18
Feb
11

#251 – “Stormwind City Rapids”



It’s only about an hour late, it’s not that bad! ..what’s that? A week? uhm…

So I’ve been busy, you know how it is. Barely even had much spare time in the weekend, so it’s been quite hefty. Anyhow.

Showing the group in a crowd is usually something I find fun to do – except for the cases when it’s a pain in the backside – because it both makes them stand out and really puts them out of their element. Hani and Te’len both generally tower over a crowd of humans, and neither is very comfortable with so many complete strangers that up close, and Areen essentially just disappears into a sea of legs.

26 Responses to “#251 – “Stormwind City Rapids””


  1. 1 Timber Wolf
    February 18, 2011 at 00:52

    I sense pain… someone’s about to get hurt.

  2. 2 Kevin
    February 18, 2011 at 02:10

    Rolfmao , i like hanis face x3 shes ganna kill somone

  3. 3 Telaani
    February 18, 2011 at 02:53

    Hani should be glad the many people in the trade district aren’t parading their BIG mammoth/drake/spaghetti monster mounts around. I swear, you can’t even see the sun sometimes ._.

  4. 9 Kayeri
    February 18, 2011 at 06:09

    Hm… while I love what you’ve done with the models introducing subtle variation like muscle tone on Hani compared to Te’len and height differences between them, I am noticing that Te’len seems to be getting continually shorter than Hani, or am I missing a perspective somewhere to account for that?

    Love the characters, love the story, so I am just wondering what I’m seeing.

    • 10 Nhani
      February 18, 2011 at 11:37

      In this page it’s largely pose and perspective (though Stormwind’s very un-planed roads is also part to blame); Hani’s both standing straighter, looking forwards and is often right up by the camera, while Te’len is more towards the middle of the focus.

      I think much of it comes from my often having the perspective camera very up close, or that I simply use the perspective camera over a more defined and specific one.

  5. 11 Cobs
    February 18, 2011 at 06:10

    Oh, my! I saw a High Elf!

    And on top of that… There were two dark clad persons who seemed VERY familiar. I wager it were a certain P and V. ^_^

    • 12 Nhani
      February 18, 2011 at 11:47

      Two high elves actually – though the second one is a little less obvious. As for the mysterious P and V, they have mysteriously infiltrated two panes, very cunning of them. Their cunning stealth also makes them shrouded enough that it should hide any details I might’ve missed as I somehow didn’t have any reference screenshots and had to go by the rather small pictures in the armory.

      I was sure I’d taken pictures for reference.. maybe they stole them! >;O

  6. 15 LolDrood
    February 18, 2011 at 08:25

    Ehhh, I don’t like the “Old Man Getting Killed” channel.

    Oof, Te’len is gunna have a hard time explaining this black eye. “No, no, I just accidentally ran into the pommel of her sword” only raises more questions.

    • 16 Nhani
      February 18, 2011 at 11:41

      Hani’s actually looking at Te’len in the last pane – the old man is just an unlucky remnant from a cut portion of pane four (clearly Hani’s glare there was enough to freeze him for the following four panes)

      As for these mysterious questions, I shall avoid raising them myself, for it feels wise to take such course.

  7. 17 saila AKS Wester
    February 18, 2011 at 09:13

    to thye sky… or to the roof. I think that is what Tiny have cooked to getter as an plan.
    and lore wise it sould be no problem to move around on the roofs whit out hitting ground ones…
    well maybe at the canal but that is well… it dont cont.

  8. 18 Telaani
    February 19, 2011 at 12:10

    Oh by the way, the fellow wearing chainmail looks like he could be Delgren’s twin. The question now is, which one is the EVIL twin /shifty eyed

  9. 20 saila AKS Wester
    February 19, 2011 at 12:34

    just noted that theres one wearing whit scale mail and adventure pants, blond shoulder long hair. well he is walking in the opposite direction in the first panel and turns in the 4 panel.
    have cathed up whit the party at the 6 panel and is waling next to them.
    seen in the 8 panel at the left side (face only).
    also is that the high elf at the 6 whit the blond bob(is it correct name) hair? at the fares off from the camera in the center?

  10. 21 GRYFFYN
    February 20, 2011 at 17:02

    Too bad this couldn’t have been in Dalaran at its most popular. Imagine a big Tauren warrior in full plate bumping into Hani?

    • February 21, 2011 at 00:24

      Thats one of the problems I had with Dalaran… all the hordies in their intimidating armor. I usually hid in the Silver Enclave… it was nicer in there.

      Also, the addition of the two high elves makes me happy. The female looks like the stable master in Dal, Tassia Whisperglen, who also has the same model as the default “High Elf Pilgrim” from the restored sunwell. The less obvious one is a male next to Te’len in the middle of the archway in the last panel. I gotta say, he blends in pretty well from that distance. Looks like Aeman Brightsong from the Allerian Stronghold… and the fact that I know that without looking at the wiki says something about me… D:

      Uh… another great page! I cant wait for the next one! :D

  11. 23 Syrendipity
    February 21, 2011 at 12:39

    One of the things I really love is the gnome paladin love. I so wish that Blizz extends the gnome classes by one.

  12. 24 snarkamedes
    February 21, 2011 at 16:24

    Note Areen appears to have no trouble moving around the city. Obviously, over the years, your avg. Stillbreeze resident has subconciously learnt to avoid tripping over plate-clad gnomes despite probably not actually noticing them.

  13. 25 Mattias
    February 22, 2011 at 23:05

    Wow… I just read the whole comic today and the only thing I can think of is how amazingly well-made it is. Favorite part was in the Deadmines where Tiny picked the locks.

    And… Now I am sad that I have come to the journeys end so far and can only say DO WANT MOAR!


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


