06
Mar
11

#255 – “Your Paladin is in Another Cathedral”



You may recall my complaining about trying to get Cathedral square into 3ds from the last page; it’s fair to say that the cathedral itself proved equally resistant. After spending over an hour just trying to force it in piecemeal so the ObjImporter wouldn’t devour all memory and die a bloated death it finally managed to materialize. And then after that finding out that several textures had been assigned all wrong and.. yeah. I spent the better part of saturday just working the cathedral with the geometry, textures, lighting, doodads and inhabitants. This not counting quite a few hours earlier in the week on a few other models and yeah. Quite a bit of work went into getting this page done on time.

Cameos is one of those things that I often find myself somewhat torn about – on one hand, they can be great fun, and some quite popular minor reoccuring characters started as just that. On the other hand, I don’t want to feel like Beyond the Tree is about showing off people I know, or that people will think that getting on well with ‘ol Moonfall nets you a spot – neither of those are really the case. Sometimes I just come upon a situation where I need a certain type of character to hand out a plot coupon, and there’s no NPC immediately attached to the context, and I have the choice of either dragging an NPC into it, inventing a character for it or remembering someone I know that seems to fit the bill.

Besides, it gave me the chance of showing Areen as being part of something larger.

34 Responses to “#255 – “Your Paladin is in Another Cathedral””


  1. 1 Bleeters
    March 6, 2011 at 05:47

    I guess the cathedral didn’t have any gnome sized tabards available, huh :(

  2. 2 LolDrood
    March 6, 2011 at 06:27

    Uh oh. Our heroes wandered down the wrong dark abby, and right into a paladin street gang!

  3. 3 Kevin
    March 6, 2011 at 10:26

    honestly, i posted this site on my facebook page, and all my freinds seemd to like it
    They all asked me to say “Great work, its looks unbelivable comepared to the game, and we look forward to more” thats the jist of it anyway, good luck and good work

  4. 5 Fokker
    March 6, 2011 at 11:44

    New eyes look so awesome in this page.
    And that’s a lot of pallies. Ffffffffuuuu….

  5. 7 Gaeran
    March 6, 2011 at 12:20

    ..where they plot and scheme the demise of YOU ALL! Bwahahahahaha~~. Oh wait, we’re not cultists, are we?

  6. 8 MysteriousP
    March 6, 2011 at 15:15

    Nhaaaaani!
    Previously I have always talked to you directly, one to one about how much I enjoy a particular page but today I have to unlurk and shower you with praise out in the open! All your hard work and fustration with the Cathedral over the last few days has paid off and produced an end result that is fantastic and a real credit to you. The doors and the pews are so perfect and fit in seemlessly, serving to actually make this look like a major improvement on what is an already impressive space ingame. I love love love the candles framing and bookending the view in P1 and you got Lord Grayson in there too! \o/

    The dialogue is so spot on, having a polite restrained approach that rings true of these career paladins, but also that genuine helpful attitude which is such a core of their service. It was Lander who first personified this genuine style of Paladin to me outside of the Warcraft novels, and that directly led to my own little red haired T9 clad squirely venture. Areen is indeed part of something larger, and you’ve done a really wonderful job of protraying a sense of what that actually is. Where she can often seem jarringly different from the elven companions, we really get a sense of what shapes her when we observe her engaging in the setting where she herself belongs.

    I’ve had reason to be grateful for you before and this time I’ll say it here instead! Lovely lovely work, Thank you for this one.

    • 9 MysteriousP
      March 6, 2011 at 15:37

      Oh oh I forgot to say it …. HI Cobs!!

      :D

    • 11 Nhani
      March 7, 2011 at 12:59

      The shot in the first pane was actually something I tried around a fair bit with – I think I had three different renders all from separate angles that I tried around with to see which one felt like it worked best. I really wanted an establishing shot of the Cathedral, but at the same time I wanted to see the group of Paladins talking, and preferably glimpse the group approaching..

      ..and those huge pillars made it something of a headache to satisfy all of those at once!

  7. 12 Helayne
    March 6, 2011 at 16:23

    An absolutely amazing work. You do an excellent job conveying atmosphere and character.

  8. 13 GRYFFYN
    March 6, 2011 at 20:11

    “Besides, it gave me the chance of showing Areen as being part of something larger.”

    OUCH Gnome Pun.

    Hope Hani doesn’t punch this guys lights out, They will start to run out of cities to get kicked out of.

  9. 14 Árcfélonas
    March 6, 2011 at 23:51

    Ah the title reminded me of the old Super Mario Bros line “Sorry your Princess is in another castle!” That made me grin from ear to ear. Sounds like the cathedral was a nightmare to work with then. Good page though. Nice to see Rei’s still saying it how it is.

    • 15 Nhani
      March 7, 2011 at 12:52

      That’s pretty much the reference I went with; I couldn’t come up with anything better.

      • 16 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        March 9, 2011 at 17:27

        I spotted the reference straight away. Good ol’ Mario…never could get the Princess away from that big fat turtle for long.

  10. 17 Shyana
    March 7, 2011 at 09:51

    Love the Eyes!

  11. 18 mogh
    March 7, 2011 at 10:58

    I must say — Hani’s looking so, so beautiful in this strip.

    It’s a pity that Tiny doesn’t have glowy eyes though. It gets hard to locate her.

    • 19 Nhani
      March 7, 2011 at 12:55

      Due to the nature of the glow, it would likely have caused her to look quite odd if she shared it; as a post effect, its size is based on the image size, not the size of the area actually glowing, so it might result in there being a single bright sphere where her head’s supposed to be.

      I wish I could convince 3ds to do bloom the way games do it for the effect, but I actually don’t know how to do that.

      • 20 Kevin
        March 7, 2011 at 13:26

        honestly i like tiny how she is, i mean since shes small her eyes wont glow as brightly cause of her size, but how they look in this scene is just epic
        Nhani, a toast from 1.6k people on facebook lol “keep up the good work”

  12. 22 Nixvitae
    March 7, 2011 at 17:28

    Hi, looong time shadow-melder and lover of your work.

    This rendering trouble you’ve been having finally got me to break from the shadows, you do not need that kind of hassle when creating all the wonderful stuff I enjoy…

    …If you don’t mind divulging; what hardware are you using, under what operating system(32/64bit)? What I’m really asking is; would you benefit from an increase in RAM or are you running 4Mb on a 32bit OS?
    If you would benefit from more RAM & have paypal, I’m willing to donate toward that end.
    If you need an OS upgrade e-mail me ;) (No I’m not suggesting or offering pirated software)

    • 23 Nhani
      March 7, 2011 at 18:20

      I actually have a pretty decent rig, all in all – it’s not exactly the greatest in the world ever, mind you, but it’s supposed to hold up to this kind of baseline 3D art and potentially being able to develop towards DX10/11 and so forth. I’m actually not sure if it can fit more than the 4 gigabytes of memory it has (have a Windows 7 64-bit running on it too); the main reasons I’m having performance issues is less to do with the actual computer and more to do with the design of the OBJ format and the importer I’m using to interpret it.

      I’ll save you the long technical explanation and keep it at through the way it’s designed, loading the format gobbles absurd amounts of memory, and the 300+ megabyte OBJ file that contains my exported copy of Stormwind will cause it to quickly devour some 2 Gigabytes of memory upon which it chokes and dies if I ask it to import too much at once.

      So, I’m grateful for the offer, but I think at the end of the day, I think to upgrade my rig (especially to the point of being able to work around this kind of snag) I’d probably have to get new everything, and that’s a tad heftier a cost than my current economy supports, nevermind more than I’d feel good about asking from anyone else ;)

      • 24 Nixvitae
        March 7, 2011 at 18:53

        If you say so ;)
        I know that I had similar problems with my CAD computer when rendering large design files; the renderer would fill up 4Gb of the available 6Gb resulting in a crash every time, despite stringent memory management. Increasing to 12Gb has resulted in no more crashes & greatly improved performance (rendering speed).

        Up to you, the offer remains ;)

      • 25 LolDrood
        March 9, 2011 at 01:31

        Win7 64b totally can handle more then that. IIRC, Win7 theoretically has no limit to RAM support.
        I just got Win7 64b meself, and the 4GB that was plenty adequate for XP is suddenly barely enough to run a stable system. I have 16GB on the way right now.

        You just have to match up what style your mother board supports, and boom. RAM is crazy cheap right now, you could double yours for less then a $100.

        See? I’m more then just obscure cultural references and poor typing skills. :D

        • 26 Nhani
          March 9, 2011 at 09:42

          Oh Windows 7 can, definitely. As for whether my computer can.. thaaat’s a somewhat better question. The problem is that it’s a laptop, and therefore somewhat limited in how much it can be expanded, and in which directions, and potentially where I would go to get new hardware for it.

          I actually don’t know if it can take more than it does.

          • 27 LolDrood
            March 10, 2011 at 08:29

            Ooh, laptop. Yeah, that is, as they say, a horse of a different color.
            *hugs my so-easy-to-mod desktop*

            I’m not so versed in how tied-in to the motherboard that RAM limits are these days. :/

  13. 28 Kevin
    March 8, 2011 at 04:02

    did a refresh this morning and now its 2.3k thumbs up.. haha

  14. 29 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    March 9, 2011 at 17:35

    Hmm…let’s see…I think I spy a Lander…a Slokka…and is that Gaeran and Soleria?

    That’ll be an interesting conversation if Slokka started speaking out of turn. xD

    Amusement aside, this is wonderful work you’ve done here. And benches! In the Cathedral! We really need some in the new Cathedral, as in GIEF NAO! Nice touch with the door too – seems you closed off the Paladin wing (when there was one) from the outside world. Or is that a future plot device?

    “We should not speak of this where ears can catch the sound…shall we take this inside?”

    • 30 Cobs
      March 9, 2011 at 20:30

      “Bloody ‘ell’s wiv the tiny she-Elf? Soddin’ remindin’ me o’ sum’ flea tryin’ t’ bark.” *grunts*

      >;)

  15. 31 boccko
    March 15, 2011 at 18:39

    Hani doesn’t speak much recently. She used to speak much more at the beginning, and I liked that.

  16. 32 Sarista
    June 11, 2011 at 06:08

    I am curious as to why they where allowed to keep their weapons was there no one guarding the doors?
    Also on an unrelated note Hani seems very similar to the main character from the claymore anime clare she acts serious and restrained but is really quite temperamental and impatient, the way she acts probably some form a past tragedy or just her training just felt the need to say it.

    Keep up the amazing work

  17. 33 fitzypyro
    June 30, 2011 at 14:04

    Is it just me, or does sir clavius look like harrison ford in the second panel


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


