you.

    • 15 Nhani
      July 2, 2010 at 16:29

      I do like the idea; after some poking, focus testing with two of my fellow nubs also thumbed up on the result, so I ran with it. Does create more work for me since I couldn’t convince 3ds to do it for me and instead had to fiddle the saturation layer manually, but it’s not that bad.

  10. 16 megafire
    July 2, 2010 at 18:15

    Please please update 2 days a week!
    Or tell me WHEN you update! PLEASE THESE ARE SOOO GOOD don’t do what the messy cow writer did and stop all of a sudden not finishing leaving people sad!

    • 17 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      July 2, 2010 at 19:29

      Messy cow writer…? /brow

      Normally updates are every Thursday and Monday I believe (and Nhani can correct me if I’m wrong) but people have lives beyond this screen, so don’t be surprised if Nhani’s hit a wall someplace and can’t post on a certain day or something.

      • 18 Nhani
        July 2, 2010 at 20:22

        Thursday and Sunday, actually. Though usually late enough in the day that many won’t see the update until the morning/day after that.

        And yes, skipped days does happen; it’s quite a bit of work, and some days I’ll be too busy or simply won’t be up for it for one reason or another. But in general it’s Thursdays and Sundays.

  11. 24 Elnória
    July 2, 2010 at 19:59

    Interestingly I stumbled upon a quest earlier this very day in which a goblin — mayhap it was in fact the great Gazlowe? — dealt with this particular ship-or-boat matter in a brief monologue. Nothing real fancy or anything, just thought it was a fun happening.

    I adore the environment you’ve cooked up with all the torches, Nhani, it makes me feel fuzzy! Thanks for awesome entertainment, and keep up the good work! :-)

  12. 25 Tessa
    July 2, 2010 at 20:28

    You know, I never actually post comments. Anywhere. Well, maybe once or twice at some other web comic. But this time I felt like I had to.
    I mean, look at panel 3… It looks so amazingly good. Tbh, you managed to make it look like what those huge companies make for consoles like the PS3 (Or at least PS2 and PSP). And WoW graphics are FAR behind on that (which means that you accomplished something that good, with less!). So yeah, good job!

    PS: I also would want that as wallpaper!

    • 26 Nhani
      July 2, 2010 at 21:01

      Technically, since I use a complete rendering studio to produce the images, I have a fair bit more potential for visuals than World of Warcraft’s aging engine can pull; that said, I find it somewhat ironic/frustrating that things like soft shadows which modern games can do in realtime, I don’t really know how to acomplish half the time, and have to many times spend over a minute rendering a single frame of.

      Games get to take interesting shortcuts – I wish I could utilize them, heh.

      In either case, I actually did put together a larger render already, which can be found over on Thoughts for Food via this link.

  13. 27 LolDrood
    July 3, 2010 at 04:58

    But is it a Galleon, a Man-of-War, or a pre-Dreadnought battleship? My money is on Man-of-War, simply due to the lack of any large-caliber, wide angle top turrets, and the lack of metal plating armor. I suppose the internal combustion propulsion, instead of sails, sorta of classifies it as a Man-of-War / Pre-Dreadnought hybrid. Like if they skipped the iron-clad stage of warship design.
    We need us some displacement tonnage. to solve this conundrum.

  14. 28 Coragon
    July 3, 2010 at 10:45

    Boats!…sorry…ships! Now that’s my kind of topic.

    That vessel, I reckon, is a wow version of a horde juggernaught. Possibly a bit modified to suit defias needs.

    Anyway, figured t’was about time I dropped by and commented on your exceptional comic, Nhani! Great work, especielly on the shadows of the latest couple o’ ones.

    I have to ask though, did I really come across that grumpy back in the day? :(

    • 29 Nhani
      July 3, 2010 at 11:29

      Bwhahahaa xD

      Well, no, not really; while Horace Cravenrest is intended as a bit of the grumpy “why always me?” sort of mentality (which I do think is one of Coragon’s standing elements, seeing how fate always seem to enjoy kicking him around whenever he finds peace), the reason he comes across as.. well.. rather frustrated is largely because of his running into the duo. I always figured them as a pair that can be really difficult to deal with if you take the wrong approach or simply don’t know how to deal with them, which most don’t.

      This is the same duo that managed to shake Delgren’s calm and patient air, so I think our poor Stormwind City Guard Captain largely finds them a headache he can’t seem to escape. I always figured that within the narrative of the comic, they’re the reason he ends up getting himself reassigned later, ironically ensuring that he comes across them yet again.

  15. 30 Yey Science
    July 4, 2010 at 19:26

    DERP ATTEMPT AT HUMOR DERP.

  16. 31 Nirene Feathersong
    July 4, 2010 at 23:13

    You, my defias man, are a perfectionist! ;P


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


