14
Nov
10

#237 – “Our Pet Corpse”



Scripting dialogue can sometimes be a whole lot more of a headache than one expects – I found to my chagrin that when I’d finished the preliminary draft for the dialogue for htis page.. nearly every single line of dialogue started with either the word “so” or the word “well”.. and.. that’s kind of a bad thing. On one hand I really felt I had to remove most of them, but on the other I felt like I really needed that manner of padding to have space for character flair. Ultimately, I found myself having to reshuffle some lines almost entirely just to get to a point where I was satisfied with the dialogue.

On a more fun note, I discovered yesterday that Tokkar of Tales of the Crossroads fame (which you may have spotted linked in the sidebar since awhile back) snuck in a nod to Beyond the Tree in the second panel of his most recent update; I found it rather amusing, especially with how many people seem seem to have spotted it right off the bat! Besides, Tales’ is one of rather few World of Warcraft-based webcomics I actually try to keep up to date with, so go check it out if you haven’t.


29 Responses to “#237 – “Our Pet Corpse””


  1. 1 Fokker
    November 14, 2010 at 20:44

    I totally want to se VC’s body being dragged behind a horse (or a steampunk chopper) in the next page.
    Or a random render, perhaps :3

  2. 2 Timber Wolf
    November 14, 2010 at 20:59

    Please don’t just sling it over the back of a Gryphon. Way too predictable… Make it a Netherdrake!!!

  3. 5 gryffyn
    November 14, 2010 at 21:09

    Do I see “Weekend at Sentinel Hill”?

  4. 6 saila AKS Wester
    November 14, 2010 at 21:46

    theres an cart there.
    they are going to put him in the cart/horse wagon and drive him back to the “town”.

  5. November 14, 2010 at 23:09

    cart+horse is what i am seeing. it is a small farm after all, she probably has one

  6. 9 Frosty
    November 14, 2010 at 23:51

    Its prob not very safe holding the gun that way.

  7. 10 Nirene Feathersong
    November 15, 2010 at 00:50

    Daphne’s eye in the first pane kind’a gives me the creeps.

    And I agree with Alyzande – lets see Old Blanchy haul VanCleef’s corpse back to Sentinel Hill – unless he’s still stuck in Elwynn of course. ;)

  8. 11 Sea
    November 15, 2010 at 01:05

    And so I leave my first comment ! I’ve been reading your comic since a quite long time ago, and i really enjoy it ! I’ve already read the entire story a couple of time :)

    Sorry for my english, but i’m french !

  9. 12 LolDrood
    November 15, 2010 at 01:09

    *crosses fingers*
    Please be go-karts, please be go-karts, please be go-karts, please be go-karts…
    At least SOMETHING they can go all Dukes of Hazard in. Jumpin’ ramps over gnolls and the odd Defias messenger.

  10. 13 Spaankaa
    November 15, 2010 at 01:49

    I am AMAZED at the quality of ths comic, both the writing and the visuals are just awesome. I found myself forgettin what linked me here because it couldn’t have been half as good as this is anyway, but upon browsing my history it was the community news that I accidentally read for once. Yay for reading the community news I guess!

    I’m 100% Hordie, but by jove, if I ever reroll then I’m rerolling nightelf, just because this comic has shown me how cool they are (and I don’t mean because Hani kicks righeous amounts of arse, I mean the current lore and various roleplaying related stuff like the culture clashes in Stormwind etc that I’ve only noticed due to this comic and the writers comments).
    Thumbs up for making Tyrande more interesting by the way, even after reading the War of the Ancients she’s still a bit of a cardboard cutout. Another thumb up for gnome paladin (if she bubbles then she’s a football!).

  11. 16 Moltrazahn
    November 15, 2010 at 09:15

    Love the reference in the link :)

    You got the fame, the looks and the style, and its proving itself ;)
    Good page ^^

  12. 17 Telaani
    November 15, 2010 at 11:18

    Spidey sense says ‘wheelbarrow’!

  13. November 15, 2010 at 20:20

    So Tales of the Crossroads and Beyond the Tree share the same ‘universe’?
    That’s…very cool!

    • 19 Nhani
      November 16, 2010 at 22:08

      Well.. With Tokkar having a reference to the actions of the Group, and my having considered throwing a reference or cameo to the IQF somewhere in Arc Two, there’s some suggestions for it. The problem is that on the (World of-) Warcraft timeline, Beyond the Tree is actually set several years before Tales of the Crossroads is.. so they also don’t mesh all that greatly together.

      So technically, the answer is no. Practically, there’ll probably be enough space to allow thinking they are.

  14. 21 gorrefrog
    November 16, 2010 at 14:57

    I found this comic after i finished lvl with my IRL friend on WoW last night. I just browsed the front page of wow-europe after i migrated my main character to the realm we were playin at and i came over this. I spent 4 hours of going trough it from the start to the present page. I got adicted realy, i have seen plenty of these kind of comics, but never with so much plot, so much character development and detail of yeah everything. I must say this must be the best comic based on WoW out there. I have read alot of them thats for sure. But nothing like this, keep up the exeptional work and feed us comic hungry wow loving geeks :>

  15. November 17, 2010 at 04:59

    Hi, Nhani!

    I’m lovin’ the development of this…and Areen’s expression in that first panel is just too awesome! Oh…and you’re welcome :-) Hey, come on…how could I NOT? It was just too good of an opportunity to pass up! :-D But yeah, you’re right, it just wouldn’t work between the timelines – even with Fiera being a Kirin Tor apprentice, there’s just that gap – and with Cataclysm coming up, my characters will be caught up in it and yours won’t even know what the Exodar is for awhile yet…not that this is a BAD thing, really…well, I can’t really say that. A cystalline discotheque just a short boat-ride from Darnassus? I suppose it’s not ALL bad…

    To Gorvar: we’ve been tossing ideas back and forth, but her set-up is still in Vanilla, whereas mine’s about to come face to face with Deathwing’s wrath, so yeah…it’s most likely not gonna happen.

  16. 23 Gwaith
    November 17, 2010 at 10:11

    I would totally love for it to be a… barrel… and then roll him through westfall! would be glorious! but other than that I really do love the name of this page. It is pure awesomeness.
    Even though I do suspect it is horse and wagon that will take him back to town… And not a barrelroll.

  17. 24 Udûn-Khadgar
    November 17, 2010 at 11:13

    3 possibillities in my mind:
    1. horses
    2. a cart
    3. a gryphon (now that would be slightly a surprise, but fits Tiny’s comment)

    Anyway, it’s all brilliant!

    • 25 Gorrefrog
      November 17, 2010 at 11:52

      I say just use horses, and drag VC on the ground behind it :d
      that should show the rest of the defias members in the area what happens when u pick the wrong side :p

  18. 26 saila AKS Wester
    November 17, 2010 at 12:42

    if they drag him back to to the tower don´t count on the corps to be in that good shape.
    anyway some one link the IQF reference page and comic I never heard of that one before.

    • November 18, 2010 at 06:04

      “IQF” = Impossible Quest Force. This came from my video, “Quest: Impossible” and from it, “Tales from the Crossroads” was born. Created. Made. Thing.

      But Nhani gave me the impetus: just as Baron Soosdon gave me the inspiration for machinima, so too did Nhani “show me the light” of creating a webcomic. Flintlocke’s Guide to Azeroth and Flintlocke vs. The Horde inspired me, true, but Beyond the Tree literally showed me the way.

      Now to figure out just how in the **** to export the models, add bones, buff them up, give them more expressiveness, pose them the way *I* want…this is where Nhani truly shines. :-)

  19. 28 Udûn-Khadgar
    November 19, 2010 at 10:26

    Something just popped up in my mind… Weren’t Stoutmantle and VanCleef childhood friends?
    I wonder how Stoutmantle will handle the fact of the corpse of his self-tutored childhood friend being dragged before him…

    Keep it up!

  20. September 26, 2011 at 03:32

    Panel 1: danged necro.
    Looks like they looted something from Vancleef after all: Hani got an off-hand!


Leave a comment


Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)