18
Sep
11

#283 – “Happier Times”



This is a page I’ve had in mind since the first flashback, but I’ve never quite certain where to put. It’s been shuffled around a whole lot in various places, and for awhile I was worried I might end up cutting it entirely. Then I found an opening here, as well as a topical spin on the content, and I jumped the chance. It did mean I had to finally come up with a name and an adult appearance, but after a whole lot of prodding and scheming… that too was addressed.

32 Responses to “#283 – “Happier Times””


  1. 1 Ilyara
    September 18, 2011 at 19:01

    Hani Sister :D !

  2. 2 Averitte
    September 18, 2011 at 20:49

    Okay, ive been wondering this for a very long time, sorry if this was answered already in a comic i missed, and if you are waiting to reveal it later on, by all means save it, but how did Tiny become, well, Tiny?

    • 3 Pyreheart
      September 19, 2011 at 03:59

      I think that’s supposed to be one of the little (ohshi- pun unintended, don’t kill me Tiny! D:) mysteries about the story, and I’m not sure that Nhani plans on ever giving a ‘why’. It’s not so much ‘how did she get so tiny?’, as ‘why is she still so tiny?’

    • 4 Nhani
      September 19, 2011 at 13:11

      Oh she had a minor accident while doing some things via some means and then some other things happened and she found herself shrunk. It may have had something to do with apples and lasers and spherical sport implements. Or with world noggenfogger-charged world enlargers. Or snarking up very powerful and very cranky mages who desperately need morning coffee.

      I think she prefers a multiple-choice past!

      • 5 LolDrood
        September 20, 2011 at 00:35

        Yadda Yadda Yadda, we’re on a boat with a gnome pally.

        • September 21, 2011 at 01:19

          Nhani, are you sure you didn’t borrow that from The Killing Joke?

          • 7 Nhani
            September 21, 2011 at 03:17

            Oh if you mean the remark about multiple-choice past them I’m pretty sure I did snag that from there. See, all the cool kids refer to The Dark Knight and the multiple backstories there so I thought I’d be edgy and rebellious and… stuff.

            The gist of it is that if you were to keep asking Tiny what happened, you’re likely to get a different non-answer each time because she is intentionally difficult about the subject. Partially because she might not entirely remember with perfect clarity due to the accidental nature, but probably more because it’d ruin her special uniqueness if it sounded like something that might be repeatable by someone else.

  3. 8 Moltrazahn
    September 18, 2011 at 22:22

    Ohhh i hope this is a spoiler that we get to see her sister more. If hani is… well.. like Hani is… i wonder how her sister will be :D

  4. 9 Kayeri
    September 19, 2011 at 00:27

    Hm… I was going to ask you about the last panel, the placement of Iyana’s fingers and thumb, I thought it looked awkward, but then I did the same positioning with my own fingers and thumb and I realized you did it just right! it still looked awkward, though, even on my hand…. weird how your perception notes those things…

    As for Hani’s sister as an adult, I’d love to see more! :)

    • 10 Nhani
      September 19, 2011 at 13:15

      It doesn’t help that the hands on the model actually have a few fundamental differences to your own. Longer palms and longer fingers is part of it, but the real kicker is that there’s only two joints per finger, when we have three. This makes finger posing somewhat awkward, and the thumb especially suffers from it.

      It’s one of those things I’d love to change, but the texture area dedicated to the hand is so absolutely tiny that I’m not sure if I could actually do a good enough job moving the joints around on the texture.

      As for more of adult Iyana Foonmall… I’d planned to make a random render post of her today, buuuut I’ve barely slept at all, so I’ll probably save it for tomorrow – provided I manage to sleep properly.

  5. 12 Phan556
    September 19, 2011 at 07:46

    The one thing that poked at the back of my mind as I looked over the two there was fashion, and the fact those two look like they wore clothes you’d see in the streets of a human kingdom like Stormwind or Lordaeron. Naturally, that got me to thinking about more “Night Elven” clothing and designs… or the sheer lack of them coming to mind from within WoW.

    I had a question that was supposed to lead into about how you dress the characters, but I now forgot the specifics. Instead, I’ll just say “you’re doing great. Keep up the good work!”

    • 13 Nhani
      September 19, 2011 at 13:26

      To be honest, there really isn’t that much clothing that’s really racially defined; there’s a split between Horde and Alliance in terms of styles (according to the datafiles anyhow) but loot and rewards happily hand out either style for either side, and apart from the clothes and armour of smaller factions, there’s really next to no definition what racial clothing styles look like.

      And that extends to art too, really. In WarCraft III we had racially designed armours, but not really clothing, and even then you’re lucky if there’s consistency in it. There is, for example, that two-piece that the Night elf in the WoW intro wears – it’s generally used as the “Night elven female promotional wear” but is never given any consistency. There’s official art of it being a Sentinel uniform, of it being Tyrande’s outfit, of it being a druid outfit and one of the graphic novels even has it as the armour of Banshee Queen Sylvanas Windrunner.

      As for how I pick outfits, it really comes down to which colours seem right for the character and what impression do I want them to give. Hani’s appearance is pretty much just scaled up from what we saw of her as a little girl, implying that in spite of being that much older, she hasn’t really changed all that much. Iyana, by contrast, I went through much more changes with to try and better represent who she is at that point. I aimed largely for white and purple as the main colours (as that’s what she had as a child), and then tried to combine that with the impression I wanted her to give. There are a few people I’ll generally prod for opinions to see if it actually does what I want it to, too.

  6. 14 Frostsaben
    September 19, 2011 at 23:03

    Is this scene “filmed” in Moonglade? The scenery outside sure makes it look so.
    Also, I love Iyana’s ear earings. However it makes me wonder, is she dead now?

    • 15 Nhani
      September 20, 2011 at 13:58

      It’s in the Moonglade, yes – Nighthaven, to be precise; taking place somewhere between a decade to half a century ago from Beyond the Tree present, even.

  7. 16 LolDrood
    September 20, 2011 at 00:58

    Ho now, what’s this?

    Is…. is that a half skirt?!
    I might die happy, now. All is good in the world; my dark empty heart fills with this emotion you call, “joy”.

  8. 17 Foggy
    September 20, 2011 at 05:08

    Everybody seem to be speachless. 2 days in and just one comment? Very unusual here.

    I like these little flashbacks.
    Little pieces more to learn about Hani.
    Even if it may not important for the storyline at the first glimpse.

    Thank you for that.

    And it shortens the journey with the ship.
    Hope they now get calmer winds and the journey takes a bit longer for getting more flashbacks. ; )

  9. 19 Aquessa
    September 25, 2011 at 10:06

    I was wondering, and I’m sure you’ve been asked before, what program do you use to do all this? I wouldn’t mind doing a little bit of rendering myself…

    • 20 Nhani
      September 25, 2011 at 12:11

      I use 3ds max, though largely because it’s the only one I have any kind of experience in. There’s definitely other alternatives out there, and I tend to think it’s likely better to run with whatever you’re comfortable with, much like how I stubbornly cling to Paint Shop Pro over Photoshop solely because I’ve been using versions of the former since forever and thus feel that much more home in it.

      There’s a whole lot of tutorials available online for most of the major ones anyway, so I’d suggest you just run with whatever sounds like it’d work for you, really.

  10. 21 saila AKS Wester
    September 25, 2011 at 19:48

    just now noted something there is no dream effect at all no blur, black and whit(gray scale), or screen effect along the edge.

    //ps noted something I aper to enjoy to criticizes you Nhani.

    • September 25, 2011 at 19:55

      I would imagine that’s because it is a flashback or something similar and not a dream.

      • 23 Nhani
        September 25, 2011 at 19:58

        Pretty much. In fact, the only sort of “dream” effect I tend to use is largely entirely reserved for Dream Tyrande, and generally there to facilitate her looking ethereal and otherworldly. She is not present here, so there is none.

  11. 24 Fyrina
    September 28, 2011 at 16:29

    I think this was the last page of Beyond the Tree we’ll ever see. After seeing the news (new models, Well of Eternity’s size, etc) on MMO-Champion, Nhani no doubt went to execute a suicidal assault on Blizzard HQ to wipe out the company.

    I would be so incredibly mad if I still cared, but I stopped doing so a little while ago; just in time, I see. Seeing models such as the new one of Tyrande, or Thrall’s new death animation, I just shake my head with a grin and move on.

    • 25 Nhani
      September 28, 2011 at 16:54

      Oh I’m not gone yet. I just haven’t been able to really sleep all that well lately for reasons I haven’t quite figured out – it’s made it rather difficult to work out dialogue, though.

      As for what’s happening, I’m trying not to pay too much attention anymore; it’s not all that easy since it seems everyone and their pet triceratops is determined to point out or remind me of every little addition, right down to someone e-mailing me twice to tell me of that new Knaak book, but still. It doesn’t bode too well for my likelyhood of continuing into Arc Two when I get there, mind you, but I still hope to get Arc One done eventually.

      • 26 Fyrina
        September 28, 2011 at 17:08

        Oh, I wasn’t so much hinting at the lack of an update or anything; I don’t mind that. It’s just that after seeing MMO-Champion’s frontpage post of today, well… I’m just glad I stopped caring about the Warcraft universe. Blizzard are really, honestly, just taking the piss now. Unless you’ve already seen it, I recommend you -not- to check out Tyrande’s and Azshara’s new models. Especially Tyrande. Dear god.

        • 27 Nhani
          September 28, 2011 at 17:12

          Seen them – like I hinted at, it’s somewhat hard for me to avoid it. I think there’s been like three or four people rushing to inform me about them today alone. Two of the more amusing observations I’ve done on the subject is that Azshara seems to sustain herself entirely on magic because I don’t think she quite has room for a stomach or other useful intestines with that corset, it seems that now when Malfurion has finally finished his journey from dark blue hair (in WC3) to bright green hair, he’s seemingly convinced Tyrande that greenhairs have more fun because she’s starting to take on the green hair colours as well.

          • 28 LolDrood
            September 29, 2011 at 03:20

            Do the current blizz artists not understand how boobs work? That they don’t sit on the collar bone? They did the exact same thing with worgen, and it’s looks really effing stupid.
            Tyrande looks like she got lost in a J-Pop magazine; parts of her look really good, but the whole is just a jumbled mess. Also, veto on the heels.

            … I sitll want half-skirts, though.

            • 29 Nhani
              September 29, 2011 at 04:18

              At least I called the use of sandals, heh! Though yes, veto on the heels.

            • 30 Frostsaben
              September 29, 2011 at 23:00

              I actually like how both Tyrande and Azshara look. Though I don’t understand either how Azshara’s “bra” stays on, I’ll just pass on that, maybe it’s glued.

              What I did notice however is that she doesn’t have golden eyes… she however doesn’t have white hair either, so someone didn’t read Knaak’s novels… or didn’t care of them. Now normally I’d like this, however only if things were made back to the original story considering this incursion into the timeline an alternate-timeline thing like Nozdormu says, but guess we’ll have to see.
              As for Tyrande’s hair, I always thought of it as a more blue-green, sort of leaning towards blue, but I thought they were too lazy to add that colour. The heels are weird, but meh, I’ll pass that from me.

              Besides that the lore behind 4.3 sucks. But on these two models I actually have to say they are good, as I have also defended Thrall’s model and Varian’s one even.
              Everyone’s entitled to their own opinion, right?

          • October 2, 2011 at 13:22

            Eh, that’s the way WoW has always modeled nelf women — with their waists about as wide as their heads, and their hips about double that. Human women have somewhat more realistic proportions (waist 2x width of head, hips 3x), but then they add giant boobs.

  12. September 28, 2011 at 20:09

    This is the only Warcraft-related site I even still check. :/


Leave a Reply

Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)


