18
Mar
12

#305 – “Long Time no Tree”



Hey, wow, okay, uhm. What’s with the delay, right? I’m not going to bore you with a whole lot of details, but suffice it to say I’ve been quite busy and haven’t really feeling all that well – neither of these have really been addressed, but the former has managed to distract me somewhat from the latter; I’ve still had some marked difficulties trying to focus enough on a script to get the words to come out. Seeing how I actually had to badger a friend of mine to get some last lines in place for this page, I’m not sure to what extents future pages will have an easy time to make an appearance or not.

So I’m not gone and I’m not done, but I have a few issues that I need to sort out and so far the actual sorting part of that has been… frustrated. I’ll see if I can get another done for next weekend, but yeah.


156 Responses to “#305 – “Long Time no Tree””


  1. 1 Korrigan
    March 18, 2012 at 14:44

    Welcome “back”, thanks for the comic, I hope you’ll feel better very soon!

  2. March 18, 2012 at 15:00

    I know what a funk feels like, so don’t worry about it. Regardless, thanks for the new page! ^_^

  3. 4 foggy
    March 18, 2012 at 16:31

    Welcome back here !
    I hope it all will change into better finally.
    And yes, thank your for the new gem here.
    I am so curious what news are waiting for the “young druid”.
    But take as much time as you need, for everything.

    Best wishes !

    • March 18, 2012 at 17:05

      After I replied, I realized I had more to say.

      Nhani, you have put out a wonderful comic strip that I have enjoyed for years. It inspired to make the jump into comics myself with Trigonometry.

      With that said, you need to take care of yourself first. I don’t know what health issue you have and it’s understandable that you do not wish to telegraph it to the world.

      With that said, I know what you are going through. I suffer from chronic major depression and nerve pain issues. Some days, it’s all I can do just to get through a day and my art is as dry and barren as a tomato garden in January. Everything HURTS and it’s hard to think things through.

      However, it doesn’t last. Things do get better. Just remember that and take life one step at a time.

  4. 7 JSStryker
    March 18, 2012 at 21:24

    Glad to see a new comic, I LOVE your work!

    Hope you get to feeling better.

    Take your time and work on the comic when you feel inspired, I can’t speak for your other fans but I’ll be here patiently waiting and rooting for you!

  5. 8 LolDrood
    March 19, 2012 at 00:54

    Rei mustache Te’len a question, but she’s shaving it for later.

    *tchtchtch* someone’s been a naughty guardian of the balance of nature.

  6. 11 Bryn
    March 19, 2012 at 13:47

    I have enjoyed your comic enormously since I discovered it about a year ago. You always manage to bring a smile to my face and I always anticipate the next page!

    I truly hope you are able to get things sorted out and start feeling better! Life has a way of throwing these nasty little surprises at us, and it takes time to deal with them.

    Keep up the great work and I can’t wait for then next page!
    ~Bryn

  7. 12 Frostsaben
    March 19, 2012 at 17:53

    Triage Nhani, get better first, comic later. I’m sure everyone understands :) It will be like a vacation for you.

  8. 13 Moltrazahn
    March 20, 2012 at 13:59

    *Ninja-tacklehugs the Nhani*
    It is good to “Tree” you again ^^ (that sounded so wrong)

  9. 14 kernfel
    March 20, 2012 at 23:48

    Take care of yourself first! New pages are welcome, but a healthy and trouble-free person behind them is more so. All the best sorting things out!

  10. 15 cirkat
    March 21, 2012 at 19:37

    Take all the time you need, Nhani. Know that you have been missed, but none of us would want to jeopardize your health by your trying to do too much too soon.

  11. 16 DarQuing
    March 25, 2012 at 22:56

    I really enjoy your comic. I just found it today and I’ve read all of it. The characters are interesting and the art is good.

    Get well soon! :)

  12. April 2, 2012 at 12:29

    Take your time. :) We’ll be much more upset if you die, so get well first!

    When you’re feeling up to it, we’ll be happy to read what you come up with. <3

  13. 18 saila aka wester
    April 16, 2012 at 21:48

    Two week and nothing no comends… Things sure is going slow here but don´t worry. I will not jab untill the another two weeks.

  14. 19 Fyrina
    April 17, 2012 at 13:53

    Real life is far more important, so even if it’s slightly frustrating that there’s only been 2 pages in 2 months, I can respect that and won’t complain. Imsomnia bad, among other things.

    That said, as much as I love Beyond The Tree – I’ve read every update since page… somewhere around 70 (that’s been years by now, hasn’t it? Goodness!) – I’ve gotten, how to say it… “out of it”, for a while now. I don’t know if it’s the slow pace of updates lately or something else, but I once used to look out for new pages excitedly each time, and I don’t have that feeling anymore.

    I think that, because of the problems Nhani’s having, the lack of enthusiasm for WoW these days – I quit for good about a year ago myself – and the updates being far and in between as a result of that, I think it’s best to call it quits after this story arc is finished. I don’t see a full second story arc happening, not if it would even be half as long as this one. It would be amazing to see Nhani move on to another series though, if that would be a possibility and something they would like to do. If not, that’s okay too, but I hope a new Food for Thought post every now and then would be possible; I’ve enjoyed reading Nhani’s thoughts on things and whatnot. Including the random renders.

    Just my two cents.

  15. 20 Nhani
    April 21, 2012 at 15:00

    Okay, I probably need to say a few things about what’s happening since… you know, the quiet, and all. I don’t want to because people typically don’t need to hear me complain about how my head is an utter mess and I don’t really like talking about it either, but yeah.

    Normally, the way I write essentially works like this: I stuff the relevant characters, situation and context into my head, shake them all around a bit and events and dialogue comes out. It’s just how my mind works and I don’t know what’s up with it, but it’s how all my storytelling is crafted; I just keep the things that work and do new takes or entirely scrap things that don’t.

    Lately though, and this might sound absolutely crazy but, they haven’t been speaking to me. I stuff the cast in there, but they don’t say anything. At best, nothing happens. And it’s frustrating like you wouldn’t believe because they’re there – the story needs to be told, but they aren’t cooperating, and I can’t seem to make them.

    And I feel terrible about it – it’s another thing I’m failing at, another failure on a rather unpleasantly large pile that I really don’t need right now.

    So yeah, I don’t know. I want to make this thing continue, I want to finish it, but right now I just can’t. And I don’t know how to fix that, or really anything else of what’s wrong. I just don’t know.

    Meanwhile, I’ve been sort of hiding away on this thing called tumblr, doing mostly Mass Effect-based stuff try to occupy my mind and see if I could find a spark to do… well, anything really. I probably should’ve put these things up on Thoughts for Food too but… whenever I make a post on TfF, it feels like I have to put thought into it – I have to understand what I’m saying, look into sources, get things right, apply quality control and explain how things happened. With tumblr, it’s more like I can just put up an image, tag it and say “and this happened” and that’s that. So if you’re curious about my present random render adventures, you can find them over on http://nhaneh.tumblr.com/. It’s mostly just really fluffy Mass Effect stuff based around the Shenko ship, but … yeah. People there tell me it’s at least halfway decent so.

    Anyway, that’s basically that. I don’t know when or how this might fix itself. I’m sort of waiting in line to get an appointment with a professional about it to see if that helps, but I have no idea when that might happen or whether it might help or not. For the moment though, I simply don’t have it.

    For what it’s worth, I’m sorry about that.

    • 21 Shigshig
      April 26, 2012 at 00:50

      To be honest I see this more as a ‘I’m tired of writing this I want to do something else, embark in a new project, a new adventure’. If that is the case then please by all means go and do new things, do other things that interest you! And if one sunny day you’re struck by an arrow of motivation to return to this story then do so, if not, no worries at least you can look back at this and say that you created a successful e-comic.

      I wIsh you well

    • 22 Gryph23
      May 11, 2012 at 02:40

      So. Take a break like you’ve been doing. A hiatus is generally accepted as being somewhat cathartic. :P

    • 23 Frostsaben
      May 15, 2012 at 22:58

      Relax, you shouldn’t feel bad because you can’t continue the story. It’s understandable, you just have a blank moment, you’re starting to like another universe better, etc. And even though I’m sad to not see anymore updates, it certainly isn’t a fail from your part, stuff like this happens to everyone, it’s more of a mood thing.

      Let me give you an example from my life. I was building a ship model. It was supposed to be the cruiser Bismark from WW2 but then… at one point I found I disliked the idea so I stopped making it. It had only the hull finished. And this hull stood on my table just taking space for months. And then one day I thought I could do some sort of galleon or yacht of it… so I did. The bottom line is, I couldn’t make it into what I originally wanted because I just couldn’t feel the importance so to say… I just felt I wanted to see something different.

    • 24 0pocaj
      May 21, 2012 at 20:18

      Hey, no problem. I’m just like you.
      And the new things are just amazing
      Still I miss Hani and Tiny.
      Did you really had no clue on what would have happened later in the story?
      I’d really like a hint

    • 25 Johan
      August 5, 2012 at 18:56

      I just wanted to say thank you for this wonderful comic! If you start writing again sometime i will be waiting, if you do not, It was great while it lasted and i wish you good luck in future endeavours :)

  16. 26 foggy
    April 21, 2012 at 18:27

    No problem. Really.
    Don’t be sorry. Please.
    Thank you for all the story so far.
    It is gem. Finished or unfinished.
    Blessings !

    • 27 Avalonne
      April 22, 2012 at 20:04

      Seems to me you are suffering from what we call in French “le syndrome de la page blanche” – translation: the white page syndrom. The story is there but you just can’t put it down on paper and whatever you do comes out wrong. Advice #1 : don’t fight it, it’ll just make you go bonkers and get you more frustrated than anything else. It’s not a lack of inspiration it’s just the incapacity to put it together. Lots of writers go through that. Unfortunately, there is no cure. You may take a few days, weeks or months before getting better but it’s ok, we’ll wait.

  17. 28 WormRunner
    April 23, 2012 at 22:32

    Go have an adventure.

  18. 29 Jah_Reefer
    May 24, 2012 at 18:31

    So long, and thanks for all the fish. I’ll sadly be deleting this comic from my bookmarks, as I don’t have the will to visit every thursday/sunday for updates anymore.

    Don’t lead people on, just saay “fuck it” it’s easier on all of us.

    • 30 Telaani
      May 31, 2012 at 15:31

      Way to be a drama queen.

      • 31 Jah_Reefer
        June 14, 2012 at 23:44

        Instead of posting inane comments, how about you do something productive and update your comic. It’s quite boring in here.

        • 32 WormRunner
          June 15, 2012 at 01:16

          No need to be bored. Up near the top on the right is an RSS link. Add it to your rss feeds and forget about it until something new shows up. Spend your time saved browsing the many other fine webcomics out there. I miss this story, and I will be very happy when it returns, but my life will remain unblighted in the meantime.

          • 33 Tucker
            June 15, 2012 at 03:56

            We better stop feeding the Troll, it will hopefully get bored and go play with the traffic instead.

            That is all.

            • June 15, 2012 at 16:57

              You are so right, but it is so hard
              I don’t know why (this is a top comic and all but still) but I really care for Nhani.
              Plus, the troll does not even know what he is saying

            • 35 Jah_Reefer
              June 20, 2012 at 11:45

              Wow, you’re so funny. How about you try and come up with an original comment, instead of using a line that’s as old as the internet itself? You might not be as boring then.
              Assuming every negative comment is a troll, though, that is unforgivable. You should brush up on your knowledge, you might actually learn something (like what a troll really is, among other things), but chances are you’re just too much of a retard to even be able to learn something new, on account of playing in traffic too much.

            • 36 0pocaj
              June 20, 2012 at 21:42

              hehehe

            • 37 Tucker
              June 21, 2012 at 01:39

              hehehe indeed

    • 38 Tucker
      June 4, 2012 at 04:04

      I love people who leave comments like this, as if it is all about them and how they are being let down, yup I just love it…..oh wait, actually I don’t. See you later Ass Hat. I for one will keep my bookmark for the foreseeable future and will be regularly checking it.

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:10

      Er yeah that’s really positive and helpful to someone who has worked hard and got to a sticking point to say what you have and think it’s okay. Some of us care about this comic and the person who makes it and you are as others have said a “Drama Queen” and these things happen with talented people do me a favour and get over yourself…Oh and yeah I do come back every few weeks to check this page because it’s called waiting and seeing what happens and showing patience and understanding which it seems is something you lack….

  19. 41 Korrigan
    June 1, 2012 at 09:56

    Good riddance – you were definitely not worthy of the hard, free work done here.

  20. 42 Korrigan
    June 1, 2012 at 09:57

    Oops… I need to precise my previous comment was directed at Jah_Reefer and not the site Author of course :)

    • 43 Jah Reefer
      October 18, 2013 at 11:53

      So much fail, I don’t even know where to start.
      Maybe èyou should just stop posting before you embarrass yourself even more.

  21. 44 WarriorEP
    June 3, 2012 at 08:43

    Another time I’m here to see if you got us a new episode… And sadly I don’t see any… But I must say this one thing… I miss You and your ideas about this story… And probably other people miss you too… But still I will wait for a chance that you will once again do something with this grat story some time in the future… Even if it will take a long time, I still have hope… :)

    Be well… :)

  22. 45 Isabella
    June 7, 2012 at 00:10

    hope you get better soon!!! i odnt mind waiting with “OMG WHUZ GUNNU HAPPEN OH NOEZEZ” in my head. :)

    what the heck…? ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    (only what-the-heck-ing this right here)

  23. 46 Isabella
    June 7, 2012 at 00:11

    ok… that didnt turn out right.

  24. 47 Isabella
    June 7, 2012 at 00:11

    im guessing you understand what I meant…

  25. 48 Isabella
    June 7, 2012 at 00:12

    i dont mind the wait, with a series THIS good, no- scratch that. THIS epic, its always worth it!

  26. 49 Abrahkadavre
    June 9, 2012 at 13:05

    I’ve been a follower of BTT since the beginnning, but never felt the need to post a comment until now. I have always been impressed by the continuous improvements you have applied to your skills in bringing us an excellent webcomic. That you are now finding difficulties with “getting the story from head to screen” is understandable after such a long run of excellent content.

    Am I missing the saga? Of course I am, but I treat is as I do when a good television series comes to the end of a season. The wait for the next season to start gets filled with new diversions, but when the series returns, it’s like it never stopped yet has gained a freshness of purpose.

    Taking that into consideration, I am pleased that you are taking a break from BTT for as long as it takes to get your muse renewed. Beyond the Tree is one of the few WoW related webcomics that I still keep bookmarked (and will for as long as it exists), as I stopped playing WoW over a year ago (around Cata, when it lost all interest for me). BTT captures the essence of what initially grabbed my attention in WoW (Vanilla!) and, not only that, it has added immensely to it! BTT has given it soul!

    So, thank you for all your hard work over the course of BTT to this point and I hope that, one day, you and your muse can “get it together” once again. In the meantime, I shall wait and wish you all the very best with your endeavours!

    Abrah

    • 50 Brandobras
      June 30, 2012 at 12:41

      I can only agree with Abrah, Im also a vanilla wowhead. Take your time Nhani, we can wait. Ive reread BTT from the begining, and you recindled my interest in wow *smiles*. Thanks for a brill comic, n thanks for lighting the fire again.

      Brandobras Esq, noam engineer

  27. 51 henrik
    July 13, 2012 at 11:58

    There is only one word that resembles this comic: Legendary

  28. 55 Gerald Ney
    August 6, 2012 at 16:23

    I think I will turn into an Ancient waiting. Any chance of at least an update on health so we know you’re on the mend or not?”

  29. 56 Jah Reefer
    September 29, 2012 at 18:05

    Yep – dead as fuck. I called it.

  30. October 16, 2012 at 05:19

    I went back to look over what you’d said, and to see what might have been added. You said that your characters weren’t speaking to you any longer, and I suspect you may have gone astray from who they really are. You may need to rewrite significant portions of the story.

  31. 72 Fyrina
    October 22, 2012 at 02:47

    I miss the comic definitely, and I don’t have any hopes of it continuing – still, I enjoyed the ride while it lasted.

  32. 73 Mikkal
    November 21, 2012 at 06:44

    I have that little kindling if a fire left that you will come back, and I will keep checking in every Sunday, I really hope you come back, take your time. I retread the comic, and I agree with whoever said that the characters changed. you need to reread through the whole comic and watch how they change in these last two/3 chapters. return to the beginning and retread what went throug your mind then. you’re a great graphic author, and I hope to see this back soon!

    • 74 Gerald Ney
      November 23, 2012 at 08:10

      Good characters do not remain static. They grow. The question is whether the growth of your characters proceeds organically from who they are at the beginning. I’ve read more than one author who at one time or another said his or her characters led the story in unexpected directions or an intended minor character became something quite a bit more. As an amateur poet; I also understand what it’s like to run dry for months at a stretch. I’ve always admired anyone who can maintain a comic strip with a continuing story line and seemingly endless deadlines for months and years. I hope this particular well
      has not permanently gone dry, but if so; I enjoyed the ride while it lasted.

  33. February 9, 2013 at 10:41

    Beautiful work, original mentality, no cheesy cliches, plus all the good ingredients of the heroic quest: camaraderie, chance encounters, different characters/personalities coming together, courage, friendship, and all that is good in doing something together towards one aim, but with the freedom of movement.
    I don’t know enough of writing to help you, but I have imagination enough.

    I have grown fond of Hani and Rei, gotten accustomed to Tel’enn (misspelt, I think), and have become rather fond of Sister Lightspark with her upright ways and proper conduct.

    I will come here where and when I can.
    Keeping the torch burning.

  34. 76 Meng
    March 8, 2013 at 12:10

    Do not think we have forgotten.

  35. 77 DarkSpade
    March 16, 2013 at 19:00

    I love the irony in this page’s title.

  36. April 7, 2013 at 15:58

    So… is this ever gonna update, or is it dead?

    • 80 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      April 9, 2013 at 17:16

      Hard to say. People hope for something new, but I’m not even sure the enthusiasm is there. What I’ve seen on Tumblr, Nhani is more in the Mass Effect and Star Trek worlds right now, which leads me to believe Nhani’s case is like many who used to run around WoW: Since the game itself is ruined for them, so are the stories connected to it.

      Same will likely be true for me. Probably end up deleting this account and the blog tied to it, providing I can pass off ownership of another blog. If it wasn’t for someone commenting on it, I wouldn’t even remember this account existed, let alone this comic – which is a shame for what it’s worth.

  37. 81 Nhani
    April 10, 2013 at 13:18

    You know, I’ve been meaning to say something for… “a while”, but sometimes just the act of finding words is a potentially even painful struggle and it’s easier just pretending something doesn’t exist rather than trying to muster the energy to deal with it; not to mention it’s difficult to try and provide answers when you don’t really have any.

    I’ve been diagnosed with depression (also anxiety and other things) – I’ve spoken to several professionals, I’m on antidepressants and currently taking cognitive therapy and supposedly there’s some light in the tunnel somewhere far away. In the meantime however, finding the energy and enthusiasm to do much beyond just staring off into empty space can be something of a chore, and that’s not even counting trying to deal with things that for one reason or another are even more difficult, so dealing with this comic has just been way off the table.

    So where does all this leave Beyond the Tree? Well… I want to say I’ll get back to it when I’m feeling better, but quite frankly I’m not sure I could hold myself to that – and seeing how long it’s already been, I think even the most stalwart of fan has earned the right to run out of patience. As I understand it, there is some kind of follow/subscription thing you can use if you want to be notified if something does happen without having to check back all the time, and honestly I’d recommend using that since I can’t make any promises towards what’ll happen here. Even under the assumption that I would find my drive again when better, that might still take a rather long time, and that’s still plenty of ifs as it is.

    • 82 Elifia
      April 11, 2013 at 05:48

      I thank you, for finally letting yourself be heard from again here.

      I have been diagnosed with depression myself, although far more mildly than you it seems. Still, I understand how you feel, as I often feel the same way.

      I just want you to know, I haven’t expected an update in the comic for a long time. And I will continue not to expect any. I don’t want you to feel like you owe us anything. I just want you to be happy.

    • April 11, 2013 at 07:03

      Having spent years going through the motions of life, just doing the day to day things and neglecting my own writing, I believe I understand. Find what joy you can. I am sure any of us who still wait would be glad to share thoughts with you, if that would help. I would love to see the story continued, but more that the creative genius behind it find a way to keep telling some story, even if not this one, for your own sake, not ours. People differ, but for me changing my diet has helped. Good luck Nhani. Story or no story, you have my good wishes.

    • 84 Jah Reefer
      April 12, 2013 at 16:48

      Get well soon.

      • April 15, 2013 at 02:38

        Came back to check here for the first time in… half a year at least, since it had taken a backseat in my mind at best, but somehow deep in the night now it came to mind again. And I’m glad to see a (surprisingly recent) update post from the artist behind the series.

        I’ll just echo what the others have said, and hope you get better again. While I’m not quite stuck in a depression (yet?), I’ve been feeling rather down quite a bit in the last few months, so I can only imagine what you’re going through.

        With that said, I’ll continue to see if you ever get back to it, and I am patient. If you don’t, that’s fine too. I’ve been following this series since its early days, and I’ll stick around to some degree until the very end (when it’s 100% certain it’ll never continue, or until it’s actually over).

        Good luck with life!

    • 86 Frostsaben
      April 22, 2013 at 11:24

      Heya,

      First, sorry to hear about your depression, I hope the meds work out. If anything, you need to try and remember yourself what the happy things in life are and force yourself out of it too. Besides meds you also need to want to get out of the depression and I know you can do it :)

      That said, I understand why you haven’t written anything lately as depression can be horrible. Ignoring the focus of the comic and all, I hope first and foremost that you’ll get better. In the end that’s what matters most then any comic.

      And stop staring into empty space, just think of what you like to do and do that. Maybe it will give some improvement somewhat.

    • May 12, 2013 at 19:23

      Take care and I hope you find some way to manage the condition as I am sure it must be hard going some days to put up with that. Patience is a virtue of the few and need of the many and a lot of us will continue to wait as long as possible for the day when you decide to come back. I am happy to wait will probably check back every couple of months to see if there is any change but the really important thing is you look after you first and only come back when you feel you can.

      Nice to know the reasons for the silence and you have my sympathy and support and I hope you pull through time is probably the only thing that can do that. Again take care.

    • 88 foggy
      July 1, 2013 at 13:02

      Thank you for letting us know. I am not able to give any helpful words to you for my english is not good enough and for my lack of experience. I just want you to know that i am more than grateful for finding one day this exquisite work. Like meeting a stranger, walk with him (or she, or them, which will fit better) for a little while before the paths divide. After this i have only to keep this little gem in my heart, grateful just for the existing of it and the gift you made us all. So again i would like to thank you for BTT.
      My love and best wishes are with you.
      Get well and find happiness again.
      The rest is not important.
      Maybe paths will cross again.
      hug

    • 89 Renata
      July 19, 2013 at 06:05

      You still have fans who check in from time to time, even though it’s been a while. Depression and anxiety are a bitch. You’ll find your corn (hyperbole and a half reference) soon and everything will be okay again. You’ll get back to it when you get back to it, if you ever do. Don’t let the bastard trolls get ya down. :)

  38. 90 Soulero
    May 13, 2013 at 07:00

    Pff, I have been checking this webcomic every now and then since the day you stoped. Its been a year and I can wait a few more aslog as you feel well ^^

  39. June 29, 2013 at 19:34

    Depression is, as my wife is wont to say, a booger (or as the Church is wont to say, a trial). I have no specific advice, beyond trying to find a therapist with whom you can connect, and to pray. I will continue to drop in from time to time, and hope that you will be well.

    Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle.
    Be our protection against the snares and wickedness of the Devil.
    May God rebuke him, we humbly pray.
    And do thou, o Prince of the Heavenly Host, by the power of God thrust into Hell Satan and all the evil spirits that wander the world, seeking the ruin of souls.

    • 92 Jah Reefer
      July 5, 2013 at 12:42

      Go thump that bible somewhere else…

    • July 7, 2013 at 11:40

      Sorry what? Take your bible bashing crap some place else where you and your born again friends can debate it all they want I am sure the owner of this comic does not need some pretentious prat who has no idea of the personal hell in them using text from the bible to put the world to rights it’s people like you who put people off religion and cause all the problems with it by ramming it down the throats of others because you think it will sort out the worlds problems. Sorry that’s not true it causes more conflicts and problems than it solves.

      • 94 Gerald Ney
        July 8, 2013 at 19:39

        Jah & Ollie,
        Both your comments are over the line. Arkanabar expresses concern in a religious way, which for him is likely normal, but nowhere in his text is he Bible thumping; which is usually meant as trying to bring about a conversion by beating people over the head with Scripture. If both of you are nonreligious; that’s your prerogative, but expecting everyone else to operate according to your own specs and prejudices is actually doing the reverse of Bible thumping. BTW, the prayer he quotes is NOT in Scripture; although it draws on a verse in the letter of Peter, and it would normally be found in a Catholic prayer book. Since the primary person addressed in these comments is Nhani; then she should be the one to object if she found the post out of line. I think you both owe Arkanabar an apology. One more thing. It’s a matter of historical record that Communism & Naziism killed more people in the 20th century than all the world’s religions over millenia.

        • 95 Jah Reefer
          July 23, 2013 at 15:09

          We’re living in 2013, not the Dark Middle Ages… get with the times man.

          • August 5, 2013 at 22:27

            The times have nothing to do with anything. We also live in this thing called a free society. One where people have the freedom of thought, religions and expression. And none of those are subject to your approval. You have no more right to shove your religion of atheism down their throats then anyone else of any other religion. And yes, atheism is a religion. It is no more provable then anyone else’s. It is nothing more then the faith that there is nothing.

            Funny how you mention the Dark Ages. That was when people thought they had the right to shove their religion down people’s throats. Kinda like your shoving yours down theirs.

            Hypocrite much?

            • 97 Jah Reefer
              August 7, 2013 at 10:57

              I’m sorry, I fail to see where I’m cramming religion through someone’s throat? You need to unclench that butthole of yours and relax a bit.

            • August 10, 2013 at 13:13

              Arkanabar was doing the shoving, not Jah or Ollie. Jah and Ollie only told Arkanabar that this is not the time and place for that kinda stuff.

              You say ‘Funny how you mention the Dark Ages. That was when people thought they had the right to shove their religion down people’s throats.’ Which was exactly Jah’s point.

            • May 11, 2015 at 15:40

              Take that and shove it where the sun don’t shine…

        • August 22, 2013 at 21:58

          You dictating at me about what I can say or not say on-line…sorry can you explain to me that I am not allowed to have a blunt point of view and I should shut up when someone has been offensive how narrow minded are you to do that. Please take your leftist bullshit and shove it where the sun does not shine or better still up your own backside. Seriously I have just as much a right to a point of view as anyone else. I found that post offensive and wrong and spoke my mind don’t like it you leftist nimby well sorry hate to break it to you I don’t give a damn if you feel that way. I am not a apologising for what I said as he was offensive in the first instance and your a pathetic little brown noser for trying to tell other people to do when you do not even own this in the first place. Go police some other part of the internet you pathetic idiot.

  40. 102 Ripwarrior
    July 1, 2013 at 13:22

    Depression is a real bitch, to put it bluntly, I have struggled with it myself, and my advice to you is to spend time with your friends, and people who you care about/cares about you.

    Been checking here almost every thursday/sunday since your last update, and will continue to do so until you shut this web page down :) Keep your hope up, no bad things last forever.

  41. 103 Lord Civers
    July 16, 2013 at 01:39

    Hey-hey. ~

    First and because I now what you are/was living, I empathize with you. I wish you to be fine as soon as possible ; and if I do not write a long, philosophical and encouraging post, it is because english is not my language and I lack of words and do not want to be ridiculous (but here is the intention !), if it is already not the case.
    I will check your comic over and over again, still hoping that, one day, news will come. If not… good luck anyway !

    P.S. : Just ! remember that sadness is the symptom of kindness ! *runs out*

  42. August 12, 2013 at 19:33

    Don’t let the comic weigh you down, you fans, silent or not, are still here and will still be. Comic finished or not.

    Thank you for your wonderful additions to World of Warcraft!

  43. 105 foggy
    September 16, 2013 at 15:00

    Just coming to stop by the way and say “Hi !”. Couldn’t resist for this is the 100th comment. What a good opportunity to tell you, that this comic is still alive for me. Even if there will be no ongoing. After quitting WoW for several reasons it is always good to come back here. The spirit of this work reminds me of my first year roaming in these world for gladly i met friends with an similiar way of gaming. Than you for this refugium. Hope you are well.

  44. 106 Loyaltus
    September 25, 2013 at 10:10

    Thank you for all the effort you’ve put into this comic over the years Nhani, main thing now is to focus on yourself

  45. 107 Alexander
    November 29, 2013 at 03:27

    Well, this has been a fun little adventure. I really, really hope you’ll get better soon, and that this will continue. But first, be well and take care.

  46. 108 Messirsh
    January 29, 2014 at 10:57

    Soo is this anyway to go anywhere again ? :( It was a really good comic, with a surprising good story :O
    I just hope this will begin again :)

  47. 109 Ansa
    April 3, 2014 at 20:48

    I keep checking here a lot to see if this has updated, in vain. Do you have any plans to continue this or at least finish the current story arc before ending it? Because now it has been a long cliffhanger right there and I believe I am not the only one waiting to see how the story unfolds…

    • 110 Nhani
      April 3, 2014 at 21:31

      Short version? I’m not sure if I’m in a position to make any kinds of plans about anything, really.

      I mean, I’d love to say for certain whether it’ll never ever update again ever or that I’ll be functional again in x number of time, but unfortunately it doesn’t want to work that way. I really have no idea when/if my head will be unbroken or what my state of mind will be at the time and what my interests will be like then, nor what kind of state World of Warcraft the game and Modelviewer the tool will be in at that time. It would require prescience to actually know any of these things and I do not have that. I still have most of the continuing of arc one roughly laid out in my head somewhere, but I have… difficulty… trying to work with it – heck, I have difficulty enough just attempting to play World of Warcraft, to the point where it usually requires me to munch on anti-anxiety meds to not suffer anxiety-caused discomfort and mild physical pain just playing it. I don’t want to oversell that I’m completely without sense or reason because I’m not, but I’m also quite definitely not well.

      If I’m to make a recommendation, I’d basically say set up so you’ll get an e-mail if it updates and leave it at that; the time frame that has been involved so far does suggest that periodically checking in isn’t likely to be very fruitful. I’d love to say it would be, but so long as I really can’t promise anything, I don’t think it would be.

      • 111 Frostsaben
        May 16, 2014 at 15:01

        Nhani, I know this might not help you much, but I hope it will a bit.
        Now, you’ve probably already seen doctors of kinds who prescribed you those pills and talked to you about those issues, but the fact remains that most likely they are not caused by chemical imbalances alone. I remember (or you simply might not have mentioned it) that when I started reading this comic you did not have these issues, or simply you did not have them at at high enough intensity to consider them important, so there’s a trigger for them. I do not know what the trigger is, but identifying it would be a great step to healing. And if you already know what it is I hope it will help you start healing.
        Oh, and if you ever want to talk to someone about it, I’ll give you my battletag – Snowraven#2873 I am not online all the time and don’t always have time for long talks (due to work) but it could be an option. You don’t even have to enter WoW to talk to people now as you can talk from the launcher to people now. :)

        • June 2, 2014 at 01:20

          All I will say is hang in there whatever ails you is something you need to be able to manage your own way and not feel any kind of pressure from anyone here to come back only do so when your well.

          Whatever has happened it’s best you do so in your own time. I am also glad to hear some kind of news even if it’s not the best news at least it gives us some idea of what is going on and how you actually are.

          I do not expect anything any time soon but out of some deep seated loyalty and respect to you I will continue to come back here now and again and check for changes and any messages you may leave and reply it seems the correct thing to do. Your not well anyone can see that and as the last person said it might be some kind of trigger that has caused this. I’ve some idea of managing this kind of stuff since I have Aspeger’s and it’s not the same as being ill but it does have some negative aspects which need certain methods of control/management to be able to cope with.

          I know your a tough cookie and your pull through just don’t be concerning yourself about the state of WoW and how it has evolved we accept well I do at any rate that world your characters exist in is a very different one to the world of WoW now as it stands and in some ways not always a bad thing either that it is like that.

          Whatever people might say I’ll say this much your a real talent and your comic has been missed by people like me and I think most of us who have kept an eye on this page are hoping one day your be able to come back to it and make us think and also laugh out loud.

          Take care.

  48. December 28, 2014 at 12:44

    Just wanted to say that I hope you had a good Christams and will have a great upcoming year 2015. All my best wishes for you.

  49. January 30, 2015 at 12:43

    It seems as though WoW-induced psychosis is common when you’ve been at the screencap comic game for too long as I suffer from enough mental instabilities to startle even Freud. Heh. Huehehe. BWEHEHEHEHEEE!

    But I’m looking to rekindle my own series Cru the Dwarf if I can get some feedback from the creators of WoW Mapviewer and Modelviewer in regards to compatibility with versions of WoW so I can pick up where I left off. It’s been years since I’ve put out new content and I feel like I owe it to the fans who stuck around and even now continue to come by once in a while looking for an update. It’s time I dusted off the old .PSDs and use the comic as an outlet for my… peculiarities.

  50. 121 Timber
    February 20, 2015 at 04:42

    HANI!!! TINY!!! COME BAAAACK!!! TT.=.TT

  51. 122 JJR234
    September 13, 2015 at 13:31

    I’ve been checking back ever so often through the years to check if Hani and Tiny have come back. :\
    I miss this so much :'<

  52. 123 Ylandreia Yorick
    December 1, 2015 at 20:42

    It’s somehow funny how people – including me – come checking back here every now and then in hope that something or anything new has miracously been posted. Considering when the last update was made this in itself speaks for the passion people had and still have for the characters and the story of “Beyond the tree”. I can clearly see myself checking in here for another couple of years without ever finding a new post to the story. But somehow I nevertheless hang onto this just like a number of you guys do as well. Here’s hoping that at least Nhani is doing fine.

  53. 124 foggy
    December 29, 2015 at 23:29

    Still coming back from time to time too.
    Hope is dying last.

    Nhani, if you are visiting this from time to time:
    I hope you’re well and thank you again for the great time we had with this. Blessings!

  54. January 25, 2016 at 18:39

    I have read all the pages, and many of the comments on this page and… I don’t know what to say. You made one heck of a comic. I remember sitting there, on my couch, opening my laptop, and searched on Wowpedia these shining words: “Webcomics related to World of Warcraft”. It was at that moments i found this glorious comic. It was- is still funny. Nhani. If you are reading this. Know that i speak for the fans when i say: “Feel better”. I haven’t checked out your mass effect stuff but, please! I would be happy to. I guess this comment is a paradox, and my above statement: “I don’t know what to say” haveth no meaning. Been a long time ago since i checked on this comic, and i just wanna say. Feel better. Bye for now.

  55. March 24, 2017 at 02:36

    Nhani,
    As the title of your last page puts it; “Long Time No Tree.” Another Spring has arrived, and it’s my hope that it will blossom within you, and that you will at last find your way out of the dark place to which you’ve withdrawn.
    For all of us who visit here and to borrow from and paraphrase Tolkien: ” A star awaits to shine on the hour of our meeting.”

    • March 24, 2017 at 02:55

      My so your not the monumental idiot I thought you where did the proceeding years teach you some humility and respect for the lives of others or you just the same idiot who will mouth off as soon as he gets told where to stick it. Nice to see some empathy which you sorely lacked last time actually come out of your mouth. All said and done I don’t think we will get any kind of news soon because this a time based malaise and time is what is needed to allow her to come back when she wants and in what way she would like.

      I for one have not forgotten the way you conducted yourself in the last posts you put on here your on my watch list. And yes I am watching you like a hawk.

      • March 25, 2017 at 01:24

        Ollie,
        I can’t for the life of me have any idea what I wrote in the past that was out of line. Just what did I say that was offensive? Is it that I’m not a militant atheist like Dawkins or Hitchens and defended Arkanabar T’verrick Ilarsadin and that you can’t take any constructive criticism to the way you laid into someone else with name calling. There is no call to start trolling.

        • April 1, 2017 at 01:35

          If I was actually trolling which I am not I would be a lot more bluntly spoken and more liable to tell you some hard truths about your past comments on here. I was reminding you not all of us have forgotten your past transgressions and some of us still lurk on this page and check it and also get messages when we have new posts. If I felt the need to be uncivil like you had in your last reply to me I would do so. But you see I am not that kind of person at all and your digging your own hole deep saying I did troll. It’s called having a long memory and I have no intention of apologizing in reminding you of your past conduct. If your attitude has improved since then good if not then you clearly need to understand someone has an eye on you n this page at any rate.

      • 130 Timber
        March 25, 2017 at 14:37

        Way to hang onto the past Ollie. You should be on Facebook with that comment. The salt is so tangy that my sodium allergy is kicking in.

        • April 1, 2017 at 01:37

          Timber perhaps you need to read all my comments and engage your lack of brains to see that it’s a long time since me and the other party spoke and I was being sarcastic to some degree that seems completely lost on you and your silly little brat like attempt to bait a reaction has been null and void. Must try harder…in fact on the face of it don’t try at all people like you make me wonder if people need a licence to go on the internet. Sad oh and yes do please keep your nose out of what does not concern you. See above.

          • 132 Timber
            April 4, 2017 at 04:16

            WTF is a don’t try at all person? That something the easily triggered use to try to feel better about the fact that they think they deflected being triggered when in fact they actually we’re triggered as evidenced by the need to make up a phrase to try and insult someone?

            Because, really, you snowflakes need to man the fuck up.

            • August 6, 2018 at 23:06

              Wow! I’ve not been on here over a year since you wrote that ill advised attack on me and you know what it is clear your too lazy to bloody read my past comments and who they where directed at or why and that shows your the special snowflake….troll is obvious is obvious troll.

  56. 134 Ereinion
    April 1, 2017 at 00:54

    Nhani, if you are reading this, consider continuing this series on Patreon. Your storytelling is amazing, and a lot of people here (myself included) would be happy to pay to see it continue. Also, I sincerely hope you will feel better (the night is darkest just before dawn)…
    All, feel free to pitch in if you would be willing to support Nhani on Patreon too (I know it’s a long shot, but maybe seeing our support – even after 5 years – will make a difference)

    • 135 wormrunner
      May 22, 2017 at 06:57

      I would certainly support with money a continuation of the story, though I have my doubts about that being the issue. Nhani, I hope you are well.

  57. 136 DarkSpade
    July 8, 2017 at 20:33

    This is one of those comics I still dig up from time to time to see if it’s coming back or if the archive is still even there. Interesting to see I’m not the only one. I wonder if Nhani ever does?

    It looks like she’s still actively playing WoW so I guess it’s possible she’ll come back since the world will still be on her mind. Then again, her tumblr is about 95% reblogged cat photos(and I had to really dig to find that other 5%), so I wonder if she’s lost her creative muse forever. I’m sure Cataclysm’s rearranging of the world didn’t help since it probably destroyed a lot of her planned set pieces.

  58. August 5, 2018 at 06:48

    I wonder how Nhani feels about the destruction of Teldrassil…

  59. 143 ExelArts
    April 27, 2019 at 12:18

    And we never saw her or him again. Kinda sucks I really liked this comment

  60. 145 Ylandreia
    August 4, 2021 at 07:32

    It’s been almost 10 years now and I still can’t bring myself to delete the bookmark for this and still find myself checking in every now and then. I really wish that this would have continued in some way (even as payed content via patreon or the like).
    Nhani, if you’re also still checking in, I’d love to hear from you and how you’re doing these days. Are you doing anything artistic at all anymore that is available at some place?
    Guess I will still be checking this site out as long as the servers are running even if I find that I’m the only person coming back ;-)

  61. September 21, 2021 at 11:46

    Nice post!
    Thanks for sharing this informative post.
    There are many circumstances where constructing a retaining wall is required. For instance, you may want to reinforce the soil bank, either to prevent the earth from sliding or to protect a building. If you are on the lookout for a professional to build you a concrete sleeper retaining wall, then get in touch with Cropper Bros Retaining Walls & Fences.
    Visit this site>https://www.cropperbrosretainingwalls.com.au/concrete-sleepers-retaining-walls-brisbane/

  62. 150 foggy
    December 18, 2021 at 23:29

    Suddenly i got the feeling that i should have a look here. Still not continued. Okay, i’ll try again in a few years.

    • 151 Ylandreia
      December 19, 2021 at 12:48

      I think it’s beautiful that after so many, many years people care so deeply about what Nhani has created with her art that they keep coming back. Hopefully Nhani is aware of the impact she had and still has on people with what she did.

  63. 152 Ylandreia Yorick
    January 8, 2024 at 15:42

    With another year gone by and this old link still in my list I just felt the need to drop by to say I haven’t forgotten. Not about Nhani, not about the comic. At this point it is pure madness to still keep this link active, I know that, but it reminds me so much of fun times in the game and with the comunity back then. Anyways, I hope you are doing fine and are living a wonderful live, dear Nhani. Take care and all the best, Yla

  64. February 20, 2024 at 06:51

    “Long time no tree! 🌳 It’s refreshing to see efforts to combat deforestation. Planting trees not only restores our environment but also sustains life. Speaking of sustainability, have you tried the Google snake game? It’s a fun way to pass time while spreading awareness about conservation. Let’s keep planting and playing! 🌱🐍”


Leave a comment


Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)