27
Feb
11

#253 – “Crashing Down”



This is yet another example (much like most of the Deadmines, really..) of a case where I took a small sort of event that I figured I’d just sneak in as a few panes within another page and then thought about it and decided that I probably really should expand on it a little more than that. In this case I’d just planned to put the descent in the background as they were talking about something completely different and have it over with.. but as I was looking around the scene, I suddenly felt that the descent itself needed its own page somehow. And then, of course, I needed to come up with why it should take an entire page and.. yeah. Here we are.

I know I’ve said it many times before, but as far as character growth goes, I tend to find the interaction between Hani and Te’len some of the most interesting because of how different they are. Seeing them building a rapport when under normal circumstances they likely wouldn’t even have given eachother a second thought is something I rather enjoy.

8 Responses to “#253 – “Crashing Down””


  1. 1 Cobs
    February 27, 2011 at 23:54

    Keeping cool Hani’s keeping cool. \=)

  2. 2 Telaani
    February 28, 2011 at 00:03

    Is it me, or is the man in panel one’s background throwing the whole scene a passive ‘oh, there’s something you don’t see every day!’ glance? ^^

    • 3 Elnória
      February 28, 2011 at 17:38

      I was thinking the same thing! And I always admired that kind of people, who can just accept life’s oddities with the rise of a brow and a ‘Well, whaddya know!’. :-)

      Overall, a very sweet page. It’s cute to see Hani catching Areen, armour and all; and the whole roof-climbing business has had me think of the early parts of Final Fantasy IX, which isn’t a bad association. Come to think, Te’len does share some traits with Vivi Ornitier, at least in that she’s far more capable than she’ll want to admit. And in that she didn’t enjoy climbing roofs.

  3. 4 loldrood
    February 28, 2011 at 05:37

    I’m counting panel 4 as a hug :3

  4. 5 Iscarti
    February 28, 2011 at 06:22

    In the panel where Te’len is falling down it looks like part of the thumb on the right hand came off. Other then that though, AWESOME!

    • 6 Cobs
      February 28, 2011 at 17:42

      Hopefully just Tiny’s hand partly hidden by Areen’s hairtop. At least that’s how I saw it.

      • 7 Zazkya
        March 1, 2011 at 00:21

        Yes, Tiny’s hand, look at the colour.

      • 8 Nhani
        March 1, 2011 at 01:29

        Yes, it’s Tiny’s hand – as the render was initially envisioned, I intended for Tiny and Areen to be fully visible, but as I was placing it.. that really didn’t look all that well, so I cut it where I did.

        Having seen the render beyond the cropped region, I admit the interpretation that Te’len’s thumb might have dislodged itself from her hand is one I never would’ve considered.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


