12
Jun
11

#265 – “Who Watches the Drunks”



Was awhile since last, wasn’t it? For the curious, I’ve been trying (and failing) to get a report written, gotten ready to move (and then actually having moved) and suffered in inhumanly high temperatures. Oh, sure, I know some people actually willingly go to places that have 30+ degrees for their own enjoyment, but those people are crazy. Anyway.

Someone posted a link by way of comment a few days ago about a World of Warcraft machinima music video they’d made (to Million Miles Away by Dune… I think it was over a decade since I last heard that song o_O) that features a variety of characters from Wow comics and machinima as cameos; so also our present cast – though their wardrobe is a tad confused, but that happens. I feel honored enough to get a mention, so I’ll provide you with a link, here.

18 Responses to “#265 – “Who Watches the Drunks””


  1. 1 WormRunner
    June 12, 2011 at 18:52

    Unexpected, yet very believable. I commend you.

  2. 2 Saduharta
    June 12, 2011 at 22:00

    What’s even crazier is living some place where it’s 30 one season, -30 six months later! Ah, the fate of living in the middle of a continent. Still, I get my Beyond the Tree fix and I don’t need to worry about tsunami’s or cyclones. So there’s a bright side to everything.

    Though maybe I shouldn’t say that as the sun is cooking you.

  3. June 12, 2011 at 22:26

    spent most of last week at 40C here, lol. and sorry but 105 just SOUNDS better when speaking about that temperature, lol.

    and i totally buy, the paying off of the trouble maker mage, lol.

  4. 4 LolDrood
    June 13, 2011 at 05:36

    Whoa, new comment system.

    I’m just glad you weren’t eaten by a grue, Nhani. I was this close to taking up the reins and continuing the story on my own, with still shots from various TV/movies, as my 3D modeling/rendering skills likely lay somewhere in the region between “comical” and “war crime”.
    I hadn’t nailed down who would play who, in this brave new version, except that Rei would be Jane Lane, and Nani would, of course, be Robocop in a green whig.

    AMG Snacky!
    Cute vid, kinda reminds me of an old Lineage II one, I’ll see if I can find it on the youtube…
    /watch?v=Aa8KGQ6IfJo
    Mmmm, 2003 graphics.

  5. 5 Moltrazahn
    June 13, 2011 at 13:51

    Rigthy, in that vid, i spottet them at 03:15… was nice :D

    Good to hear your still alive, i’m about to do a large report as well, one that will expand over the next 6 months… UGH.. hate those kinda things :P

    Fine page, not much to comment but some food feed on the drinking mage’s past.

  6. June 13, 2011 at 15:17

    This was hilarious. I read it to my family (doing voices as best as I was able) and they both laughed.

  7. June 14, 2011 at 00:00

    Hehe, does damn Watchers. This page takes me back… :)

    • 8 Nhani
      June 14, 2011 at 09:59

      I thought it was a fun reference, continuing my habit if including odd nudges that only a tiny fraction will ever spot or know what they are about!

  8. 9 gryffyn
    June 14, 2011 at 00:38

    Oh come now. In Las Vegas we don’t think its warm till it goes above 100F. Try a 120F day sometime. Vegas turns into Molten core complete with glitter and neon.

    • 10 Nhani
      June 14, 2011 at 09:19

      O_o That’s not a city, it’s an active, lava-spewing volcano… Bet all those neon lights are secretly laser weapons and you all live like Bond villains too!

      I would spontaneously catch fire and die in such heat Dx

  9. 12 Xel
    June 14, 2011 at 01:05

    Ahh, I think I see where this is going; I figured there was a story behind drunky. Well done, Nhani.

  10. June 14, 2011 at 06:55

    Hey again Nhani, I really didnt have a refference for your characters in my video so I had to do the best I could.

    • 14 Nhani
      June 14, 2011 at 08:59

      I find cameos interesting to be honest because they can tell you a lot about how people see a character and what parts they focus on. Take your depiction of Hani Foonmall for instance: as far as I can tell, there’s not a single piece of her equipment that’s what she actually uses in the comic but, the overall colour tones remain the same with a light orange/brown armoured tunic, darker brown trousers, a dark headband and a sword. Equally interesting is how the hairstyle you chose is neither of the two I combined to make hers but instead is one that compromises between the hair and the ponytail, and how you picked the right face texture but the wrong skin colour.

      All of this suggests that her overall colour tones and profile sticks stronger than the various details, that the mid-length hair with pony tail is more part of her impression than the way her hair curls around her face and that her pale blue-gray-ish skin tone isn’t nearly as strong an aspect of her visual design as I tend to think it is. And that her current sword isn’t really a strong aspect of her look other than that it is a simple, standard one-and-a-half hand sword.

      In fact, thinking about it, the trousers you did pick suggests that the wide, fraying ends of her trousers are a far stronger visual aspect than their actual texture with the implied kneepads, which affirms my decision of not changing her boots after all, in spite of planning to earlier.

      I also find it especially interesting that you gave Areen a hammer, considering while I have renders of her updated model wielding one, she hasn’t ever used one in the comic itself yet. This suggests that either you remembered (or looked at) the renders for reference over the comic, or that the Paladin association was simply stronger with a hammer.

      So please don’t think I’m offended or anything – I tend to feel honoured enough just being referenced when it’s done in ernest ;) Besides, with all the extra work I do with my character models to make them more visually interesting and distinct, it’d be outright unreasonable of me to expect any of them replicated in meticulous detail!

      • June 15, 2011 at 01:16

        Heh, you really know your characters. For the record I did make up to 40 references to other machinimators and web comic artists so that meant creating alot of models in WoW Model viewer. I don’t have access to 3DS Max so my only reference was your comic and how each of your characters acted.

        When creating these models I wanted each one to be instantly recognizable but the BTT group was hard due to the fact that thier models were heavily based in 3DS Max and their clothing was custom made by you for the most part, I had gone through each web comic artists page and was able to pick up either exact armor sets or near exact pieces . Hani, the quiet strong one, Telen the shy one, Tiny the loud one sometimes and Areen the honorable paladin.

        I wasn’t extremely happy with how the BTT models turned out but just due to the fact that I had Tiny on Hani’s rocket nailed it I think. While I was not sure if Areen did in fact use a hammer in her adventures, I must have chosen to use one of your renders then if only for the paladin hammer thing you mentioned.

        All in all, my hope was to not only get myself noticed but to give your webcomic, and others, a little bit more exposure and make them look even more epic and awesome than they already are.

        Dreyfus Xano

  11. 16 ragefury
    June 16, 2011 at 23:03

    Either the heat really got to you, or our bartender friend has really practiced on her grammar. =P

    Am I the only one who noticed? =/

    • 17 Nhani
      June 18, 2011 at 08:47

      Interestingly enough, I’m generally not the one that writes the final versions of her lines; what usually happens is that I write roughly what I want her to say or the lines she’ll reply to and the replies she’ll get in turn and then pass all that over to a friend of mine who takes a look at them and then pass back properly Dhappified lines that I’ll then put to use.

      I’m not entirely sure what happened with this page because I do remember passing the lines along and getting changes to implement, but whether either my friend or I (or both of us!) were tired that day or whatnot because I was then informed in retrospect by said friend that the accent was indeed not quite up to scratch after your comment.

      Anyhow, it’s now been fixed.

  12. October 6, 2011 at 02:12

    Blackmail mage is tipsy. Wheee! QUICK MORE BOOZE! Blackmail Mage is completely smashed! *Whew.


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


