18
Aug
11

#278 – “Prepare to Set Sail”



Hey look, new things. Oh my. Etcetera.

Yeah, there’s no crowd. I figured they’d essentially be leaving at first light since it’s more of a cargo vessel, but the backdrops made that first light really bright. On the other hand, it’s good to be back in normal lighting, and now it’s just about getting going.

I felt that Areen’s gear upgrade required a brief reasoning applied to it – nothing large or fantastic, but simply just why now. To me, this one felt like it made sense.

18 Responses to “#278 – “Prepare to Set Sail””


  1. 1 kevin
    August 18, 2011 at 21:21

    I wonder if she ended up killing somone lol *please be the guy who almost hurt te* lol

  2. 3 LolDrood
    August 19, 2011 at 00:51

    Alternate dialog for today’s strip, datamined from the BtT installer patch files.
    “Oh, I found this puddle in a cave, I just kept throwing my gear in until the fairy chick gave me better stuff to get rid of me.”
    ~~~
    Hani: Done. You all ready?
    *Hani approaches in the group, she is wearing dark mirrored sunglasses and a jet-black wet-look leather trench coat*
    Rei: Oh, THERE you are. Nerves
    Hani: Preparations.
    *Behind them, Sotrmwind is rocket by a quick series of massive explosions, engulfing the city is flames, chunks of ember-like stone masonry raining down on the docks and into the sea.*
    Hani: Let’s go.
    ~~~
    Bud: Ah-HOY!
    All: We’ll take the next one.

    • 4 BLRP
      August 19, 2011 at 11:36

      This needs to happen. Seriously.

    • August 19, 2011 at 16:11

      Yeah well we can live in hope you never know it might get to a point where SW gets wiped off the face of Azeroth thought somehow I doubt anyone would be left alive to tell the tale. :)

      • 6 Germ
        August 19, 2011 at 17:21

        SW has been wiped out before, but they’ll have a hard time putting it back together again this time. What with their history of terribly betraying their stonemasons.

        • 7 bleeters
          August 19, 2011 at 18:24

          They seem to have found some new ones. The docks and keep didn’t build themselves, after all.

          • 8 Nhani
            August 20, 2011 at 00:33

            I think the docks were actually always implied to be there, actually – I’m fairly sure that Stormwind was described as a harbor (or at least close-to-a-harbor) city pre-World of WarCraft, and it wasn’t that they built them so much as they knocked down a wall to provide an easier access to them. And built some stairs and what not to get down there, obviously.

  3. 9 bleeters
    August 19, 2011 at 04:37

    Is that… a libram strapped to her hip? I think I love you.

    • 10 Nhani
      August 20, 2011 at 00:27

      It is. Apart from general model improvements and the like, Areen’s revision 2 model include a few (previously hidden in continuity) changes to her wardrobe, including swapping the sword for a hammer (that’s good size for her to wield both one-handed and two-handed!), a new shoulderpad, a half-cape slung off her right shoulder and a libram hovering around where the golden belt ring thing of her leggings is.

      I wanted to give her a more individual outline and up the Paladin factor a few notches, since that’s ultimately her primary aspect.

  4. 11 Elveswarrior
    August 19, 2011 at 08:22

    idd the first light gotta REALLY bright XD

    also since ancient times dock workers has begun slightly before first light so they could set out atr first light ofr maximum effeciency.

  5. 12 Frostsaben
    August 19, 2011 at 23:26

    So Nhani, I wanted to ask you, what do you think of Tyrande’s leader story? Not sure if you’ve commented about it yet since I’ve been away from a computer for over a week and just read it myself. Let’s say I’m majorly disappointed of what I read of Tyrande, Shandris was ok, Malfurion … had no place in the story and shouldn’t have been put in as I see it, but I’m curious of what you think as well.

    • 13 Nhani
      August 20, 2011 at 00:21

      Well, what do you want me to say?

      I don’t want to go out and shout how the story itself is utterly horrible and needs to burn in many fires because I don’t think it is – my problem with it is inevitably about mischaracterization of a character that Blizzard already permitted Knaak to narratively savage. Repeatedly. In fact, I admit I actually kind of appreciated how it managed to take the broken wreck of a character that Knaak has left behind and turn her into someone that’s actually able and competent. And seeing how utterly rare it is to see Tyrande be either of those things these days, it’s welcome.

      This all said.. it is the Knaak incarnation of Tyrande, and that’s ultimately going to guarantee disapproval on my end. It’s a Knaak incarnation that actually gets to act with competence and succeed unlike when Knaak writes her, however, but it’s still that very incarnation, and a very, very far cry from the Tyrande that WarCraft III made me fond of. It’s another piece of evidence to an evergrowing mountain of them that the WarCraft III incarnation is long since retconned and buried and we’re not likely to ever see her again, and I’m naturally going to be frustrated with that fact.

      It was better than I expected it to be, but it wasn’t anything I wished it to be.

      In regards to Shandris, I generally approved of her depiction, but it also rather bugged me how the story chose to further reinforce this sudden idea Knaak decided to introduce with the Stormrage novel that she’s suddenly now also a Priestess. Sure, it’s both possible and plausible, but it’s never been a part of her character or depiction anywhere else before, and the carelessness with which it is added and then just expects that we’ll accept that was always the truth and everything else is flat out wrong just sets my metaphorical pet goat on fire. Again, it’s not really the fault of the story since it’s just trying to go with what Knaak built and make the most of it, but I really wish it didn’t.

    • 15 LolDrood
      August 20, 2011 at 00:45

      Needs more Murdercat.

  6. 16 Nihilix
    August 22, 2011 at 07:57

    I love these characters but I wish they were Horde….otherwise I could cheer for them. Lol I kid. My pally would bow to the might of Hani and hug that adorable gnome.

  7. 17 saila AKS Wester
    August 24, 2011 at 15:21

    noted something Nhani you din´t put any funny text in your alt-text or any text att all.
    http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/AltText

  8. 18 Averitte
    August 30, 2011 at 01:48

    Okay, ive been wondering this for a very long time, sorry if this was answered already in a comic i missed, and if you are waiting to reveal it later on, by all means save it, but how did Tiny become, well, Tiny?


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


